Sadie Jones The Outcast

ISBN 13: 9780099513421

The Outcast

Valutazione media 3,6
( su 7.436 valutazioni fornite da Goodreads )
 
9780099513421: The Outcast
Vedi tutte le copie di questo ISBN:
 
 

1957, and Lewis Aldridge is travelling back to his home in the South of England. He is straight out of jail and nineteen years old. His return will trigger the implosion not just of his family, but of a whole community.

A decade earlier, his father's homecoming casts a different shape. The war is over and Gilbert has recently been demobbed. He reverts easily to suburban life - cocktails at six thirty, church on Sundays - but his wife and young son resist the stuffy routine. Lewis and his mother escape to the woods for picnics, just as they did in wartime days. Nobody is surprised that Gilbert's wife counters convention, but they are all shocked when, after one of their jaunts, Lewis comes back without her.

Not far away, Kit Carmichael keeps watch. She has always understood more than most, not least from what she has been dealt by her own father's hand. Lewis's grief and burgeoning rage are all too plain, and Kit makes a private vow to help. But in her attempts to set them both free, she fails to predict the painful and horrifying secrets that must first be forced into the open.

As menacing as it is beautiful, The Outcast is a devastating portrait of small-town hypocrisy from an astonishing new voice.

Le informazioni nella sezione "Riassunto" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

Recensione:

"Febrile and atmospheric" (Good Book Guide)

"An elegant, subtle, haunting novel that stayed with me long after I finished it. Sadie Jones has a long literary future ahead of her" (Tracy Chevalier)

"The prose is elegant and spare, but the story it reveals is raw and explosive... Devastatingly good'" (Eithne Farry Daily Mail)

"Jones's story is imbued with brooding atmosphere and drama. Understated and elegantly narrated with attention to period detail, this is a gripping love story with a twist. If you liked Atonement by Ian McEwan, you'll love this" (Harper's Bazaar)

"Eminently readable first novel....reads like a thriller, the tension and menace build expertly...a powerful, promising first novel" (Financial Times)

Descrizione del libro:

'In the tradition of Atonement and Remains of the Day...The Outcast is a passionate and deeply suspenseful novel about what happens to those who break the rules, and what happens to those who keep them.' Margot Livesey

Le informazioni nella sezione "Su questo libro" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

I migliori risultati di ricerca su AbeBooks

1.

Sadie Jones
Editore: Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom (2008)
ISBN 10: 0099513420 ISBN 13: 9780099513421
Nuovo Paperback Quantità: 1
Da
The Book Depository
(London, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom, 2008. Paperback. Condizione: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. 1957, and Lewis Aldridge is travelling back to his home in the South of England. He is straight out of jail and nineteen years old. His return will trigger the implosion not just of his family, but of a whole community. A decade earlier, his father s homecoming casts a different shape. The war is over and Gilbert has recently been demobbed. He reverts easily to suburban life - cocktails at six thirty, church on Sundays - but his wife and young son resist the stuffy routine. Lewis and his mother escape to the woods for picnics, just as they did in wartime days. Nobody is surprised that Gilbert s wife counters convention, but they are all shocked when, after one of their jaunts, Lewis comes back without her. Not far away, Kit Carmichael keeps watch. She has always understood more than most, not least from what she has been dealt by her own father s hand. Lewis s grief and burgeoning rage are all too plain, and Kit makes a private vow to help. But in her attempts to set them both free, she fails to predict the painful and horrifying secrets that must first be forced into the open. As menacing as it is beautiful, The Outcast is a devastating portrait of small-town hypocrisy from an astonishing new voice. Codice articolo AAZ9780099513421

Informazioni sul venditore | Contattare il venditore

Compra nuovo
EUR 9,73
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

2.

Sadie Jones
Editore: Vintage (2008)
ISBN 10: 0099513420 ISBN 13: 9780099513421
Nuovo Brossura Quantità: 1
Da
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Vintage, 2008. Condizione: New. Codice articolo GH9780099513421

Informazioni sul venditore | Contattare il venditore

Compra nuovo
EUR 8,83
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 2,99
Da: Germania a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

3.

Sadie Jones
Editore: Vintage (2008)
ISBN 10: 0099513420 ISBN 13: 9780099513421
Nuovo Paperback Quantità: 5
Da
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Vintage, 2008. Paperback. Condizione: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Codice articolo mon0000192023

Informazioni sul venditore | Contattare il venditore

Compra nuovo
EUR 10,10
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 2,28
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

4.

