The Mad Boy, Lord Berners, My Grandmother and Me

Valutazione media 3,68
( su 171 valutazioni fornite da Goodreads )
 
9780224096591: The Mad Boy, Lord Berners, My Grandmother and Me

This beguiling tale of a scandalous ménage à trois among England’s upper classes is a high society love story that combines memoir and biography into a fascinating, heady read in the vein of The Bolter and Portrait of a Marriage.

Among the glittering stars of British society, Sofka Zinovieff’s grandparents lived and loved with abandon. Robert Heber-Percy was a dashing young man who would rather have a drink than open a book, so his involvement with Jennifer Fry, a beautiful socialite famous for her style and charm, was not surprising. But by the time Robert met and married Jennifer, he had already been involved with a man—Gerald, Lord Berners—for more than a decade.

Stout, eccentric, and significantly older, Gerald was a well-known composer, and at home among scholars. He also owned one of Britain’s loveliest stately homes, Faringdon House in Oxfordshire. The two made an unlikely couple, especially because they lived together at Faringdon House when homosexuality was illegal. And then a pregnant Jennifer moved into Faringdon in 1942, creating a formidable ménage à trois.

In this gorgeous, entertaining narrative of bohemian aristocracy illustrated with dozens of photographs, Sofka Zinovieff probes the mysteries of her grandparents and the third man in their marriage. Who was Gerald, and what brought Robert and Jennifer together under his roof? Why did Jennifer marry Robert? Piecing together the complicated reality behind the scandals of revelry and sexuality, she finally allows old ghosts to rest.

Le informazioni nella sezione "Riassunto" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

From the Back Cover:

Like The Bolter and Portrait of a Marriage, this beguiling, heady tale of a scandalous ménage à trois among England's upper classes combines memoir and biography to re-create an unforgettably decadent world.

Among the glittering stars of British society, Sofka Zinovieff's grandparents lived and loved with abandon. Robert Heber-Percy was a dashing young man who would rather have a drink than open a book, so his involvement with Jennifer Fry, a gorgeous socialite famous for her style and charm, was not surprising. But by the time Robert met and married Jennifer, he had already been involved with a man—Gerald, Lord Berners—for more than a decade.

Stout, eccentric and significantly older, Gerald was a composer, writer and aesthete—a creative aristocrat most at home in the company of the era's best and brightest minds. He also owned one of Britain's loveliest stately homes, Faringdon House, in Oxfordshire, which under his stewardship became a beacon of sybaritic beauty. Robert and Gerald made an unlikely couple, especially because they lived together at Faringdon House when homosexuality was illegal. And then a pregnant Jennifer moved into Faringdon in 1942, creating a formidable ménage à trois.

In this gorgeous, entertaining narrative of bohemian aristocracy, Sofka Zinovieff probes the mysteries of her grandparents and the third man in their marriage: Gerald, the complex and talented heir to a legendary house, its walls lined with priceless art and its gardens roamed by a bevy of doves, where he entertained everyone from Igor Stravinsky to Gertrude Stein. What brought Robert and Jennifer together under his roof, and why did Jennifer stay—and marry Robert?

Blending memoir and biography in her quest to lay old ghosts to rest, Zinovieff pieces together the complicated reality behind the scandals of revelry and sexuality. The resulting story, defined by keen insight, deep affection and marvelous wit, captures the glory and indulgence of the age, and explores the many ways in which we have the capacity to love.

About the Author:

Sofka Zinovieff was born in London in 1961. She studied social anthropology at Cambridge and is the author of three previous books—Eurydice Street: A Place in Athens; Red Princess: A Revolutionary Life; and The House on Paradise Street. She lives with her husband and daughters at Faringdon.

Le informazioni nella sezione "Su questo libro" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

I migliori risultati di ricerca su AbeBooks

1.

Zinovieff, Sofka
Editore: Jonathan Cape, London (2014)
ISBN 10: 0224096591 ISBN 13: 9780224096591
Nuovi Rilegato Prima edizione Quantità: 1
Da
Carnegie Hill Books
(NEW YORK, NY, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Jonathan Cape, London, 2014. Hard Cover. Condizione libro: New. Condizione sovraccoperta: New. First Edition. First British edition. Large octavo. 436 pp; many b/w photographs; bibliography; index. Black hardcover with silver-lettered spine in dustjacket. A fine, unused copy - no markings; unclipped jacket with no wear. An entertaining narrative of bohemian British aristocracy illustrated with dozens of photographs, the author probes the mysteries of her grandparents - Robert Heber-Percy (Mad Boy) & Jennifer Fry, and Lord Berners, the other man in their marriage. Codice libro della libreria 012969

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 26,54
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 19,75
Da: U.S.A. a: Italia
Destinazione, tempi e costi

2.

Sofka Zinovieff
Editore: Jonathan Cape (2014)
ISBN 10: 0224096591 ISBN 13: 9780224096591
Nuovi Rilegato Quantità: 1
Da
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Jonathan Cape, 2014. Hardcover. Condizione libro: New. book. Codice libro della libreria 0224096591

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 39,81
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 10,31
Da: U.S.A. a: Italia
Destinazione, tempi e costi

3.

Sofka Zinovieff
Editore: Jonathan Cape (2014)
ISBN 10: 0224096591 ISBN 13: 9780224096591
Nuovi Rilegato Quantità: 1
Da
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Jonathan Cape, 2014. Hardcover. Condizione libro: Brand New. 448 pages. 9.45x7.28x1.18 inches. In Stock. Codice libro della libreria zk0224096591

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 52,78
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 16,79
Da: Regno Unito a: Italia
Destinazione, tempi e costi

4.

Sofka Zinovieff
ISBN 10: 0224096591 ISBN 13: 9780224096591
Nuovi Rilegato Quantità: 1
Da
AussieBookSeller
(SILVERWATER, NSW, Australia)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro 2014. Hardcover. Condizione libro: New. Hardcover. Faringdon House in Oxfordshire was the home of Lord Berners, composer, writer, painter, friend of Stravinsky and Gertrude Stein, a man renowned for his eccentricity - masks, p.Shipping may be from our Sydney, NSW warehouse or from our UK or US warehouse, depending on stock availability. 448 pages. 1.400. Codice libro della libreria 9780224096591

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 40,48
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 31,78
Da: Australia a: Italia
Destinazione, tempi e costi

5.

Zinovieff, Sofka
Editore: Jonathan Cape (2014)
ISBN 10: 0224096591 ISBN 13: 9780224096591
Nuovi Rilegato Quantità: 2
Da
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Jonathan Cape, 2014. Hardcover. Condizione libro: New. Codice libro della libreria P110224096591

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 62,12
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 17,17
Da: U.S.A. a: Italia
Destinazione, tempi e costi