The Art of Cruelty: A Reckoning

Valutazione media 4,29
( su 1.277 valutazioni fornite da Goodreads )
 
9780393343144: The Art of Cruelty: A Reckoning
Vedi tutte le copie di questo ISBN:
 
 

Maggie Nelson has established herself as one of our foremost cultural critics in this landmark work about representations of violence in art.

“An important and frequently surprising book . . . could be read as the foundation for a post-avant-garde aesthetics. ?. . . Nelson, who is also a poet, is such a graceful writer that ?I . . . just sat back and enjoyed the show.”—Laura Kipnis, New York Times Book Review, front-page review

“[Nelson’s] critiques of individual artists are delightfully fierce without being mean spirited. . . . Fascinating and bracingly intelligent. . . . The Art of Cruelty’s prose is often gorgeous.”—Troy Jollimore, Boston Globe

“A lean-forward experience, and in its most transcendent moments, reading it can feel like having the best conversation of your life.”—Rachel Syme, NPR Books

“I hope that critics, and aspiring critics, and those who are interested in the relationship between art and ethics, read [The Art of Cruelty].”—Susie Linfield, New Republic/The Book

Le informazioni nella sezione "Riassunto" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

Recensione:

"Nelson makes a compelling case for taking a new look at cruelty."

--Patrick Langley, The Times Literary Supplement

"She [Maggie Nelson] performs the feat of writing a very discursive text, meandering around its subject in wide loops and turns, and at the same time producing an incisive and astute consideration, not only of the art of cruelty but of art itself, and our relationship to it as spectators, participants and humans." --Times Higher Education

"An important and frequently surprising book...could be read as the foundation for a post-avant-garde aesthetics."

--The New York Times Book Review

"...full of rigorous thinking on the interplay between art and ethics."

--Exeunt Magazine

"...fascinating and supremely intelligent account.." --The Herald

L'autore:

Maggie Nelson is the author of several books, including her most recent work, Bluets. She teaches at CalArts.

Le informazioni nella sezione "Su questo libro" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

I migliori risultati di ricerca su AbeBooks

1.

Maggie Nelson
Editore: WW Norton Co, United States (2012)
ISBN 10: 0393343146 ISBN 13: 9780393343144
Nuovo Paperback Quantità: 10
Da
The Book Depository
(London, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro WW Norton Co, United States, 2012. Paperback. Condizione: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. Writing in the tradition of Susan Sontag and Elaine Scarry, Maggie Nelson has emerged as one of our foremost cultural critics with this landmark work about representations of cruelty and violence in art. From Sylvia Plath s poetry to Francis Bacon s paintings, from the Saw franchise to Yoko Ono s performance art, Nelson s nuanced exploration across the artistic landscape ultimately offers a model of how one might balance strong ethical convictions with an equally strong appreciation for work that tests the limits of taste, taboo, and permissibility. Codice articolo AAS9780393343144

Informazioni sul venditore | Contattare il venditore

Compra nuovo
EUR 11,94
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 0,57
Da: Regno Unito a: Italia
Destinazione, tempi e costi

2.

Maggie Nelson
Editore: WW Norton Co, United States (2012)
ISBN 10: 0393343146 ISBN 13: 9780393343144
Nuovo Paperback Quantità: 10
Da
Book Depository International
(London, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro WW Norton Co, United States, 2012. Paperback. Condizione: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. Writing in the tradition of Susan Sontag and Elaine Scarry, Maggie Nelson has emerged as one of our foremost cultural critics with this landmark work about representations of cruelty and violence in art. From Sylvia Plath s poetry to Francis Bacon s paintings, from the Saw franchise to Yoko Ono s performance art, Nelson s nuanced exploration across the artistic landscape ultimately offers a model of how one might balance strong ethical convictions with an equally strong appreciation for work that tests the limits of taste, taboo, and permissibility. Codice articolo AAS9780393343144

Informazioni sul venditore | Contattare il venditore

Compra nuovo
EUR 12,00
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 0,57
Da: Regno Unito a: Italia
Destinazione, tempi e costi

3.

Maggie Nelson
ISBN 10: 0393343146 ISBN 13: 9780393343144
Nuovo Quantità: > 20
Da
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Condizione: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Codice articolo 97803933431440000000

Informazioni sul venditore | Contattare il venditore

Compra nuovo
EUR 14,14
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
Da: U.S.A. a: Italia
Destinazione, tempi e costi

4.

Maggie Nelson
Editore: WW Norton & Co
ISBN 10: 0393343146 ISBN 13: 9780393343144
Nuovo Paperback Quantità: 9
Da
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro WW Norton & Co. Paperback. Condizione: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. Codice articolo B9780393343144

Informazioni sul venditore | Contattare il venditore

Compra nuovo
EUR 9,02
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 6,80
Da: Regno Unito a: Italia
Destinazione, tempi e costi

5.

Maggie Nelson
Editore: W.W. Norton & Company. Inc.
ISBN 10: 0393343146 ISBN 13: 9780393343144
Nuovo Quantità: 3
Da
Majestic Books
(London, ,, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro W.W. Norton & Company. Inc. Condizione: New. pp. 288. Codice articolo 96457803

Informazioni sul venditore | Contattare il venditore

Compra nuovo
EUR 11,40
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 4,69
Da: Regno Unito a: Italia
Destinazione, tempi e costi

6.

Maggie Nelson
Editore: W.W. Norton & Company 2012-09-18, New York (2012)
ISBN 10: 0393343146 ISBN 13: 9780393343144
Nuovo paperback Quantità: > 20
Da
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro W.W. Norton & Company 2012-09-18, New York, 2012. paperback. Condizione: New. Codice articolo 9780393343144

Informazioni sul venditore | Contattare il venditore

Compra nuovo
EUR 11,77
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 4,57
Da: Regno Unito a: Italia
Destinazione, tempi e costi

7.

Nelson, Maggie
Editore: W. W. Norton & Company (2012)
ISBN 10: 0393343146 ISBN 13: 9780393343144
Nuovo Brossura Prima edizione Quantità: 6
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro W. W. Norton & Company, 2012. Condizione: New. 2012. 1st Edition. Paperback. "A vibrant and engaged work from a writer and thinker who is worthy of our attention."-Carolyn Kellogg, Los Angeles Times Num Pages: 304 pages. BIC Classification: ABA. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 210 x 140 x 19. Weight in Grams: 314. . . . . . . Codice articolo V9780393343144

Informazioni sul venditore | Contattare il venditore

Compra nuovo
EUR 18,20
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
Da: Irlanda a: Italia
Destinazione, tempi e costi

8.

Maggie Nelson
Editore: W W Norton & Co (2012)
ISBN 10: 0393343146 ISBN 13: 9780393343144
Nuovo Brossura Quantità: 1
Da
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro W W Norton & Co, 2012. Condizione: New. Codice articolo TH9780393343144

Informazioni sul venditore | Contattare il venditore

Compra nuovo
EUR 12,90
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 5,99
Da: Germania a: Italia
Destinazione, tempi e costi

9.

Nelson, Maggie
Editore: W. W. Norton & Company 8/13/2012 (2012)
ISBN 10: 0393343146 ISBN 13: 9780393343144
Nuovo Paperback or Softback Quantità: 5
Da
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro W. W. Norton & Company 8/13/2012, 2012. Paperback or Softback. Condizione: New. The Art of Cruelty: A Reckoning. Book. Codice articolo BBS-9780393343144

Informazioni sul venditore | Contattare il venditore

Compra nuovo
EUR 12,09
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 6,95
Da: U.S.A. a: Italia
Destinazione, tempi e costi

10.

Nelson, Maggie
ISBN 10: 0393343146 ISBN 13: 9780393343144
Nuovo Quantità: > 20
Da
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro 2012. PAP. Condizione: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Codice articolo KB-9780393343144

Informazioni sul venditore | Contattare il venditore

Compra nuovo
EUR 8,19
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 12,26
Da: U.S.A. a: Italia
Destinazione, tempi e costi

Vedi altre copie di questo libro

Vedi tutti i risultati per questo libro