The Art of Cruelty: A Reckoning [Lingua inglese]

Valutazione media 4,28
( su 1.760 valutazioni fornite da Goodreads )
 
9780393343144: The Art of Cruelty: A Reckoning [Lingua inglese]
Vedi tutte le copie di questo ISBN:
 
 

Writing in the tradition of Susan Sontag and Elaine Scarry, Maggie Nelson has emerged as one of our foremost cultural critics with this landmark work about representations of cruelty and violence in art. From Sylvia Plath’s poetry to Francis Bacon’s paintings, from the Saw franchise to Yoko Ono’s performance art, Nelson’s nuanced exploration across the artistic landscape ultimately offers a model of how one might balance strong ethical convictions with an equally strong appreciation for work that tests the limits of taste, taboo, and permissibility.

Le informazioni nella sezione "Riassunto" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

Recensione:

"Nelson makes a compelling case for taking a new look at cruelty."

--Patrick Langley, The Times Literary Supplement

"She [Maggie Nelson] performs the feat of writing a very discursive text, meandering around its subject in wide loops and turns, and at the same time producing an incisive and astute consideration, not only of the art of cruelty but of art itself, and our relationship to it as spectators, participants and humans." --Times Higher Education

"An important and frequently surprising book...could be read as the foundation for a post-avant-garde aesthetics."

--The New York Times Book Review

"...full of rigorous thinking on the interplay between art and ethics."

--Exeunt Magazine

"...fascinating and supremely intelligent account.." --The Herald

L'autore:

Maggie Nelson is the author of several books, including her most recent work, Bluets. She teaches at CalArts.

Le informazioni nella sezione "Su questo libro" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

Altre edizioni note dello stesso titolo

9780393072150: The Art of Cruelty: A Reckoning

Edizione in evidenza

ISBN 10:  0393072150 ISBN 13:  9780393072150
Casa editrice: W W Norton & Co Inc, 2012
Rilegato

I migliori risultati di ricerca su AbeBooks

1.

Nelson, Maggie
ISBN 10: 0393343146 ISBN 13: 9780393343144
Nuovo Quantità: 5
Da
GreatBookPrices
(Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria

Descrizione libro Condizione: New. Codice articolo 17846312-n

Informazioni sul venditore | Contattare il venditore

Compra nuovo
EUR 9,73
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 2,45
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

2.

Nelson, Maggie
Editore: imusti (2012)
ISBN 10: 0393343146 ISBN 13: 9780393343144
Nuovo Paperback Quantità: 1
Da
Book Deals
(Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria

Descrizione libro imusti, 2012. Paperback. Condizione: BRAND NEW. Codice articolo 0393343146_abe_bn

Informazioni sul venditore | Contattare il venditore

Compra nuovo
EUR 13,14
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

3.

Nelson, Maggie
Editore: W. W. Norton & Company
ISBN 10: 0393343146 ISBN 13: 9780393343144
Nuovo Paperback Quantità: 10
Da
booksXpress
(Freehold, NJ, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria

Descrizione libro W. W. Norton & Company. Paperback. Condizione: New. Codice articolo 9780393343144

Informazioni sul venditore | Contattare il venditore

Compra nuovo
EUR 13,18
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

4.

Maggie Nelson
Editore: WW Norton Publishers
ISBN 10: 0393343146 ISBN 13: 9780393343144
Nuovo Quantità: > 20
Da
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria

Descrizione libro WW Norton Publishers. Condizione: New. Brand New. Codice articolo 0393343146

Informazioni sul venditore | Contattare il venditore

Compra nuovo
EUR 9,97
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,34
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

5.

Nelson, Maggie
Editore: W. W. Norton & Company 8/13/2012 (2012)
ISBN 10: 0393343146 ISBN 13: 9780393343144
Nuovo Paperback or Softback Quantità: 5
Da
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria

Descrizione libro W. W. Norton & Company 8/13/2012, 2012. Paperback or Softback. Condizione: New. The Art of Cruelty: A Reckoning. Book. Codice articolo BBS-9780393343144

Informazioni sul venditore | Contattare il venditore

Compra nuovo
EUR 13,36
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

6.

