The Landscape of History: How Historians Map the Past

Valutazione media 3,72
( su 848 valutazioni fornite da GoodReads )
 
9780195066524: The Landscape of History: How Historians Map the Past

What is history, and why should we study it? Is there such a thing as historical truth? Is history a science? One of the most accomplished historians at work today, John Lewis Gaddis, answers these and other questions in this short, witty, and humane book. The Landscape of History provides a searching look at the historian's craft, as well as a strong argument for why a historical consciousness should matter to us today. Written in the tradition of Marc Bloch and E. H. Carr, The Landscape of History is at once an engaging introduction to the historical method for beginners, a powerful reaffirmation of it for practitioners, a startling challenge to social scientists, and an effective skewering of postmodernist claims that we can't know anything at all about the past. It will be essential reading for anyone who reads, writes, teaches, or cares about history.

Le informazioni nella sezione "Riassunto" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

Sinossi:

Book by Gaddis John Lewis

Le informazioni nella sezione "Su questo libro" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

I migliori risultati di ricerca su AbeBooks

1.

John Lewis Gaddis
Editore: Oxford University Press, USA (2002)
ISBN 10: 0195066529 ISBN 13: 9780195066524
Nuovi Rilegato Quantità: 1
Da
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Oxford University Press, USA, 2002. Hardcover. Condizione libro: New. Codice libro della libreria DADAX0195066529

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 29,78
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,66
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

2.

John Lewis Gaddis
ISBN 10: 0195066529 ISBN 13: 9780195066524
Nuovi Quantità: 1
Da
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Condizione libro: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Codice libro della libreria 97801950665241.0

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 32,51
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,66
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

3.

Gaddis, John Lewis
Editore: Oxford University Press (2002)
ISBN 10: 0195066529 ISBN 13: 9780195066524
Nuovi Rilegato Quantità: 2
Da
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Oxford University Press, 2002. Hardcover. Condizione libro: New. Codice libro della libreria P110195066529

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 40,12
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 2,74
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi