Slayer Slang: A Buffy the Vampire Slayer Lexicon

Valutazione media 3,92
( su 459 valutazioni fornite da GoodReads )
 
9780195160338: Slayer Slang: A Buffy the Vampire Slayer Lexicon

In its seven years on television, Buffy the Vampire Slayer has earned critical acclaim and a massive cult following among teen viewers. One of the most distinguishing features of the program is the innovative way the show's writers play with language: fabricating new words, morphing existing ones, and throwing usage on its head. The result has been a strikingly resonant lexicon that reflects the power of both youth culture and television in the evolution of American slang. Using the show to illustrate how new slang is formed, transformed, and transmitted, Slayer Slang is one of those rare books that combines a serious explanation of a pop culture phenomena with an engrossing read for fans of the show, word geeks, and language professionals. Michael Adams begins his book with a synopsis of the program's history and a defense of ephemeral language. He then moves to the main body of the work: a detailed glossary of slayer slang, annotated with actual dialogue and recorded the style accepted by the American Dialect Society. The book concludes with a bibliography and a lengthy index, a guide to sources (novels based on the show, magazine articles about the show, and language culled from the official posting board) and an appendix of slang-making suffixes. Introduced by Jane Espenson, one of the show's most inventive writers (and herself a linguist), Slayer Slang offers a quintessential example of contemporary youth culture serving as a vehicle for slang. In the tradition of The Physics of Star Trek, Slayer Slang is one of those rare books that offers a serious examination a TV cult phenemenon appealing to fans and thinkers alike. A few examples from the Slayer Slang glossary: bitca n [AHD4 bitch n in sense 2.a + a] Bitch 1997 Sep 15 Whedon When She Was Bad "[Willow:] 'I mean, why else would she be acting like such a b-i-t-c-h?' [Giles:] 'Willow, I think we're all a little old to be spelling things out.' [Xander:] 'A bitca?'" break and enterish adj [AHD4 sv breaking and entering n + -ish suff in sense 2.a] Suitable for crime 1999 Mar 16 Petrie Enemies "I'll go home and stock up on weapons, slip into something a little more break and enterish." [B] carbon-dated adj [fr. AHD4 carbondating + -ed] Very out of date 1997 Mar 10 Whedon Welcome to the Hellmouth "[Buffy:] 'Deal with that outfit for a moment.' [Giles:] 'It's dated?' [Buffy:] 'It's carbon-dated.'" cuddle-monkey n [AHD4 cuddle v + monkey n in sense 2, by analogy fr. RHHDAS (also DAS3 and NTC) sv cuddle bunny 'an affectionate, passionate, or sexually attractive young woman'] Male lover 1998 Feb 10 Noxon Bewitched, Bothered, and Bewildered "Every woman in Sunnydale wants to make me her cuddle-monkey." [X]

Le informazioni nella sezione "Riassunto" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

L'autore:

Michael Adams teaches at North Carolina State University and is the editor of Dictionaries: The Journal of the Dictionary Society of North America.

Le informazioni nella sezione "Su questo libro" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

I migliori risultati di ricerca su AbeBooks

1.

Adams, Michael
Editore: Oxford University Press (2003)
ISBN 10: 0195160339 ISBN 13: 9780195160338
Nuovi Rilegato Quantità: 1
Da
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Oxford University Press, 2003. Hardcover. Condizione libro: New. book. Codice libro della libreria 0195160339

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 24,58
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 11,05
Da: U.S.A. a: Italia
Destinazione, tempi e costi

2.

Michael Adams
Editore: Oxford University Press, USA (2003)
ISBN 10: 0195160339 ISBN 13: 9780195160338
Nuovi Rilegato Quantità: 1
Da
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Oxford University Press, USA, 2003. Hardcover. Condizione libro: New. annotated edition. Codice libro della libreria DADAX0195160339

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 23,82
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 12,89
Da: U.S.A. a: Italia
Destinazione, tempi e costi

3.

Adams, Michael
Editore: Oxford University Press (2003)
ISBN 10: 0195160339 ISBN 13: 9780195160338
Nuovi Rilegato Quantità: 2
Da
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Oxford University Press, 2003. Hardcover. Condizione libro: New. Codice libro della libreria P110195160339

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 38,58
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 18,40
Da: U.S.A. a: Italia
Destinazione, tempi e costi

4.

Adams, Michael
Editore: Oxford University Press
ISBN 10: 0195160339 ISBN 13: 9780195160338
Nuovi Rilegato Quantità: 1
Da
Cloud 9 Books
(West Palm Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Oxford University Press. Hardcover. Condizione libro: New. 0195160339 New Condition. Codice libro della libreria NEW6.0075116

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 47,39
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 36,81
Da: U.S.A. a: Italia
Destinazione, tempi e costi

5.

Michael Adams
ISBN 10: 0195160339 ISBN 13: 9780195160338
Nuovi Quantità: 1
Da
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Condizione libro: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Codice libro della libreria 97801951603381.0

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 82,86
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 23,01
Da: U.S.A. a: Italia
Destinazione, tempi e costi