Sadie Jones
Editore: Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom (2008)
ISBN 10: 0099513420 ISBN 13: 9780099513421
Nuovo Paperback Quantità: 1
Da
Book Depository International
(London, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom, 2008. Paperback. Condizione: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. 1957, and Lewis Aldridge is travelling back to his home in the South of England. He is straight out of jail and nineteen years old. His return will trigger the implosion not just of his family, but of a whole community. A decade earlier, his father s homecoming casts a different shape. The war is over and Gilbert has recently been demobbed. He reverts easily to suburban life - cocktails at six thirty, church on Sundays - but his wife and young son resist the stuffy routine. Lewis and his mother escape to the woods for picnics, just as they did in wartime days. Nobody is surprised that Gilbert s wife counters convention, but they are all shocked when, after one of their jaunts, Lewis comes back without her. Not far away, Kit Carmichael keeps watch. She has always understood more than most, not least from what she has been dealt by her own father s hand. Lewis s grief and burgeoning rage are all too plain, and Kit makes a private vow to help. But in her attempts to set them both free, she fails to predict the painful and horrifying secrets that must first be forced into the open. As menacing as it is beautiful, The Outcast is a devastating portrait of small-town hypocrisy from an astonishing new voice. Codice articolo AAZ9780099513421

Informazioni sul venditore | Contattare il venditore

Compra nuovo
EUR 12,43
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

5.

Sadie Jones
ISBN 10: 0099513420 ISBN 13: 9780099513421
Nuovo Quantità: 3
Da
Speedy Hen LLC
(Sunrise, FL, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Condizione: New. Bookseller Inventory # ST0099513420. Codice articolo ST0099513420

Informazioni sul venditore | Contattare il venditore

Compra nuovo
EUR 14,48
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

6.

Sadie Jones
Editore: Vintage Publishing
ISBN 10: 0099513420 ISBN 13: 9780099513421
Nuovo Paperback Quantità: 5
Da
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Vintage Publishing. Paperback. Condizione: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. Codice articolo B9780099513421

Informazioni sul venditore | Contattare il venditore

Compra nuovo
EUR 6,71
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 7,96
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

7.

Jones Sadie
Editore: Random House
ISBN 10: 0099513420 ISBN 13: 9780099513421
Nuovo Quantità: 3
Da
Majestic Books
(London, ,, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Random House. Condizione: New. pp. 448. Codice articolo 5818808

Informazioni sul venditore | Contattare il venditore

Compra nuovo
EUR 9,04
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 6,31
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

8.

Sadie Jones
ISBN 10: 0099513420 ISBN 13: 9780099513421
Nuovo Paperback Quantità: 5
Da
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Paperback. Condizione: New. Not Signed; 1957, and Lewis Aldridge is travelling back to his home in the South of England. He is straight out of jail and nineteen years old. His return will trigger the implosion not just of his family, but of a whole community. A decade earlier, his father's homecoming casts a different shape. The war is. book. Codice articolo ria9780099513421_rkm

Informazioni sul venditore | Contattare il venditore

Compra nuovo
EUR 11,34
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 4,44
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

9.

Jones, Sadie
Editore: Vintage Books
ISBN 10: 0099513420 ISBN 13: 9780099513421
Nuovo PAPERBACK Quantità: 5
Da
WFL
(Holtsville, NY, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Vintage Books. PAPERBACK. Condizione: New. 0099513420 Brand New ,Original Book , Direct from Source , Express 5-8 business days worldwide delivery. Codice articolo DG#I285084

Informazioni sul venditore | Contattare il venditore

Compra nuovo
EUR 12,03
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,96
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

10.

Sadie Jones (author)
Editore: Random House 1995-06-16, London (1995)
ISBN 10: 0099513420 ISBN 13: 9780099513421
Nuovo paperback Quantità: 5
Da
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Random House 1995-06-16, London, 1995. paperback. Condizione: New. Codice articolo 9780099513421

Informazioni sul venditore | Contattare il venditore

Compra nuovo
EUR 9,66
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 6,88
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

Vedi altre copie di questo libro

Vedi tutti i risultati per questo libro