Eavesdropping on Jane Austen's England: How our ancestors lived two centuries ago

Valutazione media 3,73
( su 985 valutazioni fornite da Goodreads )
 
9780349138602: Eavesdropping on Jane Austen's England: How our ancestors lived two centuries ago

Eavesdropping on Jane Austens England

Le informazioni nella sezione "Riassunto" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

About the Author:

Roy and Lesley Adkins are husband-and-wife historians and archaeologists, the bestselling authors of eighteen widely acclaimed books on social and naval history, archaeology, ancient Rome, ancient Greece and Egyptology. Their books include Jack Tar, Trafalgar, The War for All the Oceans, Empires of the Plain and The Keys of Egypt and have so far been translated into seventeen languages worldwide. Roy and Lesley Adkins are elected Fellows of the Society of Antiquaries of London and Members of the Institute for Archaeologists. For further information about them and their books, see their website www.adkinshistory.com.

Review:

For fans of Austen and English history, a deeply informative picture of Regency life * Kirkus Reviews * This encyclopedic and entertaining volume will suit readers who daydream about going back in time to walk alongside literary figures such as Austen ... While familiarity with her work will surely enhance reader delight, knowledge of the primary sources isn't necessary ... readers will appreciate its exciting sweep * Publishers Weekly * The authors provide a fascinating view of daily life in Britain during the late Georgian and Regency eras ... an excellent read, with each chapter offering a treasury of insights into the lives of Austen's contemporaries, both rich and poor -- Carmela Ciuraru * USA Today * Jane Austen's England provides a richly detailed portrait ... As this immensely useful and informative book makes clear, Regency England was no laughing matter -- Jonathan Yardley * Washington Post * a comprehensive survey of daily life in the time of Jane Austen, full of nuggets of surprising information ... a fine book for browsing -- Peter Lewis * Daily Mail * In reconstructing the lives of ordinary people in Georgian England, Roy and Lesley Adkins vividly evoke the ways in which wealth and poverty coexisted ... This excellent book reminds us that Georgian England was as remote and alien to a modern sensibility as the Roman Empire -- Nick Rennison * Sunday Times * A lively and impressionistic guide to the age, enjoyable for those entirely new to the subject, but also for the better informed, who will not only discover new facts in its wealth of material, but appreciate the immediacy and flavour of its eye-witness accounts -- Rosemary Goring * Sunday Herald * Scholarly but accessible . . . a must for anyone who wants a peek under Mr Darcy's wet shirt * Daily Mail *

Le informazioni nella sezione "Su questo libro" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

I migliori risultati di ricerca su AbeBooks

1.

Roy A. Adkins, Lesley Adkins
Editore: Little, Brown Book Group, United Kingdom (2014)
ISBN 10: 0349138605 ISBN 13: 9780349138602
Nuovi Paperback Quantità: 10
Da
The Book Depository
(London, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Little, Brown Book Group, United Kingdom, 2014. Paperback. Condizione libro: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Eavesdropping on Jane Austen s England explores the real England of Jane Austen s lifetime. It was a troubled period, with disturbing changes in industry and agriculture and a constant dread of invasion and revolution. The comfortable, tranquil country of her fiction is a complete contrast to the England in which she actually lived. From forced marriages and the sale of wives in marketplaces to boys and girls working down mines or as chimney sweeps, this enthralling social history reveals how our ancestors worked, played and struggled to survive. Taking in the horror of ghosts and witches, bull baiting, highwaymen and the stench of corpses swinging on roadside gibbets, this book is a must-read for anyone wanting to discover the genuine story of Jane Austen s England and the background to her novels. Codice libro della libreria AA29780349138602

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 9,08
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

2.

Adkins, Roy;adkins, Lesley
ISBN 10: 0349138605 ISBN 13: 9780349138602
Nuovi Quantità: 5
Da
GreatBookPrices
(Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Condizione libro: New. Codice libro della libreria 20344257-n

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 9,16
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 2,21
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

3.

