The Art of Cruelty: A Reckoning

Valutazione media 4,26
( su 913 valutazioni fornite da GoodReads )
 
9780393343144: The Art of Cruelty: A Reckoning

Maggie Nelson has established herself as one of our foremost cultural critics in this landmark work about representations of violence in art. "An important and frequently surprising book ...could be read as the foundation for a post-avant-garde aesthetics. ?...Nelson, who is also a poet, is such a graceful writer that ?I ...just sat back and enjoyed the show."-Laura Kipnis, New York Times Book Review, front-page review "[Nelson's] critiques of individual artists are delightfully fierce without being mean spirited...Fascinating and bracingly intelligent...The Art of Cruelty's prose is often gorgeous."-Troy Jollimore, Boston Globe "A lean-forward experience, and in its most transcendent moments, reading it can feel like having the best conversation of your life."-Rachel Syme, NPR Books "I hope that critics, and aspiring critics, and those who are interested in the relationship between art and ethics, read [The Art of Cruelty]."-Susie Linfield, New Republic/The Book

Le informazioni nella sezione "Riassunto" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

Sinossi:

Writing in the tradition of Susan Sontag and Elaine Scarry, Maggie Nelson has emerged as one of our foremost cultural critics with this landmark work about representations of cruelty and violence in art. From Sylvia Plath's poetry to Francis Bacon's paintings, from the Saw franchise to Yoko Ono's performance art, Nelson's nuanced exploration across the artistic landscape ultimately offers a model of how one might balance strong ethical convictions with an equally strong appreciation for work that tests the limits of taste, taboo, and permissibility.

Recensione:

"Nelson makes a compelling case for taking a new look at cruelty."

--Patrick Langley, The Times Literary Supplement

"She [Maggie Nelson] performs the feat of writing a very discursive text, meandering around its subject in wide loops and turns, and at the same time producing an incisive and astute consideration, not only of the art of cruelty but of art itself, and our relationship to it as spectators, participants and humans." --Times Higher Education

"An important and frequently surprising book...could be read as the foundation for a post-avant-garde aesthetics."

--The New York Times Book Review

"...full of rigorous thinking on the interplay between art and ethics."

--Exeunt Magazine

"...fascinating and supremely intelligent account.." --The Herald

Le informazioni nella sezione "Su questo libro" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

I migliori risultati di ricerca su AbeBooks

1.

Nelson, Maggie
ISBN 10: 0393343146 ISBN 13: 9780393343144
Nuovi Quantità: 5
Da
GreatBookPrices
(Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Condizione libro: New. Codice libro della libreria 17846312-n

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 10,03
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 2,46
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

2.

Maggie Nelson
Editore: WW Norton Co, United States (2012)
ISBN 10: 0393343146 ISBN 13: 9780393343144
Nuovi Paperback Quantità: 1
Da
The Book Depository US
(London, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro WW Norton Co, United States, 2012. Paperback. Condizione libro: New. Reprint. 208 x 140 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Writing in the tradition of Susan Sontag and Elaine Scarry, Maggie Nelson has emerged as one of our foremost cultural critics with this landmark work about representations of cruelty and violence in art. From Sylvia Plath s poetry to Francis Bacon s paintings, from the Saw franchise to Yoko Ono s performance art, Nelson s nuanced exploration across the artistic landscape ultimately offers a model of how one might balance strong ethical convictions with an equally strong appreciation for work that tests the limits of taste, taboo, and permissibility. Codice libro della libreria AAS9780393343144

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 12,58
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

3.

Maggie Nelson
Editore: WW Norton Publishers
ISBN 10: 0393343146 ISBN 13: 9780393343144
Nuovi Quantità: > 20
Da
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro WW Norton Publishers. Condizione libro: New. Brand New. Codice libro della libreria 0393343146

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 9,46
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,26
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

4.

Nelson, Maggie
Editore: W. W. Norton & Company
ISBN 10: 0393343146 ISBN 13: 9780393343144
Nuovi PAPERBACK Quantità: > 20
Da
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro W. W. Norton & Company. PAPERBACK. Condizione libro: New. 0393343146 *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Codice libro della libreria SWATI2122237829

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 9,31
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,72
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

5.

Nelson, Maggie
ISBN 10: 0393343146 ISBN 13: 9780393343144
Nuovi Quantità: 2
Da
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro 2012. PAP. Condizione libro: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Codice libro della libreria KB-9780393343144

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 9,34
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,72
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

6.

Maggie Nelson
Editore: WW Norton Co, United States (2012)
ISBN 10: 0393343146 ISBN 13: 9780393343144
Nuovi Paperback Quantità: 10
Da
The Book Depository
(London, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro WW Norton Co, United States, 2012. Paperback. Condizione libro: New. Reprint. 208 x 140 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Writing in the tradition of Susan Sontag and Elaine Scarry, Maggie Nelson has emerged as one of our foremost cultural critics with this landmark work about representations of cruelty and violence in art. From Sylvia Plath s poetry to Francis Bacon s paintings, from the Saw franchise to Yoko Ono s performance art, Nelson s nuanced exploration across the artistic landscape ultimately offers a model of how one might balance strong ethical convictions with an equally strong appreciation for work that tests the limits of taste, taboo, and permissibility. Codice libro della libreria AAS9780393343144

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 13,16
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

7.

Nelson, Maggie
ISBN 10: 0393343146 ISBN 13: 9780393343144
Nuovi Paperback Quantità: 5
Da
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Paperback. Condizione libro: New. Codice libro della libreria 5133045

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 9,67
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,72
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

8.

Nelson, Maggie
ISBN 10: 0393343146 ISBN 13: 9780393343144
Nuovi Softcover Quantità: 3
Da
VNHM SHOP
(Pompano Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Softcover. Condizione libro: New. "This is criticism at its best."—Carolyn Kellogg, Los Angeles Times. Codice libro della libreria 110024879

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 14,13
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

9.

Nelson, Maggie
Editore: W. W. Norton & Company (2012)
ISBN 10: 0393343146 ISBN 13: 9780393343144
Nuovi Paperback Quantità: 9
Da
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro W. W. Norton & Company, 2012. Paperback. Condizione libro: New. Codice libro della libreria 0393343146

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 11,54
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 2,79
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

10.

Maggie Nelson
ISBN 10: 0393343146 ISBN 13: 9780393343144
Nuovi Quantità: > 20
Da
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Condizione libro: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Codice libro della libreria 97803933431440000000

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 14,64
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

Vedi altre copie di questo libro

Vedi tutti i risultati per questo libro