Maggie Nelson
Editore: WW Norton & Co, United States (2012)
ISBN 10: 0393343146 ISBN 13: 9780393343144
Nuovo Paperback Quantità: 10
Da
The Book Depository
(London, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria

Descrizione libro WW Norton & Co, United States, 2012. Paperback. Condizione: New. Reprint. Language: English. Brand new Book. Writing in the tradition of Susan Sontag and Elaine Scarry, Maggie Nelson has emerged as one of our foremost cultural critics with this landmark work about representations of cruelty and violence in art. From Sylvia Plath's poetry to Francis Bacon's paintings, from the Saw franchise to Yoko Ono's performance art, Nelson's nuanced exploration across the artistic landscape ultimately offers a model of how one might balance strong ethical convictions with an equally strong appreciation for work that tests the limits of taste, taboo, and permissibility. Codice articolo AAC9780393343144

Informazioni sul venditore | Contattare il venditore

Compra nuovo
EUR 13,71
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

7.

Maggie Nelson
Editore: WW Norton & Co, United States (2012)
ISBN 10: 0393343146 ISBN 13: 9780393343144
Nuovo Paperback Quantità: 10
Da
Book Depository International
(London, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria

Descrizione libro WW Norton & Co, United States, 2012. Paperback. Condizione: New. Reprint. Language: English. Brand new Book. Writing in the tradition of Susan Sontag and Elaine Scarry, Maggie Nelson has emerged as one of our foremost cultural critics with this landmark work about representations of cruelty and violence in art. From Sylvia Plath's poetry to Francis Bacon's paintings, from the Saw franchise to Yoko Ono's performance art, Nelson's nuanced exploration across the artistic landscape ultimately offers a model of how one might balance strong ethical convictions with an equally strong appreciation for work that tests the limits of taste, taboo, and permissibility. Codice articolo AAC9780393343144

Informazioni sul venditore | Contattare il venditore

Compra nuovo
EUR 13,75
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

8.

Maggie Nelson
Editore: WW Norton & Co, United States (2012)
ISBN 10: 0393343146 ISBN 13: 9780393343144
Nuovo Paperback Quantità: 10
Da
Book Depository hard to find
(London, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria

Descrizione libro WW Norton & Co, United States, 2012. Paperback. Condizione: New. Reprint. Language: English. Brand new Book. Writing in the tradition of Susan Sontag and Elaine Scarry, Maggie Nelson has emerged as one of our foremost cultural critics with this landmark work about representations of cruelty and violence in art. From Sylvia Plath's poetry to Francis Bacon's paintings, from the Saw franchise to Yoko Ono's performance art, Nelson's nuanced exploration across the artistic landscape ultimately offers a model of how one might balance strong ethical convictions with an equally strong appreciation for work that tests the limits of taste, taboo, and permissibility. Codice articolo BTA9780393343144

Informazioni sul venditore | Contattare il venditore

Compra nuovo
EUR 13,79
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

9.

Nelson, Maggie
Editore: W. W. Norton & Company
ISBN 10: 0393343146 ISBN 13: 9780393343144
Nuovo PAPERBACK Quantità: 15
Da
Lakeside Books
(Benton Harbor, MI, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria

Descrizione libro W. W. Norton & Company. PAPERBACK. Condizione: New. 0393343146 BRAND NEW, GIFT QUALITY! NOT OVERSTOCKS OR MARKED UP REMAINDERS! DIRECT FROM THE PUBLISHER!|VCF. Codice articolo OTF-S-9780393343144

Informazioni sul venditore | Contattare il venditore

Compra nuovo
EUR 10,21
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,70
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

10.

Maggie Nelson
Editore: W. W. Norton and#38; Company (2012)
ISBN 10: 0393343146 ISBN 13: 9780393343144
Nuovo Quantità: 5
Da
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria

Descrizione libro W. W. Norton and#38; Company, 2012. PAP. Condizione: New. New Book. Shipped from UK. Established seller since 2000. Codice articolo GB-9780393343144

Informazioni sul venditore | Contattare il venditore

Compra nuovo
EUR 15,26
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

Vedi altre copie di questo libro

Vedi tutti i risultati per questo libro