Stibbe, Nina Man at the Helm

ISBN 13: 9780241003152

Man at the Helm

Valutazione media 3,53
( su 2.037 valutazioni fornite da GoodReads )
 
9780241003152: Man at the Helm

* * * NOMINATED FOR THE 2014 NATIONAL BOOK AWARDS AUDIOBOOK OF THE YEAR * * *

Man at the Helm, the debut novel from Nina Stibbe - the much-loved author of Love, Nina - is a wildly comic, brilliantly sharp-eyed novel about the horrors of being an attractive divorcée in an English village in the 1970s, and a family's fall from grace . . .

My sister and I and our little brother were born (in that order) into a very good situation and apart from the odd new thing life was humdrum and comfortable until an evening in 1970 when my mother listened in to my father's phone call and ended up blowing her nose on a tea towel - a thing she'd only have done in an absolute emergency.

Not long after her parents' separation, heralded by an awkward scene involving a wet Daily Telegraph and a pan of cold eggs, nine-year-old Lizzie Vogel, her sister and little brother and their now divorcée mother are packed off to a small, slightly hostile village in the English countryside. Their mother is all alone, only thirty-one years of age, with three young children and a Labrador. It is no wonder, when you put it like that, that she becomes a menace and a drunk. And a playwright.

Worried about the bad playwriting - though more about becoming wards of court and being sent to the infamous Crescent Home for Children - Lizzie and her sister decide to contact, by letter, suitable men in the area. In order to stave off the local social worker they urgently need to find a new Man at the Helm.

'All hail a book that's funny!' Barbara Trapido

'[A] joyous read, full of wit and charm . . . I am already longing for Nina Stibbe's next book' Observer

'Nine-year-old Lizzie (our narrator) is the perfect conduit for her creator, just the right mixture of childhood innocence and incredulity for the necessary deadpan delivery of Stibbe's particular brand of comedy. Read it and be charmed' Independent

'A beguilingly comic blend of naivety and precociousness' Sunday Times

Nina Stibbe was born in Leicester. She is the author of the hugely acclaimed Love, Nina, which was shortlisted for the Waterstones Book of the Year Award and won Non-Fiction Book of the Year at the 2014 National Book Awards. She lives in Cornwall with her partner and two children. Man at the Helm is her first novel.

Le informazioni nella sezione "Riassunto" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

Book Description:

All hail a book that's funny! (Barbara Trapido)

I can't remember a book that made me laugh more . . . At times [it] reminded me of Dodie Smith's I Capture the Castle. Man at the Helm is a winner - It even trumps Love, Nina ( Observer)

[A] joyous read, full of wit and charm . . . I am already longing for Nina Stibbe's next book ( Express)

A wicked anatomising of a dysfunctional family . . . Buoyantly comic: farcical yet tender; rude with a forgiving sweetness ( Spectator)

Nine-year-old Lizzie (our narrator) is the perfect conduit for her creator, just the right mixture of childhood innocence and incredulity for the necessary deadpan delivery of Stibbe's particular brand of comedy. Read it and be charmed ( Independent)

Fantastic. Comical, moving and brilliantly evocative of British childhood ( Glamour)

A beguilingly comic blend of naivety and precociousness ( Sunday Times)

Within a few pages I was completely caught up in the lives of Lizzie and her family . . . I couldn't have loved it more (Lisa Jewell)

This book is very, very funny. Stibbe has a fine eye for absurdity, and her writing has an unforced charm. [And] there is real darkness here, which makes the humour shimmer all the more ( Independent on Sunday)

C onvincingly childlike but also confidently witty . . . Stibbe's feat is to remain unsentimentally barbed while subtly and triumphantly demonstrating the value of the kind of understated love found within the strangest and least obviously functional families ( Daily Telegraph)

Fans of Love, Nina will not be disappointed. Amusing, the writing is never less than accomplished ( Daily Mail)

I realised I would always love this book . . . it's a comedy classic. if you loved I Capture the Castle you will love this . . . In Stibbe's hands I laughed hard, page after page. Brisk, ruthless, understated, English comedy gold ( The Times)

Stibbe's talent for comic understatement is given a wonderful airing here . . . Man at the Helm is an unusual and deft work. In Stibbe, Leicester has produced a fine chronicler of the comedic potential of provincial English life and its sometimes baffling mores ( Financial Times)

One of 2013's most acclaimed debuts was the hilarious Love, Nina, letters Nina wrote while working as a nanny . . . Man at the Helm shares their sense of period and comedy ( Metro)

