Eels: An Exploration, from New Zealand to the Sargasso, of the World's Most Mysterious Fish

Valutazione media 3,84
( su 559 valutazioni fornite da Goodreads )
 
9780060566128: Eels: An Exploration, from New Zealand to the Sargasso, of the World's Most Mysterious Fish

“This is a delightful work with the urgency of a good detective story.” —Thomas McGuane

“I loved it! A beautiful adventure story of one of the most wide-spread and least-known but ecologically important fish.” —Bernd Heinrich, author of Summer World

Famous for his deeply informed, compulsively readable books on trout, writer-painter James Prosek (whom the New York Times has called “the Audubon of the fishing world”) takes on nature’s quirkiest and most enigmatic fish: the eel. Fans of Mark Kurlansky’s Cod and The Big Oyster or Trevor Corson’s The Secret Life of Lobsters will love Prosek’s probing exploration of the hidden deep-water dwellers. With characteristically captivating prose and lavish illustrations, Prosek demystifies the eel’s unique biology and bizarre mating routines, and illuminates the animal’s varied roles in the folklore, cuisine, and commerce of a variety of cultures.

Le informazioni nella sezione "Riassunto" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

From the Back Cover:

They spawn in the middle of the ocean but spend their adult lives in freshwater. They can overcome seemingly insurmountable obstacles and even cross over land. They are revered as guardians and monster-seducers by New Zealand’s Maori, yet are often viewed with disgust in the West. They are a multibillion-dollar business in the Asian food market. They are often mistaken for snakes. They are eels—one of the world’s most amazing and least understood fish. (Yes, fish.)

James Prosek offers a fascinating tour through the life history and cultural associations of the freshwater eel, exploring its biology, its myth and lore, its mystery and beauty. Eels is a mesmerizing biography of an intriguing and mysterious creature, as well as a telling look at humanity, the will to persist, and the ever-changing relationship between man and the natural world.

About the Author:

James Prosek is a writer and artist. Dubbed “the Audubon of the fishing world” by the New York Times, his books include Trout, The Complete Angler, and Fly-Fishing the 41st. He lives in Easton, Connecticut.

Le informazioni nella sezione "Su questo libro" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

I migliori risultati di ricerca su AbeBooks

1.

Prosek, James
Editore: Harper Perennial
ISBN 10: 0060566124 ISBN 13: 9780060566128
Nuovi PAPERBACK Quantità: 1
Da
P-Town Book Sales
(Petaluma, CA, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Harper Perennial. PAPERBACK. Condizione libro: New. 0060566124 New Condition. Crisp pages and tight binding. Slight shelf wear on cover. Codice libro della libreria 7MQ-W6T3-9973

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 4,86
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,42
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

2.

James Prosek
ISBN 10: 0060566124 ISBN 13: 9780060566128
Nuovi Quantità: > 20
Da
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Condizione libro: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Codice libro della libreria 97800605661280000000

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 8,80
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

3.

Prosek, James
ISBN 10: 0060566124 ISBN 13: 9780060566128
Nuovi Quantità: > 20
Da
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro 2011. PAP. Condizione libro: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Codice libro della libreria VC-9780060566128

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 6,99
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,42
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

4.

James Prosek
Editore: HARPER PERENNIAL, United States (2011)
ISBN 10: 0060566124 ISBN 13: 9780060566128
Nuovi Paperback Quantità: 10
Da
The Book Depository
(London, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro HARPER PERENNIAL, United States, 2011. Paperback. Condizione libro: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. This is a delightful work with the urgency of a good detective story. --Thomas McGuane I loved it! A beautiful adventure story of one of the most wide-spread and least-known but ecologically important fish. --Bernd Heinrich, author of Summer World Famous for his deeply informed, compulsively readable books on trout, writer-painter James Prosek (whom the New York Times has called the Audubon of the fishing world ) takes on nature s quirkiest and most enigmatic fish: the eel. Fans of Mark Kurlansky s Cod and The Big Oyster or Trevor Corson s The Secret Life of Lobsters will love Prosek s probing exploration of the hidden deep-water dwellers. With characteristically captivating prose and lavish illustrations, Prosek demystifies the eel s unique biology and bizarre mating routines, and illuminates the animal s varied roles in the folklore, cuisine, and commerce of a variety of cultures. Codice libro della libreria AAS9780060566128

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 10,74
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

5.

