Loh, Vyvyane Breaking The Tongue

ISBN 13: 9780393326543

Breaking The Tongue

Valutazione media 3,7
( su 278 valutazioni fornite da GoodReads )
 
9780393326543: Breaking The Tongue

"This masterly novel is not only bold and challenging but also beautifully written. The reader will be left breathless by the ending."-Library Journal "A moving accomplishment."-Publishers Weekly, starred review "Vyvyane Loh's richly ambitious narrative weaves the personal and the political into an unforgettable novel."-Claire Messud "In the tradition of Rushdie or Ondaatje, this is one of the most accomplished first novels I've ever seen."-Andrea Barrett "A revelatory book that is both novel and history, written with splendid and intelligent humanity."-Shirley Hazzard, author of The Great Fire This brilliant novel chronicles the fall of Singapore to the Japanese in World War II. Central to the story is one Chinese family: Claude, raised to be more British than the British and ashamed of his own heritage; his father, Humphrey, whose Anglophilia blinds him to possible defeat and his wife's dalliances; and the redoubtable Grandma Siok, whose sage advice falls on deaf ears. Expatriates, spies, fifth columnists, and nationalists-including the elusive young woman Ling-Li-mingle in this exotic culture as the Japanese threat looms. Beset by the horror of war and betrayal and, finally, torture, Claude must embrace his true heritage. In the extraordinary final paragraphs of the novel, the language itself breaks into Chinese. With penetrating observation, Vyvyane Loh unfolds the coming-of-age story of a young man and a nation, a story that deals with myth, race, and class, with the ways language shapes perceptions, and with the intrigue and suffering of war. Reading group guide included.

Le informazioni nella sezione "Riassunto" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

I migliori risultati di ricerca su AbeBooks

1.

Loh, Vyvyane
ISBN 10: 0393326543 ISBN 13: 9780393326543
Nuovi Paperback Quantità: 8
Da
Big River Books
(Powder Springs, GA, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Paperback. Condizione libro: New. Brand New! We ship daily Monday - Friday!. Codice libro della libreria 1EY82M002U6H

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 2,90
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,27
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

2.

Loh, Vyvyane
Editore: WW Norton Publishers
ISBN 10: 0393326543 ISBN 13: 9780393326543
Nuovi Quantità: > 20
Da
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro WW Norton Publishers. Condizione libro: New. Brand New. Codice libro della libreria 0393326543

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 8,39
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,28
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

3.

Loh, Vyvyane
Editore: W. W. Norton & Company (2005)
ISBN 10: 0393326543 ISBN 13: 9780393326543
Nuovi Brossura Quantità: 1
Da
Book Deals
(Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro W. W. Norton & Company, 2005. Condizione libro: New. Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service! Summary: "Dramatic.One of the most ambitious and accomplished debut novels in recent memory."--Kirkus Reviews, starred review. Codice libro della libreria ABE_book_new_0393326543

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 11,75
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

4.

Loh, Vyvyane
Editore: W. W. Norton & Company
ISBN 10: 0393326543 ISBN 13: 9780393326543
Nuovi PAPERBACK Quantità: > 20
Da
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro W. W. Norton & Company. PAPERBACK. Condizione libro: New. 0393326543 *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Codice libro della libreria SWATI2122240620

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 8,60
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,74
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

5.

Loh, Vyvyane
Editore: W. W. Norton & Company (2005)
ISBN 10: 0393326543 ISBN 13: 9780393326543
Nuovi Paperback Quantità: 1
Da
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro W. W. Norton & Company, 2005. Paperback. Condizione libro: New. Reprint. Codice libro della libreria DADAX0393326543

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 10,61
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,74
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

6.

Loh, Vyvyane
Editore: WW Norton Co, United States (2005)
ISBN 10: 0393326543 ISBN 13: 9780393326543
Nuovi Paperback Quantità: 10
Da
The Book Depository US
(London, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro WW Norton Co, United States, 2005. Paperback. Condizione libro: New. Reprint. 206 x 140 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. This masterly novel is not only bold and challenging but also beautifully written. The reader will be left breathless by the ending. -Library Journal A moving accomplishment. -Publishers Weekly, starred review Vyvyane Loh s richly ambitious narrative weaves the personal and the political into an unforgettable novel. -Claire Messud In the tradition of Rushdie or Ondaatje, this is one of the most accomplished first novels I ve ever seen. -Andrea Barrett A revelatory book that is both novel and history, written with splendid and intelligent humanity. -Shirley Hazzard, author of The Great Fire This brilliant novel chronicles the fall of Singapore to the Japanese in World War II. Central to the story is one Chinese family: Claude, raised to be more British than the British and ashamed of his own heritage; his father, Humphrey, whose Anglophilia blinds him to possible defeat and his wife s dalliances; and the redoubtable Grandma Siok, whose sage advice falls on deaf ears. Expatriates, spies, fifth columnists, and nationalists-including the elusive young woman Ling-Li-mingle in this exotic culture as the Japanese threat looms. Beset by the horror of war and betrayal and, finally, torture, Claude must embrace his true heritage. In the extraordinary final paragraphs of the novel, the language itself breaks into Chinese. With penetrating observation, Vyvyane Loh unfolds the coming-of-age story of a young man and a nation, a story that deals with myth, race, and class, with the ways language shapes perceptions, and with the intrigue and suffering of war. Reading group guide included. Codice libro della libreria BZV9780393326543

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 15,02
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

7.

Loh, Vyvyane
ISBN 10: 0393326543 ISBN 13: 9780393326543
Nuovi Paperback Quantità: 1
Da
LIMEROCK BOOKS INC.
(NEW CANAAN, CT, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Paperback. Condizione libro: New. This Book is in Good Condition; Customer Satisfaction Comes First.Delivery Time 4-12 days. 100% Money back Guaranteed!!!. Codice libro della libreria 0393326543

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 19,31
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,74
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

8.

Loh, Vyvyane
Editore: W. W. Norton & Company (2005)
ISBN 10: 0393326543 ISBN 13: 9780393326543
Nuovi Paperback Quantità: 1
Da
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro W. W. Norton & Company, 2005. Paperback. Condizione libro: New. book. Codice libro della libreria 0393326543

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 27,00
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

9.

Loh, Vyvyane
Editore: W W Norton & Co Inc (2005)
ISBN 10: 0393326543 ISBN 13: 9780393326543
Nuovi Paperback Quantità: 1
Da
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro W W Norton & Co Inc, 2005. Paperback. Condizione libro: Brand New. reprint edition. 495 pages. 8.25x5.50x1.25 inches. In Stock. Codice libro della libreria zk0393326543

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 23,28
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 7,16
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

10.

Loh, Vyvyane
Editore: W. W. Norton & Company (2005)
ISBN 10: 0393326543 ISBN 13: 9780393326543
Nuovi Paperback Quantità: 3
Da
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro W. W. Norton & Company, 2005. Paperback. Condizione libro: New. Codice libro della libreria P110393326543

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 43,90
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 2,80
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi