John Harding Florence and Giles

ISBN 13: 9780007315048

Florence and Giles

Valutazione media 3,62
( su 3.187 valutazioni fornite da Goodreads )
 
9780007315048: Florence and Giles

1891. In a remote and crumbling New England mansion, 12-year-old orphan Florence is neglected by her guardian uncle and banned from reading. Left to her own devices she devours books in secret and talks to herself - and narrates this, her story - in a unique language of her own invention.

Le informazioni nella sezione "Riassunto" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

About the Author:

John Harding is a book reviewer for the "Daily Mail" and the author of "While the Sun Shines."

Review:

"An elegant literary exercise worked out with the strictness of a fugue; imagine Henry James's "The Turn of the Screw" rewritten by Edgar Allan Poe. Plotted to the last detail . . . Nothing prepares you for the chillingly ruthless but--in retrospect--inevitable finale." --"Times"

"You don't need to know "The Turn of the Screw "to enjoy it. Real atmosphere is increasingly rare in novels and here it is in spades . . . Your Twilight-reading teen will love it too. A darkly glamorous tour de force." --"Daily Mail"

Le informazioni nella sezione "Su questo libro" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

I migliori risultati di ricerca su AbeBooks

1.

Harding, John
Editore: Blue Door (2011)
ISBN 10: 000731504X ISBN 13: 9780007315048
Nuovi Paperback Quantità: 1
Da
Reuseabook
(Stroud, GLOS, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Blue Door, 2011. Paperback. Condizione libro: New. Dispatched, from the UK, within 48 hours of ordering. This book is in Brand New condition. Codice libro della libreria CHL2132955

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 2,64
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 1,95
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

2.

John Harding
Editore: HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2011)
ISBN 10: 000731504X ISBN 13: 9780007315048
Nuovi Paperback Quantità: 10
Da
The Book Depository
(London, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2011. Paperback. Condizione libro: New. UK ed.. Language: English . Brand New Book. A sinister Gothic tale in the tradition of The Woman in Black and The Fall of the House of Usher 1891. In a remote and crumbling New England mansion, 12-year-old orphan Florence is neglected by her guardian uncle and banned from reading. Left to her own devices she devours books in secret and talks to herself - and narrates this, her story - in a unique language of her own invention. By night, she sleepwalks the corridors like one of the old house s many ghosts and is troubled by a recurrent dream in which a mysterious woman appears to threaten her younger brother Giles. Sometimes Florence doesn t sleepwalk at all, but simply pretends to so she can roam at will and search the house for clues to her own baffling past. After the sudden violent death of the children s first governess, a second teacher, Miss Taylor, arrives, and immediately strange phenomena begin to occur. Florence becomes convinced that the new governess is a vengeful and malevolent spirit who means to do Giles harm.Against this powerful supernatural enemy, and without any adult to whom she can turn for help, Florence must use all her intelligence and ingenuity to both protect her little brother and preserve her private world. Inspired by and in the tradition of Henry James s The Turn of the Screw, Florence Giles is a gripping gothic page-turner told in a startlingly different and wonderfully captivating narrative voice. Codice libro della libreria AA89780007315048

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 6,97
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

3.

John Harding
Editore: HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2011)
ISBN 10: 000731504X ISBN 13: 9780007315048
Nuovi Paperback Quantità: 10
Da
The Book Depository US
(London, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2011. Paperback. Condizione libro: New. UK ed.. Language: English . Brand New Book. A sinister Gothic tale in the tradition of The Woman in Black and The Fall of the House of Usher 1891. In a remote and crumbling New England mansion, 12-year-old orphan Florence is neglected by her guardian uncle and banned from reading. Left to her own devices she devours books in secret and talks to herself - and narrates this, her story - in a unique language of her own invention. By night, she sleepwalks the corridors like one of the old house s many ghosts and is troubled by a recurrent dream in which a mysterious woman appears to threaten her younger brother Giles. Sometimes Florence doesn t sleepwalk at all, but simply pretends to so she can roam at will and search the house for clues to her own baffling past. After the sudden violent death of the children s first governess, a second teacher, Miss Taylor, arrives, and immediately strange phenomena begin to occur. Florence becomes convinced that the new governess is a vengeful and malevolent spirit who means to do Giles harm.Against this powerful supernatural enemy, and without any adult to whom she can turn for help, Florence must use all her intelligence and ingenuity to both protect her little brother and preserve her private world. Inspired by and in the tradition of Henry James s The Turn of the Screw, Florence Giles is a gripping gothic page-turner told in a startlingly different and wonderfully captivating narrative voice. Codice libro della libreria AA89780007315048

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 7,00
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

4.