Roy A. Adkins, Lesley Adkins
Editore: Little, Brown Book Group, United Kingdom (2014)
ISBN 10: 0349138605 ISBN 13: 9780349138602
Nuovi Paperback Quantità: 10
Da
The Book Depository US
(London, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Little, Brown Book Group, United Kingdom, 2014. Paperback. Condizione libro: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Eavesdropping on Jane Austen s England explores the real England of Jane Austen s lifetime. It was a troubled period, with disturbing changes in industry and agriculture and a constant dread of invasion and revolution. The comfortable, tranquil country of her fiction is a complete contrast to the England in which she actually lived. From forced marriages and the sale of wives in marketplaces to boys and girls working down mines or as chimney sweeps, this enthralling social history reveals how our ancestors worked, played and struggled to survive. Taking in the horror of ghosts and witches, bull baiting, highwaymen and the stench of corpses swinging on roadside gibbets, this book is a must-read for anyone wanting to discover the genuine story of Jane Austen s England and the background to her novels. Codice libro della libreria AA29780349138602

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 11,45
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

4.

Roy & Lesley Adkins
Editore: Abacus 2014-05-01 (2014)
ISBN 10: 0349138605 ISBN 13: 9780349138602
Nuovi Quantità: 5
Da
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Abacus 2014-05-01, 2014. Condizione libro: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatch time is 24-48 hours from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Codice libro della libreria NU-GRD-05094588

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 8,57
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,39
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

5.

Adkins, Roy & Lesley
Editore: Abacus (2014)
ISBN 10: 0349138605 ISBN 13: 9780349138602
Nuovi Brossura Quantità: 13
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Abacus, 2014. Condizione libro: New. A revealing, spirited and fascinating account of what life was really like in Jane Austen's England. Num Pages: 448 pages, Illustrations (black and white), maps (black and white). BIC Classification: 1DBKE; 3JF; 3JH; HBJD1; HBLL. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 198 x 128 x 29. Weight in Grams: 366. . 2014. Paperback. . . . . . Codice libro della libreria V9780349138602

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 13,65
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
Da: Irlanda a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

6.

Adkins, Roy & Lesley
Editore: Abacus (2014)
ISBN 10: 0349138605 ISBN 13: 9780349138602
Nuovi Paperback Quantità: 6
Da
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Abacus, 2014. Paperback. Condizione libro: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Codice libro della libreria mon0001189975

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 11,60
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 2,25
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

7.

Roy & Lesley Adkins
Editore: Abacus (2014)
ISBN 10: 0349138605 ISBN 13: 9780349138602
Nuovi Brossura Quantità: 1
Da
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Abacus, 2014. Condizione libro: New. Codice libro della libreria GH9780349138602

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 10,92
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 2,99
Da: Germania a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

8.

Adkins, Roy & Lesley
Editore: Abacus
ISBN 10: 0349138605 ISBN 13: 9780349138602
Nuovi Brossura Quantità: 13
Da
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Abacus. Condizione libro: New. A revealing, spirited and fascinating account of what life was really like in Jane Austen's England. Num Pages: 448 pages, Illustrations (black and white), maps (black and white). BIC Classification: 1DBKE; 3JF; 3JH; HBJD1; HBLL. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 198 x 128 x 29. Weight in Grams: 366. . 2014. Paperback. . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Codice libro della libreria V9780349138602

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 14,40
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

9.

Roy & Lesley Adkins
Editore: Abacus
ISBN 10: 0349138605 ISBN 13: 9780349138602
Nuovi Paperback Quantità: 5
Da
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Abacus. Paperback. Condizione libro: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. Codice libro della libreria B9780349138602

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 8,03
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 7,86
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

10.

Adkins Lesley Adkins Roy
Editore: Little, Brown and Company
ISBN 10: 0349138605 ISBN 13: 9780349138602
Nuovi Quantità: 3
Da
Majestic Books
(London, ,, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Little, Brown and Company. Condizione libro: New. pp. 448. Codice libro della libreria 94873364

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 9,68
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 6,23
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

Vedi altre copie di questo libro

Vedi tutti i risultati per questo libro