Sex, Science & Profits: How People Evolved to Make Money

Valutazione media 3,17
( su 24 valutazioni fornite da Goodreads )
 
9780099281931: Sex, Science & Profits: How People Evolved to Make Money

A clever, thought-provoking look at the biological roots of economics -- Kealey’s insightful work illuminates in the tradition of Richard Dawkins, Steven Pinker and Jared Diamond.

In this highly original work, the author makes a groundbreaking and exciting connection between the
evolutionary and economic history of humanity. He explains how the roots of barter, trade and the contract are embedded in human nature, and how markets work on the evolutionary patterns of natural selection.

Splendidly multi-faceted, the book travels across human history from Neolithic times, through Ancient Egypt and the Renaissance European explorers, to the failure of the Soviet economy in recent years. Through this journey Kealey skillfully demonstrates how an understanding of biology and natural selection radically transforms our view of economics, business, technology and the economic history of the human species. This exceptional study will appeal to anyone who enjoys popular science, history or serious business books. Sex, Science and Profits is witty, magnificent, thought- provoking and provocative. It promises to be an important and highly controversial book.
From the Hardcover edition.

Le informazioni nella sezione "Riassunto" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

About the Author:

Terence Kealey is a clinical biochemist at the University of Cambridge and at Addenbrooke’s Hospital, specializing in the biochemistry of hair. He writes regularly for the Spectator and the New Scientist.
From the Hardcover edition.

Review:

Praise for Kealey’s The Economic Laws of Scientific Research:
“A brilliant book. One of the most appetizing and sustained polemics ever concocted on a serious
topic” -- Economist

“One of the most intelligent, trend-changing and courageous books I have ever read” -- Matt Ridley, Daily Telegraph
From the Hardcover edition.

Le informazioni nella sezione "Su questo libro" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

I migliori risultati di ricerca su AbeBooks

1.

Terence Kealey
Editore: Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom (2011)
ISBN 10: 0099281937 ISBN 13: 9780099281931
Nuovi Paperback Quantità: 1
Da
The Book Depository
(London, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom, 2011. Paperback. Condizione libro: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. The question What is art? is frequently debated, but What is science? appears to be discussed less often - though the answers could reveal far more about us. Is science a public good? Does science mean progress? Or is science something more exploitative - driven by profit, promoted by businesses and institutions looking for economic and political power? In this ground-breaking study in the tradition of Richard Dawkins and Jared Diamond, Terence Kealey shows how an understanding of sexual and natural selection can transform our view of progress in economics, business and technology. Richly multi-disciplinary, witty, brilliant and thought-provoking, it is an important and controversial book. Codice libro della libreria AAZ9780099281931

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 9,87
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

2.

Terence Kealey
Editore: Vintage (2009)
ISBN 10: 0099281937 ISBN 13: 9780099281931
Nuovi Brossura Quantità: 1
Da
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Vintage, 2009. Condizione libro: New. Codice libro della libreria GH9780099281931

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 9,39
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 2,99
Da: Germania a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

3.

Kealey, Terence
Editore: Vintage (2009)
ISBN 10: 0099281937 ISBN 13: 9780099281931
Nuovi Brossura Quantità: 1
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Vintage, 2009. Condizione libro: New. Is science a public good? Does science mean progress? Or is science something more exploitative - driven by profit, promoted by businesses and institutions looking for economic and political power? This study shows how an understanding of sexual and natural selection can transform our view of progress in economics, business and technology. Num Pages: 464 pages. BIC Classification: JHBK5; KJB; PD. Category: (P) Professional & Vocational; (U) Tertiary Education (US: College). Dimension: 203 x 130 x 32. Weight in Grams: 336. . 2009. Paperback. . . . . Codice libro della libreria V9780099281931

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 12,70
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
Da: Irlanda a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

4.

Terence Kealey
Editore: Vintage (2009)
ISBN 10: 0099281937 ISBN 13: 9780099281931
Nuovi Paperback Quantità: 3
Da
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Vintage, 2009. Paperback. Condizione libro: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Codice libro della libreria mon0000190209

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 10,56
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 2,17
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

5.

Terence Kealey
Editore: Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom (2011)
ISBN 10: 0099281937 ISBN 13: 9780099281931
Nuovi Paperback Quantità: 1
Da
The Book Depository US
(London, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom, 2011. Paperback. Condizione libro: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. The question What is art? is frequently debated, but What is science? appears to be discussed less often - though the answers could reveal far more about us. Is science a public good? Does science mean progress? Or is science something more exploitative - driven by profit, promoted by businesses and institutions looking for economic and political power? In this ground-breaking study in the tradition of Richard Dawkins and Jared Diamond, Terence Kealey shows how an understanding of sexual and natural selection can transform our view of progress in economics, business and technology. Richly multi-disciplinary, witty, brilliant and thought-provoking, it is an important and controversial book. Codice libro della libreria AAZ9780099281931

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 12,89
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

6.

Kealey, Terence
Editore: Vintage
ISBN 10: 0099281937 ISBN 13: 9780099281931
Nuovi Brossura Quantità: 1
Da
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Vintage. Condizione libro: New. Is science a public good? Does science mean progress? Or is science something more exploitative - driven by profit, promoted by businesses and institutions looking for economic and political power? This study shows how an understanding of sexual and natural selection can transform our view of progress in economics, business and technology. Num Pages: 464 pages. BIC Classification: JHBK5; KJB; PD. Category: (P) Professional & Vocational; (U) Tertiary Education (US: College). Dimension: 203 x 130 x 32. Weight in Grams: 336. . 2009. Paperback. . . . . Codice libro della libreria V9780099281931

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 12,90
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

7.

Terence Kealey
Editore: Random House 2009-01-01, London (2009)
ISBN 10: 0099281937 ISBN 13: 9780099281931
Nuovi paperback Quantità: 1
Da
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Random House 2009-01-01, London, 2009. paperback. Condizione libro: New. Codice libro della libreria 9780099281931

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 9,88
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,28
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

8.

Terence Kealey
ISBN 10: 0099281937 ISBN 13: 9780099281931
Nuovi Paperback Quantità: 1
Da
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Paperback. Condizione libro: New. Not Signed; The question 'What is art?' is frequently debated, but 'What is science?' appears to be discussed less often - though the answers could reveal far more about us. Is science a public good? Does science mean progress? Or is science something more exploitative - driven by profit, promoted by businesse. book. Codice libro della libreria ria9780099281931_rkm

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 10,60
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 4,23
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

9.

Terence Kealey
ISBN 10: 0099281937 ISBN 13: 9780099281931
Nuovi Quantità: 1
Da
Speedy Hen LLC
(Sunrise, FL, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Condizione libro: New. Bookseller Inventory # ST0099281937. Codice libro della libreria ST0099281937

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 14,85
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

10.

Terence Kealey
Editore: Vintage
ISBN 10: 0099281937 ISBN 13: 9780099281931
Nuovi Paperback Quantità: 1
Da
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Vintage. Paperback. Condizione libro: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. Codice libro della libreria B9780099281931

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 7,49
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 7,58
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

Vedi altre copie di questo libro

Vedi tutti i risultati per questo libro