John Harding
ISBN 10: 000731504X ISBN 13: 9780007315048
Nuovi Quantità: 2
Da
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Condizione libro: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Codice libro della libreria 97800073150480000000

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 9,40
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

5.

Harding, John
Editore: Blue Door 2010-01-01 (2010)
ISBN 10: 000731504X ISBN 13: 9780007315048
Nuovi Softcover Quantità: 7
Da
BookOutlet
(Thorold, ON, Canada)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Blue Door 2010-01-01, 2010. Softcover. Condizione libro: New. Softcover. Publisher overstock, may contain remainder mark on edge. Codice libro della libreria 9780007315048B

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 4,40
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 5,14
Da: Canada a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

6.

John Harding
Editore: Blue Door (2011)
ISBN 10: 000731504X ISBN 13: 9780007315048
Nuovi Paperback Quantità: 3
Da
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Blue Door, 2011. Paperback. Condizione libro: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Codice libro della libreria mon0000183186

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 8,93
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 1,06
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

7.

John Harding
Editore: Blue Door
ISBN 10: 000731504X ISBN 13: 9780007315048
Nuovi Brossura Quantità: 2
Da
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Blue Door. Condizione libro: New. 2011. Paperback. A sinister Gothic tale in the tradition of The Woman in Black and The Fall of the House of Usher Num Pages: 240 pages. BIC Classification: FA. Category: (G) General (US: Trade); (Y) Teenage / Young Adult. Dimension: 198 x 129 x 20. Weight in Grams: 260. . . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Codice libro della libreria V9780007315048

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 11,36
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

8.

John Harding
Editore: Blue Door (2011)
ISBN 10: 000731504X ISBN 13: 9780007315048
Nuovi Brossura Quantità: 2
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Blue Door, 2011. Condizione libro: New. 2011. Paperback. A sinister Gothic tale in the tradition of The Woman in Black and The Fall of the House of Usher Num Pages: 240 pages. BIC Classification: FA. Category: (G) General (US: Trade); (Y) Teenage / Young Adult. Dimension: 198 x 129 x 20. Weight in Grams: 260. . . . . . . Codice libro della libreria V9780007315048

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 11,38
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
Da: Irlanda a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

9.

John Harding
Editore: The Borough Press (2011)
ISBN 10: 000731504X ISBN 13: 9780007315048
Nuovi Brossura Quantità: 1
Da
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro The Borough Press, 2011. Condizione libro: New. Codice libro della libreria GH9780007315048

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 7,76
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,99
Da: Germania a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

10.

John Harding
Editore: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN 10: 000731504X ISBN 13: 9780007315048
Nuovi Paperback Quantità: > 20
Da
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro HarperCollins Publishers. Paperback. Condizione libro: new. BRAND NEW, Florence and Giles, John Harding, A sinister Gothic tale in the tradition of The Woman in Black and The Fall of the House of Usher 1891. In a remote and crumbling New England mansion, 12-year-old orphan Florence is neglected by her guardian uncle and banned from reading. Left to her own devices she devours books in secret and talks to herself - and narrates this, her story - in a unique language of her own invention. By night, she sleepwalks the corridors like one of the old house's many ghosts and is troubled by a recurrent dream in which a mysterious woman appears to threaten her younger brother Giles. Sometimes Florence doesn't sleepwalk at all, but simply pretends to so she can roam at will and search the house for clues to her own baffling past. After the sudden violent death of the children's first governess, a second teacher, Miss Taylor, arrives, and immediately strange phenomena begin to occur. Florence becomes convinced that the new governess is a vengeful and malevolent spirit who means to do Giles harm. Against this powerful supernatural enemy, and without any adult to whom she can turn for help, Florence must use all her intelligence and ingenuity to both protect her little brother and preserve her private world. Inspired by and in the tradition of Henry James' s The Turn of the Screw, Florence & Giles is a gripping gothic page-turner told in a startlingly different and wonderfully captivating narrative voice. Codice libro della libreria B9780007315048

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 4,35
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 7,74
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

Vedi altre copie di questo libro

Vedi tutti i risultati per questo libro