Man at the Helm presents us with a family up close, in all its absurdity, particularity and intensely felt drama. Stibbe scores many hits with this undoubtedly funny setup: her ear for off-kilter dialogue is as brilliantly tuned as it was in Love, Nina; and she is a maestro of bathos, continually undercutting vivid gaiety with moments of horrible sadness. ( Guardian)

Highly entertaining . . . A real delight ( Mail on Sunday)

Stibbe's deadpan tone and sharp eye for detail are given even more chance to shine. The genuis touch is Lizzie's voice: her observations feel as age-appropriate as they are idiosyncratic and as heartbreaking as they are hilarious ( Stylist)

Riveting and laugh-out-loud hilarious ( Look)

Wonderfully funny and sparky. We loved it ( Bella)

Delightful. Full of wit and warmth ( Prima)

It's hard to imagine a more uniquely, charmingly and hilariously dysfunctional bunch . . . a deeply affectionate hymn to the sheer insanity of family life ( The Lady)

Man at the Helm has understandably drawn comparisons to Dodie Smith's I Capture the Castle, another thoroughly charming British novel of domestic life narrated by a young girl. More than 65 years after it was published, Ms. Smith's book still enchants a sizable cult of readers. Ms. Stibbe's novel is made of the same timeless material, making it easy to imagine that it will enjoy just as long a life ( New York Times)

Le informazioni nella sezione "Su questo libro" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

I migliori risultati di ricerca su AbeBooks

1.

Stibbe, Nina
Editore: Viking (2014)
ISBN 10: 0241003156 ISBN 13: 9780241003152
Nuovi Rilegato Quantità: 1
Da
Swan Books
(Essex, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Viking, 2014. Hardback. Condizione libro: New. Not long after her parents' separation, heralded by an awkward scene involving a wet Daily Telegraph and a pan of cold eggs, nine-year-old Lizzie Vogel, her sister and little brother and their divorced mother are packed off to a small, slightly hostile village in the English countryside. Codice libro della libreria 023819

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 15,85
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 17,77
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

2.

Stibbe, Nina
Editore: Viking (2014)
ISBN 10: 0241003156 ISBN 13: 9780241003152
Nuovi Rilegato Quantità: 1
Da
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Viking, 2014. Hardcover. Condizione libro: Brand New. 320 pages. In Stock. Codice libro della libreria zk0241003156

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 26,60
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 7,11
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

3.

Stibbe, Nina
Editore: Viking (2014)
ISBN 10: 0241003156 ISBN 13: 9780241003152
Nuovi Rilegato Quantità: 1
Da
OceanwaveBooks
(Manhattan Beach, CA, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Viking, 2014. Hardcover. Condizione libro: New. New Condition. Clean crisp tight copy, no marks or tears. Email Notification. Satisfaction Guaranteed. Codice libro della libreria ppl1603136166

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 35,30
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,76
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

4.

Stibbe, Nina
Editore: Viking (2014)
ISBN 10: 0241003156 ISBN 13: 9780241003152
Nuovi Rilegato Prima edizione copia autogr. Quantità: 1
Da
Setanta Books PBFA
(richmond, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Viking, 2014. Hardcover. Condizione libro: New. Condizione sovraccoperta: New. 1st Edition. First edition first impression in new condition, flat signed by author to title page, no markings, this is a brand new book, please see pics, jacket in removable protective sleeve, paypal accepted, any questions please get in touch. Signed by Author(s). Codice libro della libreria ABE-13947623024

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 31,73
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 12,44
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

5.

Stibbe, Nina
ISBN 10: 0241003156 ISBN 13: 9780241003152
Nuovi Quantità: 1
Da
AussieBookSeller
(SILVERWATER, NSW, Australia)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro 2014. Condizione libro: New. 135mm x 205mm x 29mm. Nominated For The 2014 National Book Awards Audiobook Of The Year. Man at the Helm, the debut novel from Nina Stibbe - the much-loved author of Love, Nina - is a wildly comic, brilliantl.Shipping may be from our Sydney, NSW warehouse or from our UK or US warehouse, depending on stock availability. 320 pages. 0.577. Codice libro della libreria 9780241003152

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 23,14
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 26,36
Da: Australia a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

6.

Stibbe, Nina
Editore: Viking (2014)
ISBN 10: 0241003156 ISBN 13: 9780241003152
Nuovi Rilegato Quantità: 1
Da
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Viking, 2014. Hardcover. Condizione libro: New. book. Codice libro della libreria 0241003156

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 53,73
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi