The Boys in the Boat

Valutazione media 4,32
( su 136.820 valutazioni fornite da Goodreads )
 
9780230768895: The Boys in the Boat

For readers of Laura Hillenbrand's Seabiscuit and Unbroken, the dramatic story of the American rowing team that stunned the world at Hitler's 1936 Berlin Olympics

Daniel James Brown's robust book tells the story of the University of Washington's 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the boys defeated elite rivals first from eastern and British universities and finally the German crew rowing for Adolf Hitler in the Olympic games in Berlin, 1936.

The emotional heart of the story lies with one rower, Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not for glory, but to regain his shattered self-regard and to find a place he can call home. The crew is assembled by an enigmatic coach and mentored by a visionary, eccentric British boat builder, but it is their trust in each other that makes them a victorious

Le informazioni nella sezione "Riassunto" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

Review:

Daniel James Brown’s The Boys in the Boat is the kind of nonfiction book that reads like a novel. Centered around the life of Joe Rantz—a farmboy from the Pacific Northwest who was literally abandoned as a child—and set during the Great Depression, The Boys in the Boat is a character-driven story with a natural crescendo that will have you racing to the finish. In 1936, the University of Washington’s eight-oar crew team raced its way to the Berlin Olympics for an opportunity to challenge the greatest in the world. How this team, largely composed of rowers from “foggy coastal villages, damp dairy farms, and smoky lumber towns all over the state,” managed to work together and sacrifice toward their goal of defeating Hitler’s feared racers is half the story. The other half is equally fascinating, as Brown seamlessly weaves in the story of crew itself. This is fast-paced and emotional nonfiction about determination, bonds built by teamwork, and what it takes to achieve glory. —Chris Schluep

About the Author:

Daniel James Brown is the author of two previous nonfiction books, The Indifferent Stars Above and Under a Flaming Sky, which was a finalist for a Barnes & Noble Discover Award. He has taught writing at San Jose State University and Stanford University. He lives outside Seattle.
From the Trade Paperback edition.

Le informazioni nella sezione "Su questo libro" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

I migliori risultati di ricerca su AbeBooks

1.

Brown Daniel James
Editore: MacMillan
ISBN 10: 023076889X ISBN 13: 9780230768895
Nuovi Quantità: 1
Da
Majestic Books
(London, ,, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro MacMillan. Condizione libro: New. pp. 320 Illus. Codice libro della libreria 55074531

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 25,48
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 4,59
Da: Regno Unito a: Italia
Destinazione, tempi e costi

2.

Daniel James Brown
Editore: Pan Macmillan (2013)
ISBN 10: 023076889X ISBN 13: 9780230768895
Nuovi Paperback Quantità: 2
Da
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Pan Macmillan, 2013. Paperback. Condizione libro: New. Codice libro della libreria P11023076889X

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 41,27
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 17,17
Da: U.S.A. a: Italia
Destinazione, tempi e costi