ROSIE THOMAS Daughter of the House

ISBN 13: 9780007512089

Daughter of the House

Valutazione media 3,5
( su 296 valutazioni fornite da Goodreads )
 
9780007512089: Daughter of the House

A captivating tour de force of love, magic and the theatre, perfect for fans of Sarah Waters, The Night Circus and Water for Elephants

The dazzling sequel to The Illusionists, from the beloved and bestselling author of The Kashmir Shawl

The year is 1910: Eliza's life has been utterly transformed since she dove head-first into the bohemian world of the Palmyra Theatre, becoming first a stage player and, since her marriage to impresario Devil Wix, a canny woman of business. She is now the mother of growing children, and in her family life as well as at the theatre she must face the challenges of a new century.

The First World War changes the world forever, and the fortunes of the Wix family change with it. Eliza’s daughter, Nancy, must find a way to keep the Palmyra afloat, and to entertain audiences who have lost husbands and sons in the conflict. Nancy is a born performer, but she is set apart—even from her beloved brothers—by her psychic gifts. She learns that she must harness her troubling powers, under the tutelage of the mysterious Mr. Feather, to keep the family and the theatre intact.

It is a dangerous path and a lonely one, but Nancy’s bold choices lead her to love, and beyond that to the recognition of what it takes to become a modern woman. As another war begins to threaten the world, she is forced into a final, fateful confrontation with her demons, and must marshal both her ingenuity and her mysterious talents to fight for the survival of friendship, independence and family.

“Love, seduction, magic and illusion collide as Rosie Thomas takes us on a spellbinding journey through an extremely shadowy world.” —DAILY EXPRESS ON THE ILLUSIONISTS

Le informazioni nella sezione "Riassunto" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

About the Author:

ROSIE THOMAS is the author of many celebrated and bestselling novels, including White, Iris and Ruby, The Kashmir Shawl, and The Illusionists, to which this novel is the sequel. She is also an avid traveller who has climbed in the Alps and the Himalayas, competed in the Peking to Paris car rally, spent time on a tiny Bulgarian research station in Antarctica, and travelled the Silk Road through Asia.

Web: RosieThomasAuthor.com

Facebook: Rosie Thomas Author

Review:

“Wonderful.... A spellbinding, romantic story.” (Woman & Home (UK))

“Lush and satisfying.... Brimming with magic, love and brilliantly realized characters.” (Sunday Mirror)

“An atmospheric tale of a woman breaking boundaries in early 20th-century London.” (Good Housekeeping)

“Vintage Thomas, with all her trademark richness and depth.... The thinking woman’s popular novelist.” (Saga)

Le informazioni nella sezione "Su questo libro" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

I migliori risultati di ricerca su AbeBooks

1.

Rosie Thomas
Editore: HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2016)
ISBN 10: 0007512082 ISBN 13: 9780007512089
Nuovi Paperback Quantità: 10
Da
The Book Depository
(London, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2016. Paperback. Condizione libro: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. A stunning novel from the SUNDAY TIMES bestselling author of THE KASHMIR SHAWL London 1919 Born into a down-at-heel family, Nancy Wix is more than her past dictates - more ambitious than the daughter of a faded showman, more original than a woman who will be confined by polite conventions. The end of the Great War has left a stricken London on the brink of an uncertain future, and with their hard-won freedoms now in doubt Nancy and her fellow suffragettes must strive all over again for the right to control their own destinies. At a time when shattered families are struggling to let go of their dead, Nancy discovers she has a gift that offers hope to the loved ones of the lost generation, and a chance encounter reveals a way in which she might use it for her own ends. As Nancy struggles to break free from the rigid bonds of society and find her place in the world, the only thing that could hold her back is her love for an unattainable man. Codice libro della libreria AA89780007512089

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 7,59
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
Da: Regno Unito a: Italia
Destinazione, tempi e costi

2.

Thomas, Rosie
Editore: Harper (2016)
ISBN 10: 0007512082 ISBN 13: 9780007512089
Nuovi Paperback Quantità: 2
Da
Learnearly Books
(Doncaster, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Harper, 2016. Paperback. Condizione libro: New. Rapidly dispatched worldwide from our clean, automated UK warehouse within 1-2 working days. Codice libro della libreria mon0000097995

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 0,88
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 6,70
Da: Regno Unito a: Italia
Destinazione, tempi e costi

3.

