The Art of Cruelty: A Reckoning

Valutazione media 4,27
( su 1.086 valutazioni fornite da Goodreads )
 
9780393343144: The Art of Cruelty: A Reckoning

“This is criticism at its best.”―Carolyn Kellogg, Los Angeles Times

Writing in the tradition of Susan Sontag and Elaine Scarry, Maggie Nelson has emerged as one of our foremost cultural critics with this landmark work about representations of cruelty and violence in art. From Sylvia Plath’s poetry to Francis Bacon’s paintings, from the Saw franchise to Yoko Ono’s performance art, Nelson’s nuanced exploration across the artistic landscape ultimately offers a model of how one might balance strong ethical convictions with an equally strong appreciation for work that tests the limits of taste, taboo, and permissibility.

Le informazioni nella sezione "Riassunto" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

About the Author:

Maggie Nelson, a MacArthur Fellowship recipient, is the author of several books of poetry, autobiography, and criticism. She teaches at CalArts and lives in Los Angeles, California.

Review:

“An important and frequently surprising book... could be read as the foundation for a post-avant-garde aesthetics... Nelson, who is also a poet, is such a graceful writer that I...just sat back and enjoyed the show.”
- Laura Kipnis, New York Times Book Review

“[Nelson’s] critiques of individual artists are delightfully fierce without being mean spirited... Fascinating and bracingly intelligent...The Art of Cruelty’s prose is often gorgeous.”
- Troy Jollimore, Boston Globe

“A lean-forward experience, and in its most transcendent moments, reading it can feel like having the best conversation of your life.”
- Rachel Syme, NPR Books

“I hope that critics, and aspiring critics, and those who are interested in the relationship between art and ethics, read [The Art of Cruelty].”
- Susie Linfield, New Republic

Le informazioni nella sezione "Su questo libro" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

I migliori risultati di ricerca su AbeBooks

1.

Nelson, Maggie
ISBN 10: 0393343146 ISBN 13: 9780393343144
Nuovi Quantità: 5
Da
GreatBookPrices
(Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Condizione libro: New. Codice libro della libreria 17846312-n

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 9,16
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 2,24
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

2.

Maggie Nelson
Editore: WW Norton Co, United States (2012)
ISBN 10: 0393343146 ISBN 13: 9780393343144
Nuovi Paperback Quantità: 1
Da
The Book Depository US
(London, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro WW Norton Co, United States, 2012. Paperback. Condizione libro: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. Writing in the tradition of Susan Sontag and Elaine Scarry, Maggie Nelson has emerged as one of our foremost cultural critics with this landmark work about representations of cruelty and violence in art. From Sylvia Plath s poetry to Francis Bacon s paintings, from the Saw franchise to Yoko Ono s performance art, Nelson s nuanced exploration across the artistic landscape ultimately offers a model of how one might balance strong ethical convictions with an equally strong appreciation for work that tests the limits of taste, taboo, and permissibility. Codice libro della libreria AAS9780393343144

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 11,48
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

3.

Maggie Nelson
Editore: WW Norton Publishers
ISBN 10: 0393343146 ISBN 13: 9780393343144
Nuovi Quantità: > 20
Da
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro WW Norton Publishers. Condizione libro: New. Brand New. Codice libro della libreria 0393343146

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 8,62
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 2,97
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

4.

Nelson, Maggie
Editore: W. W. Norton & Company (2012)
ISBN 10: 0393343146 ISBN 13: 9780393343144
Nuovi Paperback Quantità: 4
Da
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro W. W. Norton & Company, 2012. Paperback. Condizione libro: New. Never used!. Codice libro della libreria 0393343146

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 10,09
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 1,69
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

5.

Nelson, Maggie
ISBN 10: 0393343146 ISBN 13: 9780393343144
Nuovi Quantità: 2
Da
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro 2012. PAP. Condizione libro: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Codice libro della libreria IB-9780393343144

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 8,50
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,39
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

6.

Nelson, Maggie
Editore: W. W. Norton & Company 8/13/2012 (2012)
ISBN 10: 0393343146 ISBN 13: 9780393343144
Nuovi Paperback or Softback Quantità: 5
Da
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro W. W. Norton & Company 8/13/2012, 2012. Paperback or Softback. Condizione libro: New. The Art of Cruelty: A Reckoning. Book. Codice libro della libreria BBS-9780393343144

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 12,24
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

7.

Maggie Nelson
Editore: WW Norton Co, United States (2012)
ISBN 10: 0393343146 ISBN 13: 9780393343144
Nuovi Paperback Quantità: 1
Da
The Book Depository
(London, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro WW Norton Co, United States, 2012. Paperback. Condizione libro: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. Writing in the tradition of Susan Sontag and Elaine Scarry, Maggie Nelson has emerged as one of our foremost cultural critics with this landmark work about representations of cruelty and violence in art. From Sylvia Plath s poetry to Francis Bacon s paintings, from the Saw franchise to Yoko Ono s performance art, Nelson s nuanced exploration across the artistic landscape ultimately offers a model of how one might balance strong ethical convictions with an equally strong appreciation for work that tests the limits of taste, taboo, and permissibility. Codice libro della libreria AAS9780393343144

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 12,24
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

8.

Maggie Nelson
Editore: WW Norton Co, United States (2012)
ISBN 10: 0393343146 ISBN 13: 9780393343144
Nuovi Paperback Quantità: 10
Da
Book Depository hard to find
(London, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro WW Norton Co, United States, 2012. Paperback. Condizione libro: New. Reprint. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. Writing in the tradition of Susan Sontag and Elaine Scarry, Maggie Nelson has emerged as one of our foremost cultural critics with this landmark work about representations of cruelty and violence in art. From Sylvia Plath s poetry to Francis Bacon s paintings, from the Saw franchise to Yoko Ono s performance art, Nelson s nuanced exploration across the artistic landscape ultimately offers a model of how one might balance strong ethical convictions with an equally strong appreciation for work that tests the limits of taste, taboo, and permissibility. Codice libro della libreria BTE9780393343144

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 12,24
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

9.

Nelson, Maggie
Editore: W. W. Norton & Company (2012)
ISBN 10: 0393343146 ISBN 13: 9780393343144
Nuovi Paperback Quantità: 2
Da
Save With Sam
(North Miami, FL, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro W. W. Norton & Company, 2012. Paperback. Condizione libro: New. Brand New!. Codice libro della libreria 0393343146

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 9,75
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 2,55
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

10.

Nelson, Maggie
Editore: W. W. Norton & Company
ISBN 10: 0393343146 ISBN 13: 9780393343144
Nuovi PAPERBACK Quantità: 1
Da
Booklot COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro W. W. Norton & Company. PAPERBACK. Condizione libro: New. 0393343146. Codice libro della libreria Z0393343146ZN

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 13,44
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

Vedi altre copie di questo libro

Vedi tutti i risultati per questo libro