James Prosek
Editore: HARPER PERENNIAL, United States (2011)
ISBN 10: 0060566124 ISBN 13: 9780060566128
Nuovi Paperback Quantità: 10
Da
The Book Depository US
(London, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro HARPER PERENNIAL, United States, 2011. Paperback. Condizione libro: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. This is a delightful work with the urgency of a good detective story. --Thomas McGuane I loved it! A beautiful adventure story of one of the most wide-spread and least-known but ecologically important fish. --Bernd Heinrich, author of Summer World Famous for his deeply informed, compulsively readable books on trout, writer-painter James Prosek (whom the New York Times has called the Audubon of the fishing world ) takes on nature s quirkiest and most enigmatic fish: the eel. Fans of Mark Kurlansky s Cod and The Big Oyster or Trevor Corson s The Secret Life of Lobsters will love Prosek s probing exploration of the hidden deep-water dwellers. With characteristically captivating prose and lavish illustrations, Prosek demystifies the eel s unique biology and bizarre mating routines, and illuminates the animal s varied roles in the folklore, cuisine, and commerce of a variety of cultures. Codice libro della libreria AAS9780060566128

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 10,81
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

6.

Prosek, James
Editore: Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0060566124 ISBN 13: 9780060566128
Nuovi Quantità: > 20
Da
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Harper Collins Publishers. Condizione libro: New. Brand New. Codice libro della libreria 0060566124

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 8,21
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,00
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

7.

James Prosek
Editore: HARPER PERENNIAL, United States (2011)
ISBN 10: 0060566124 ISBN 13: 9780060566128
Nuovi Paperback Quantità: 10
Da
Book Depository hard to find
(London, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro HARPER PERENNIAL, United States, 2011. Paperback. Condizione libro: New. Reprint. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. This is a delightful work with the urgency of a good detective story. --Thomas McGuane I loved it! A beautiful adventure story of one of the most wide-spread and least-known but ecologically important fish. --Bernd Heinrich, author of Summer World Famous for his deeply informed, compulsively readable books on trout, writer-painter James Prosek (whom the New York Times has called the Audubon of the fishing world ) takes on nature s quirkiest and most enigmatic fish: the eel. Fans of Mark Kurlansky s Cod and The Big Oyster or Trevor Corson s The Secret Life of Lobsters will love Prosek s probing exploration of the hidden deep-water dwellers. With characteristically captivating prose and lavish illustrations, Prosek demystifies the eel s unique biology and bizarre mating routines, and illuminates the animal s varied roles in the folklore, cuisine, and commerce of a variety of cultures. Codice libro della libreria BZE9780060566128

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 11,55
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

8.

Prosek, James
ISBN 10: 0060566124 ISBN 13: 9780060566128
Nuovi Quantità: 1
Da
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro 2011. PAP. Condizione libro: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Codice libro della libreria IB-9780060566128

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 8,44
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,42
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

9.

Prosek, James
Editore: Harper Perennial
ISBN 10: 0060566124 ISBN 13: 9780060566128
Nuovi PAPERBACK Quantità: > 20
Da
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Harper Perennial. PAPERBACK. Condizione libro: New. 0060566124 *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Codice libro della libreria SWATI2132259851

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 9,05
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,42
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

10.

Prosek, James
Editore: Harper Perennial (2011)
ISBN 10: 0060566124 ISBN 13: 9780060566128
Nuovi Paperback Quantità: 1
Da
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Harper Perennial, 2011. Paperback. Condizione libro: New. Codice libro della libreria 0060566124

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 10,77
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 2,56
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

Vedi altre copie di questo libro

Vedi tutti i risultati per questo libro