Rosie Thomas
Editore: HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2016)
ISBN 10: 0007512082 ISBN 13: 9780007512089
Nuovi Paperback Quantità: 10
Da
The Book Depository US
(London, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2016. Paperback. Condizione libro: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. A stunning novel from the SUNDAY TIMES bestselling author of THE KASHMIR SHAWL London 1919 Born into a down-at-heel family, Nancy Wix is more than her past dictates - more ambitious than the daughter of a faded showman, more original than a woman who will be confined by polite conventions. The end of the Great War has left a stricken London on the brink of an uncertain future, and with their hard-won freedoms now in doubt Nancy and her fellow suffragettes must strive all over again for the right to control their own destinies. At a time when shattered families are struggling to let go of their dead, Nancy discovers she has a gift that offers hope to the loved ones of the lost generation, and a chance encounter reveals a way in which she might use it for her own ends. As Nancy struggles to break free from the rigid bonds of society and find her place in the world, the only thing that could hold her back is her love for an unattainable man. Codice libro della libreria AA89780007512089

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 8,97
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
Da: Regno Unito a: Italia
Destinazione, tempi e costi

4.

ROSIE THOMAS
ISBN 10: 0007512082 ISBN 13: 9780007512089
Nuovi Quantità: 2
Da
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Condizione libro: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Codice libro della libreria 97800075120890000000

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 8,98
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
Da: U.S.A. a: Italia
Destinazione, tempi e costi

5.

Rosie Thomas
Editore: Harper 2016-05-19 (2016)
ISBN 10: 0007512082 ISBN 13: 9780007512089
Nuovi Paperback Quantità: 5
Da
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Harper 2016-05-19, 2016. Paperback. Condizione libro: New. Codice libro della libreria NU-GRD-05493860

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 6,53
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,35
Da: Regno Unito a: Italia
Destinazione, tempi e costi

6.

Rosie Thomas
Editore: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0007512082 ISBN 13: 9780007512089
Nuovi Paperback Quantità: > 20
Da
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro HarperCollins Publishers. Paperback. Condizione libro: new. BRAND NEW, Daughter of the House, Rosie Thomas. Codice libro della libreria B9780007512089

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 4,37
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 6,66
Da: Regno Unito a: Italia
Destinazione, tempi e costi

7.

Thomas, Rosie
Editore: Harper (2016)
ISBN 10: 0007512082 ISBN 13: 9780007512089
Nuovi Brossura Quantità: 2
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Harper, 2016. Condizione libro: New. A stunning novel from the SUNDAY TIMES bestselling author of THE KASHMIR SHAWL Num Pages: 512 pages. BIC Classification: FFH; FV. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 130 x 196 x 38. Weight in Grams: 364. . 2016. Paperback. . . . . . Codice libro della libreria V9780007512089

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 11,38
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
Da: Irlanda a: Italia
Destinazione, tempi e costi

8.

Thomas, Rosie
Editore: Harper
ISBN 10: 0007512082 ISBN 13: 9780007512089
Nuovi Brossura Quantità: 2
Da
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Harper. Condizione libro: New. A stunning novel from the SUNDAY TIMES bestselling author of THE KASHMIR SHAWL Num Pages: 512 pages. BIC Classification: FFH; FV. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 130 x 196 x 38. Weight in Grams: 364. . 2016. Paperback. . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Codice libro della libreria V9780007512089

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 11,40
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
Da: U.S.A. a: Italia
Destinazione, tempi e costi

9.

Thomas, Rosie
Editore: Harper Collins India
ISBN 10: 0007512082 ISBN 13: 9780007512089
Nuovi Quantità: 10
Da
BookVistas
(New Delhi, DELHI, India)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Harper Collins India. Condizione libro: New. Codice libro della libreria Harper-9780007512089

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 9,60
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,99
Da: India a: Italia
Destinazione, tempi e costi

10.

Rosie Thomas
Editore: HarperCollins Publishers 2016-05-19, London (2016)
ISBN 10: 0007512082 ISBN 13: 9780007512089
Nuovi paperback Quantità: > 20
Da
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro HarperCollins Publishers 2016-05-19, London, 2016. paperback. Condizione libro: New. Codice libro della libreria 9780007512089

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 9,21
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 4,48
Da: Regno Unito a: Italia
Destinazione, tempi e costi

Vedi altre copie di questo libro

Vedi tutti i risultati per questo libro