Ian Tregillis The Mechanical (Alchemy Wars)

ISBN 13: 9780356502328

The Mechanical (Alchemy Wars)

Valutazione media 3,98
( su 4.253 valutazioni fornite da Goodreads )
 
9780356502328: The Mechanical (Alchemy Wars)

My name is Jax. That is the name granted to me by my human masters. I am a slave. But I shall be free. Set in a world that might have been, of mechanical men and alchemical dreams, the new novel from Ian Tregillis confirms his place as one of the most original new voices in speculative fiction. PRAISE FOR IAN TREGILLIS 'A major new talent' GEORGE R. R. MARTIN 'Tremendous' Cory Doctorow 'Addictively brilliant' i09 'Exciting and intense' Publishers Weekly 'Eloquent and utterly compelling' Kirkus

Le informazioni nella sezione "Riassunto" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

About the Author:

Ian Tregillis is the son of a bearded mountebank and a discredited tarot card reader. He was born and raised in Minnesota, where his parents had landed after fleeing the wrath of a Flemish prince. (The full story, he's told, involves a Dutch tramp steamer and a stolen horse.) Nowadays he lives in New Mexico, where he consorts with writers, scientists and other unsavoury types.

Review:

The first thing readers will say after finishing this splendid book is: "Wow." The second thing will probably be: "When can I read the next one? ... This is a rousing SF/fantasy adventure, with a brilliantly imagined and beautifully rendered alternate world BOOKLIST One of the sharpest, most intelligent, hugely compelling works I've read this year, and I cannot wait to see where Tregillis takes this series next Forbidden Planet International Tregillis launches a series with this superb alternate history filled with clockwork men and ethical questions on the nature of free will ... Tregillis's complex setting is elegantly delivered, and the rich characters and gripping story really make this tale soar Publishers Weekly A hugely entertaining novel SFX A multi-layered literary confection ... tight and well constructed, and an absolute pleasure to read ... absolutely fascinating, and unapologetically clever Sci-Fi and Fantasy Reviews Tregillis presents a fascinating look at the nature of free will and the existence of the soul, wrapped up in an absolutely thrilling adventure story. Jax is an amazing, sympathetic character, and the world of the clockmakers and their slaves is so absorbing that readers will be dying for the next entry in this new series Library Journal With The Mechanical Tregillis displays the craftsmanship and precision of a master clockmaker ... [He] skilfully portrays characters that are as compelling and sympathetic as they are flawed and conflicted ... I would recommend The Mechanical to any reader with an interest in well-written and engaging fantasy story set in an elegantly constructed alternate history SFFworld His characters are as convincing as ever, the plotting is beautifully articulated ... readers with an interest in dark, intelligent fantasy will find much to admire here KIRKUS In the tradition of Isaac Asimov, Tregillis's latest novel combines classic robotics with historical fiction to riveting ends ... The story manages to posit broad questions, such as how one defines humanity and free will, without coming across as sanctimonious or treacly. It's also just plain exciting, with intense fight scenes and exhilarating narrow escapes. Readers will no doubt be rooting for the 'rogue' robots. RT Book Reviews Tregillis never fails to impress, and his writing and stories seem to be getting better with each novel. This book is truly unlike anything I've ever read before, and it's my favorite work of his to date. I can't wait to see what the next installment in The Alchemy Wars will bring. BIBLIOSANCTUM The Mechanical is as intricate and exquisite as the clockwork wonders it brings to life NPR A fascinating world ScifiNow

Le informazioni nella sezione "Su questo libro" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

I migliori risultati di ricerca su AbeBooks

1.

Ian Tregillis
Editore: Little, Brown Book Group, United Kingdom (2015)
ISBN 10: 0356502325 ISBN 13: 9780356502328
Nuovi Paperback Quantità: 10
Da
The Book Depository
(London, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Little, Brown Book Group, United Kingdom, 2015. Paperback. Condizione libro: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. My name is Jax. That is the name granted to me by my human masters. I am a slave. But I shall be free. Set in a world that might have been, of mechanical men and alchemical dreams, the new novel from Ian Tregillis confirms his place as one of the most original new voices in speculative fiction. PRAISE FOR IAN TREGILLIS A major new talent GEORGE R. R. MARTIN Tremendous Cory Doctorow Addictively brilliant i09 Exciting and intense Publishers Weekly Eloquent and utterly compelling Kirkus. Codice libro della libreria AA29780356502328

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 9,25
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

2.

