The Brendan Voyage

Valutazione media 4,18
( su 886 valutazioni fornite da Goodreads )
 
9780070563353: The Brendan Voyage

It has been described as the greatest epic voyage in modern Irish history. Tim Severin and his companions built a boat using only techniques and materials available in the sixth-century A.D., when St Brendan was supposed to have sailed to America. The vessel comprised forty-nine ox hides stitched together in a patchwork and stretched over a wooden frame. This leather skin was only a quarter of an inch thick. Yet Severin and his crew sailed Brendan from Brandon Creek in Dingle to Newfoundland, surviving storms and a puncture from pack ice. The Brendan Voyage is Tim Severin's dramatic account of their journey. This new edition of a book already translated into twenty-seven languages introduces a new generation of readers to an enduring classic. Tim Severin didn't prove St Brendan reached America, only that he could have, that it was possible. Brilliantly written, The Brendan Voyage conveys unforgettably the sensation of being in a small, open boat in the vastness of the North Atlantic, visited by inquisitive whales, reaching mist-shrouded landfalls, and receiving a welcome from seafaring folk wherever the crew touched land.

Le informazioni nella sezione "Riassunto" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

From the Inside Flap:

Could an Irish monk in the sixth century really have sailed all the way across the Atlantic in a small open boat, thus beating Columbus to the New World by almost a thousand years? Relying on the medieval text of St. Brendan, award-winning adventure writer Tim Severin painstakingly researched and built a boat identical to the leather curragh that carried Brendan on his epic voyage. He found a centuries-old, family-run tannery to prepare the ox hides in the medieval way; he undertook an exhaustive search for skilled harness makers (the only people who would know how to stitch the three-quarter-inch-thick hides together); he located one of the last pieces of Irish-grown timber tall enough to make the mainmast. But his courage and resourcefulness were truly tested on the open seas, including one heart-pounding episode when he and his crew repaired a dangerous tear in the leather hull by hanging over the side--their heads sometimes submerged under the freezing waves--to restitch the leather. A modern classic in the tradition of Kon-Tiki, "The Brendan Voyage seamlessly blends high adventure and historical relevance. It has been translated into twenty-seven languages since its original publication in 1978.
With a new Introduction by Malachy McCourt, author of A Monk Swimming

From the Back Cover:

"Enthralling!"--The Guardian

"An extraordinary explorer." --The Independent

Le informazioni nella sezione "Su questo libro" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

I migliori risultati di ricerca su AbeBooks

1.

Timothy Severin, Trondur Pattursson (Illustrator)
Editore: Mcgraw-Hill Book Co. (1978)
ISBN 10: 0070563357 ISBN 13: 9780070563353
Nuovi Rilegato Quantità: 1
Da
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Mcgraw-Hill Book Co., 1978. Hardcover. Condizione libro: New. Codice libro della libreria DADAX0070563357

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 45,91
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 7,52
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

2.

Timothy Severin
Editore: Mcgraw-Hill Book Co. (1978)
ISBN 10: 0070563357 ISBN 13: 9780070563353
Nuovi Rilegato Prima edizione Quantità: 1
Da
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Mcgraw-Hill Book Co., 1978. Hardcover. Condizione libro: New. Trondur Pattursson (illustratore). book. Codice libro della libreria M0070563357

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 63,72
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

3.

Timothy Severin
Editore: Mcgraw-Hill Book Co. (1978)
ISBN 10: 0070563357 ISBN 13: 9780070563353
Nuovi Rilegato Quantità: 2
Da
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Mcgraw-Hill Book Co., 1978. Hardcover. Condizione libro: New. Never used!. Codice libro della libreria P110070563357

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 79,69
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 1,67
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi