John Harding Florence and Giles

ISBN 13: 9780007315031

Florence and Giles

Valutazione media 3,62
( su 3.249 valutazioni fornite da Goodreads )
 
9780007315031: Florence and Giles

A gripping, sinister Gothic tale inspired by and in the tradition of Henry James's The Turn of the Screw In 1891, in a remote and crumbling New England mansion, 12-year-old orphan Florence and her younger brother are neglected by her guardian uncle. Banned from reading, Florence devours books in secret and talks to herself—and narrates her story—in a unique language of her own invention. By night, she sleepwalks the corridors and is troubled by a recurrent dream in which a mysterious woman appears to threaten her younger brother Giles. After the sudden violent death of the children's first governess, a second teacher, Miss Taylor, arrives, and immediately strange phenomena begin to occur. Florence becomes convinced that the new governess is a malevolent spirit who means to do Giles harm. Against this powerful enemy, Florence must use all her intelligence and ingenuity to protect her little brother and preserve her private world. This gothic page-turner in the tradition of The Woman in Black and The Fall of the House of Usher is told in a startlingly different and wonderfully captivating narrative voice.

Le informazioni nella sezione "Riassunto" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

About the Author:

John Harding is a book reviewer for the Daily Mail and the author of While the Sun Shines.

Review:

"An elegant literary exercise worked out with the strictness of a fugue; imagine Henry James's The Turn of the Screw rewritten by Edgar Allan Poe. Plotted to the last detail . . . Nothing prepares you for the chillingly ruthless but—in retrospect—inevitable finale."  —Times

"You don't need to know The Turn of the Screw to enjoy it. Real atmosphere is increasingly rare in novels and here it is in spades . . . Your Twilight-reading teen will love it too. A darkly glamorous tour de force."  —Daily Mail

Le informazioni nella sezione "Su questo libro" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

I migliori risultati di ricerca su AbeBooks

1.

John Harding
Editore: HarperCollins UK (2010)
ISBN 10: 0007315031 ISBN 13: 9780007315031
Nuovi Rilegato Quantitą: 1
Da
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro HarperCollins UK, 2010. Hardcover. Condizione libro: New. Codice libro della libreria DADAX0007315031

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 73,33
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 13,39
Da: U.S.A. a: Italia
Destinazione, tempi e costi

2.

John Harding
Editore: HarperCollins UK (2010)
ISBN 10: 0007315031 ISBN 13: 9780007315031
Nuovi Rilegato Quantitą: 1
Da
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro HarperCollins UK, 2010. Hardcover. Condizione libro: New. book. Codice libro della libreria M0007315031

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 113,83
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 10,05
Da: U.S.A. a: Italia
Destinazione, tempi e costi