Ian Tregillis
Editore: Little, Brown Book Group, United Kingdom (2015)
ISBN 10: 0356502325 ISBN 13: 9780356502328
Nuovi Paperback Quantità: 10
Da
The Book Depository US
(London, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Little, Brown Book Group, United Kingdom, 2015. Paperback. Condizione libro: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. My name is Jax. That is the name granted to me by my human masters. I am a slave. But I shall be free. Set in a world that might have been, of mechanical men and alchemical dreams, the new novel from Ian Tregillis confirms his place as one of the most original new voices in speculative fiction. PRAISE FOR IAN TREGILLIS A major new talent GEORGE R. R. MARTIN Tremendous Cory Doctorow Addictively brilliant i09 Exciting and intense Publishers Weekly Eloquent and utterly compelling Kirkus. Codice libro della libreria AA29780356502328

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 10,32
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

3.

Ian Tregillis
ISBN 10: 0356502325 ISBN 13: 9780356502328
Nuovi Quantità: 17
Da
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Condizione libro: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Codice libro della libreria 97803565023280000000

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 10,33
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

4.

Ian Tregillis
Editore: Orbit 2015-03-12 (2015)
ISBN 10: 0356502325 ISBN 13: 9780356502328
Nuovi Paperback Quantità: 5
Da
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Orbit 2015-03-12, 2015. Paperback. Condizione libro: New. Codice libro della libreria NU-GRD-05175291

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 7,15
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,33
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

5.

Tregillis, Ian
Editore: Orbit (2015)
ISBN 10: 0356502325 ISBN 13: 9780356502328
Nuovi Paperback Quantità: 18
Da
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Orbit, 2015. Paperback. Condizione libro: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Codice libro della libreria mon0001750247

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 9,56
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 1,06
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

6.

Tregillis, Ian
Editore: Orbit (2015)
ISBN 10: 0356502325 ISBN 13: 9780356502328
Nuovi Brossura Quantità: 17
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Orbit, 2015. Condizione libro: New. A novel of extraordinary vision, both heart-breaking and thrilling, from one of the most extraordinary new voices in speculative fiction Series: Alchemy Wars. Num Pages: 480 pages. BIC Classification: FM. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 200 x 126 x 32. Weight in Grams: 334. . 2015. Paperback. . . . . . Codice libro della libreria V9780356502328

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 12,16
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
Da: Irlanda a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

7.

Tregillis, Ian
Editore: Orbit
ISBN 10: 0356502325 ISBN 13: 9780356502328
Nuovi Brossura Quantità: 17
Da
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Orbit. Condizione libro: New. A novel of extraordinary vision, both heart-breaking and thrilling, from one of the most extraordinary new voices in speculative fiction Series: Alchemy Wars. Num Pages: 480 pages. BIC Classification: FM. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 200 x 126 x 32. Weight in Grams: 334. . 2015. Paperback. . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Codice libro della libreria V9780356502328

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 12,22
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

8.

Ian Tregillis
Editore: Orbit (2015)
ISBN 10: 0356502325 ISBN 13: 9780356502328
Nuovi Brossura Quantità: 3
Da
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Orbit, 2015. Condizione libro: New. Codice libro della libreria GH9780356502328

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 8,74
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,99
Da: Germania a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

9.

Ian Tregillis
Editore: Little, Brown 2015-03-12, London (2015)
ISBN 10: 0356502325 ISBN 13: 9780356502328
Nuovi paperback Quantità: 5
Da
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Little, Brown 2015-03-12, London, 2015. paperback. Condizione libro: New. Codice libro della libreria 9780356502328

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 9,71
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,34
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

10.

Ian Tregillis
Editore: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN 10: 0356502325 ISBN 13: 9780356502328
Nuovi Paperback Quantità: 1
Da
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Little, Brown Book Group. Paperback. Condizione libro: new. BRAND NEW, The Mechanical, Ian Tregillis, My name is Jax. That is the name granted to me by my human masters. I am a slave. But I shall be free. Set in a world that might have been, of mechanical men and alchemical dreams, the new novel from Ian Tregillis confirms his place as one of the most original new voices in speculative fiction. PRAISE FOR IAN TREGILLIS 'A major new talent' GEORGE R. R. MARTIN 'Tremendous' Cory Doctorow 'Addictively brilliant' i09 'Exciting and intense' Publishers Weekly 'Eloquent and utterly compelling' Kirkus. Codice libro della libreria B9780356502328

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 6,11
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 7,74
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

Vedi altre copie di questo libro

Vedi tutti i risultati per questo libro