Harding, John Florence and Giles

ISBN 13: 9780007315031

Florence and Giles

Valutazione media 3,62
( su 3.094 valutazioni fornite da GoodReads )
 
9780007315031: Florence and Giles

A sinister Gothic tale in the tradition of The Woman in Black and The Fall of the House of Usher

1891. In a remote and crumbling New England mansion, 12-year-old orphan Florence is neglected by her guardian uncle and banned from reading. Left to her own devices she devours books in secret and talks to herself - and narrates this, her story - in a unique language of her own invention. By night, she sleepwalks the corridors like one of the old house's many ghosts and is troubled by a recurrent dream in which a mysterious woman appears to threaten her younger brother Giles. Sometimes Florence doesn't sleepwalk at all, but simply pretends to so she can roam at will and search the house for clues to her own baffling past.

After the sudden violent death of the children's first governess, a second teacher, Miss Taylor, arrives, and immediately strange phenomena begin to occur. Florence becomes convinced that the new governess is a vengeful and malevolent spirit who means to do Giles harm. Against this powerful supernatural enemy, and without any adult to whom she can turn for help, Florence must use all her intelligence and ingenuity to both protect her little brother and preserve her private world.

Inspired by and in the tradition of Henry James' s The Turn of the Screw, Florence & Giles is a gripping gothic page-turner told in a startlingly different and wonderfully captivating narrative voice.

Le informazioni nella sezione "Riassunto" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

Recensione:

“You don’t need to know The Turn of the Screw to enjoy it. Real atmosphere is increasingly rare in novels and here it is in spades; mysterious towers, faces in mirrors, shadowy corridors and long black dresses. Like James, Harding keeps his dramatis personae tightly confined and ramps up the suspense and mystery until even the most careful reader wonders what’s going on and what isn’t. Your Twilight-reading teen will love it too. A darkly glamorous tour de force.”
Wendy Holden, DAILY MAIL

“Florence and Giles is an elegant literary exercise worked out with the strictness of a fugue: imagine Henry James’s The Turn of the Screw reworked by Edgar Allan Poe…Nothing prepares you for the chillingly ruthless but inevitable finale.” THE TIMES

“Brilliantly creepy” DAILY MIRROR

“An intriguing read” GRAZIA

“A good, clever, modern take on old-style American gothic; a creepy haunted house tale in which the living are just as eerie as any real or imagined ghouls.” NEW ZEALAND HERALD

“a scarily good story, in an arrestingly unusual narrative voice.” THE OXFORD TIMES

L'autore:

John Harding was born near Ely. He is the author of the bestselling What We Did On Our Holiday, made into an ITV drama starring Shane Ritchie and Roger Lloyd Pack. He is a book reviewer for the Daily Mail and lives in London.

Le informazioni nella sezione "Su questo libro" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

I migliori risultati di ricerca su AbeBooks

1.

John Harding
Editore: HarperCollins UK (2010)
ISBN 10: 0007315031 ISBN 13: 9780007315031
Nuovi Rilegato Quantitą: 1
Da
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro HarperCollins UK, 2010. Hardcover. Condizione libro: New. Codice libro della libreria DADAX0007315031

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 129,69
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 12,83
Da: U.S.A. a: Italia
Destinazione, tempi e costi

2.

Harding, John
Editore: HarperCollins UK (2010)
ISBN 10: 0007315031 ISBN 13: 9780007315031
Nuovi Rilegato Quantitą: 1
Da
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro HarperCollins UK, 2010. Hardcover. Condizione libro: New. Codice libro della libreria P110007315031

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 165,15
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 18,33
Da: U.S.A. a: Italia
Destinazione, tempi e costi