Ride Around Shining: A Novel

Valutazione media 3,32
( su 94 valutazioni fornite da Goodreads )
 
9780062285072: Ride Around Shining: A Novel

Longlisted for the PEN/Robert W. Bingham Prize for Debut Fiction

A provocative debut novel about a young white chauffeur and his wealthy black employer, an NBA player—a twenty-first century inversion of what we’ve come to expect stories of race and class to look like, and a discomfiting portrait of envy and obsession.

Ride Around Shining concerns the idle preoccupations, and later machinations, of a transplanted Portlander named Jess—a nobody from nowhere with a Master’s degree and a gig delivering takeout. He parlays the latter, along with a few lies, into a job as a chauffeur for an up-and-coming Trail Blazer named Calyph West and his young wife, Antonia.

Calyph is black and Antonia is white and Jess becomes fascinated, innocuously at first, by all they are that he is not. In striving to make himself indispensable to them, he causes Calyph to have a season-ending knee injury, then brings about the couple’s estrangement, before positioning himself at last as their perverse savior.

In the tradition of The Talented Mr. Ripley, The Great Gatsby, and Harold Pinter’s The Servant—not to mention a certain Shakespeare play about a creepy white dude obsessed with a black dude—Ride Around Shining tries to say the unsayable about white fixation on black culture, particularly black athletic culture, something so common in everyday life it has gone all but unaddressed.

Le informazioni nella sezione "Riassunto" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

From the Back Cover:

Ride Around Shining concerns the idle preoccupations, and later machinations, of a transplanted Portlander named Jess—a nobody from nowhere with a master's degree and a gig delivering takeout. He parlays the latter, along with a few lies, into a job as a chauffeur for an up-and-coming NBA small forward, a Trail Blazer named Calyph West, and his young wife, Antonia. Calyph is black, Antonia is white, and Jess becomes fascinated, innocuously at first, by all that they are that he is not. In striving to make himself indispensable to them, he causes Calyph to have a season-ending knee injury, then brings about the couple's estrangement, before positioning himself at last as their perverse savior.

In the tradition of Patricia Highsmith's The Talented Mr. Ripley and Harold Pinter's The Servant—not to mention a certain Shakespeare play about a creepy white dude obsessed with a black dude—Ride Around Shining is a striking, propulsive debut that is by turns hilarious and discomfiting, moody and thrilling, and which asks unforgettable questions about the modern tensions of race and class in America.

About the Author:

Chris Leslie-Hynan is originally from Wisconsin and received his MFA in fiction from the Iowa Writers' Workshop in 2008. He lives in Portland. This is his first book.

Le informazioni nella sezione "Su questo libro" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

I migliori risultati di ricerca su AbeBooks

1.

Leslie-Hynan, Chris
Editore: Harper
ISBN 10: 0062285076 ISBN 13: 9780062285072
Nuovi Rilegato Quantità: 2
Da
Academic Book Solutions
(Medford, NY, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Harper. Hardcover. Condizione libro: New. New, unread, and unused. Codice libro della libreria ABS-1288-1035

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 1,72
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,41
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

2.

Leslie-Hynan, Chris
Editore: Harper Collins 2014-08-05 (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062285076 ISBN 13: 9780062285072
Nuovi Rilegato Quantità: > 20
Da
BookOutlet
(Thorold, ON, Canada)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Harper Collins 2014-08-05, 2014. Hardcover. Condizione libro: New. Hardcover. Publisher overstock, may contain remainder mark on edge. Codice libro della libreria 9780062285072B

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 3,51
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 5,12
Da: Canada a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

3.

Chris Leslie-Hynan
ISBN 10: 0062285076 ISBN 13: 9780062285072
Nuovi Quantità: 1
Da
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Condizione libro: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Codice libro della libreria 97800622850721.0

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 9,16
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,41
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

4.

Leslie-Hynan, Chris
Editore: Harper 2014-08-05 (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062285076 ISBN 13: 9780062285072
Nuovi Rilegato Quantità: 1
Da
M and N Media
(Acworth, GA, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Harper 2014-08-05, 2014. Hardcover. Condizione libro: New. 0062285076 We guarantee all of our items - customer service and satisfaction are our top priorities. Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Codice libro della libreria TM-0062285076

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 12,81
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,41
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

5.

Chris Leslie-Hynan
Editore: Harper (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062285076 ISBN 13: 9780062285072
Nuovi Rilegato Quantità: 1
Da
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Harper, 2014. Hardcover. Condizione libro: New. book. Codice libro della libreria M0062285076

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 16,52
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

6.

Leslie-Hynan, Chris
Editore: Harper (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062285076 ISBN 13: 9780062285072
Nuovi Rilegato Quantità: 2
Da
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Harper, 2014. Hardcover. Condizione libro: New. Codice libro della libreria P110062285076

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 24,16
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 1,70
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

7.

Leslie-hynan, Chris
Editore: HarperCollins (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062285076 ISBN 13: 9780062285072
Nuovi Rilegato Quantità: 1
Da
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro HarperCollins, 2014. Hardcover. Condizione libro: Brand New. 225 pages. 9.25x6.25x1.00 inches. In Stock. Codice libro della libreria 0062285076

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 30,50
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 6,59
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi