Let's Pretend This Never Happened: (A Mostly True Memoir)

Valutazione media 3,9
( su 131.524 valutazioni fornite da Goodreads )
 
9780399159015: Let's Pretend This Never Happened: (A Mostly True Memoir)

For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris—Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut.
 
Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives—the ones we’d like to pretend never happened—are in fact the ones that define us. In the #1 New York Times bestseller, Let’s Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor. Chapters include: “Stanley the Magical, Talking Squirrel”; “A Series of Angry Post-It Notes to My Husband”; “My Vagina Is Fine. Thanks for Asking”; “And Then I Snuck a Dead Cuban Alligator on an Airplane.” Pictures with captions (no one would believe these things without proof) accompany the text.

Le informazioni nella sezione "Riassunto" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

Review:

Jen Lancaster, author of Jeneration X, interviews Jenny Lawson about Let’s Pretend This Never Happened

Lancaster: You appear to have a soft spot for dead, stuffed creatures, particularly if they’re clad in bowler hats or acting out a scene--please explain.

Lawson: My father is a professional taxidermist, so it’s not like I had a fighting chance. And besides, I think the real question here is, who wouldn’t be interested in ferrets in cancan dresses? Old anthropomorphic taxidermy is fascinating and I’ve collected an entire menagerie of creatures that make up my personal posse. Cuban pirate alligators, Shakespearean mice, heavily armed squirrels, vampire-slaying ducklings. I’m not sure how you say no to those. My husband can, but I’m fairly sure there’s something not right about him. Anyone who can turn his nose up at the Last Supper constructed of Victorian kittens has a problem. I suspect it’s because he’s a Republican.

Lancaster: Who would you say is more powerful, The Bloggess Army or the KISS Army? Compare and contrast.

Lawson: My gut says the Bloggess Army is a bit more intimidating because we don’t dress up like kitties, but I’d probably still pick the KISS Army because Gene Simmons scares the shit out of me. Plus, my fans are less of an army and more of a collection of misfit minions looking to have a good time. Actually, now that I think about it, there’s probably a lot of crossover with the KISS Army. We should host a potluck together.

Lancaster: Can you believe some people don’t know what a confidence wig is?

Lawson: Right?! It’s shocking how often I walk in with one and I hear people whispering about the poor cancer patient that just walked in. I’m not a cancer patient, people. I just wear a wig to increase confidence. Plus, if I really mortify myself, I can just run to the bathroom, throw away the wig, and come back in and ask everyone who invited the crazy blonde that just crawled out of the bathroom window. There is no downside.

Lancaster: What’s it going to take for Nathan Fillion to send you a photo of himself holding a ball of twine?

Lawson: I think it’s going to take Nathan Fillion holding a ball of twine. I’ve offered him thousands of dollars and he still rebuffs me. I have no idea what the hold up is, but I can only imagine that Nathan Fillion is allergic to either twine or to bringing smiles to the faces of strange women who really aren’t asking for that much, Nathan.

Lancaster: Complete this sentence: “An oversized metal chicken...”

Lawson: “Means never having to say you’re sorry. Because it’s not towels.”

Lancaster: Snooki or Kim Kardashian?

Lawson: Alphabetically, or in order of who is most likely to fuck up the youth of America? Because those are two different answers. Or possibly they aren’t, now that I think about it.

Lancaster: What would you be doing if you weren’t writing? (“Hard time” is an acceptable and, frankly, the anticipated answer, FYI.)

Lawson: Well, I was going to say “hard time” but now you’ve ruined it. Which makes me feel stabby. Which leads to hard time. I think this is an example of circular logic. In real life, though, I’d be writing. Before my book it was blogging and before blogging, it was journaling and several times in between, it was graffiti. Writers write always. I thought Ray Bradbury said that, but I can’t find the quote anywhere so I’m taking credit for it. Writers write always.

Lancaster: I don’t consider you a mommyblogger, but many PR companies do. What’s the worst pitch you’ve gotten?

Lawson: Once a PR exec accidentally “replied to all” and called me “a fucking bitch” after I asked them to stop sending me pitches about a Kardashian wearing panty hose. He replied that I should feel flattered that I was even viewed as relevant enough to be pitched to, and I replied “Please stand by for a demonstration of relevancy” and tweeted it out to hundreds of thousands of people. It was kind of awesome. And terrifying.

Lancaster: Wil Wheaton or William Shatner?

Lawson: Wil Wheaton. Unless we’re doing the “destroying America thing” again. Then I have to recalculate. William Shatner and I are still recovering from a feud that was covered by MSNBC and Gawker when he refused to come to my house after I apparently offered him the wrong type of hooker. That man is a damn diva. Wil Wheaton, on the other hand, is an officer and a gentleman. William Shatner could learn a lot from that man.

Lancaster: If you had one piece of advice for someone hoping to follow your career path, what would it be?

Lawson: My one word of advice would be “FORTHELOVEOOFGODDON’T.” I’ve fallen backward into this, and I have done every single thing wrong. I have no sacred cows and am fairly unmarketable to any mainstream advertisers. I burn bridges because I like the pretty way they glow and I do exactly the opposite of everything I’m ever told to do. Thank God there’s a steady stream of intellectual misfits and misanthropic joy-seekers who get me, because that’s the only thing that’s saved me. Finding my tribe was a great gift that the Internet gave me. I returned the favor with tweets about shit my cat was doing. We’re pretty even.

Lancaster: What’s it like to ride around in your head for the day?

Lawson: Cramped. Exhausting. Exhilarating. Baffling. I have no way to compare it, but whenever I let slip the bizarre things I’m thinking about, people seem alarmed and step away slowly, so I think “disorientating” is probably fair as well.

About the Author:

Jenny Lawson is a columnist and one of the most popular bloggers on Twitter (hundreds of thousands of followers). Her blog, www.thebloggess.com, averages between 2-3 million page views per month. Jenny lives in the Texas Hill Country with her husband and daughter.

Le informazioni nella sezione "Su questo libro" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

I migliori risultati di ricerca su AbeBooks

1.

Lawson, Jenny
Editore: Putnam Adult
ISBN 10: 0399159010 ISBN 13: 9780399159015
Nuovi Rilegato Quantità: 1
Da
Gulf Coast Books
(Memphis, TN, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Putnam Adult. Hardcover. Condizione libro: New. 0399159010 Ships from Tennessee, usually the same or next day. Codice libro della libreria HCI9998JCGG062317H0593C

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 13,71
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 4,14
Da: U.S.A. a: Italia
Destinazione, tempi e costi

2.

Lawson, Jenny
Editore: Putnam Adult
ISBN 10: 0399159010 ISBN 13: 9780399159015
Nuovi Rilegato Quantità: 1
Da
Your Online Bookstore
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Putnam Adult. Hardcover. Condizione libro: New. 0399159010 Ships promptly. Codice libro della libreria GAT2276JNGG081317H0215A

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 13,71
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 4,14
Da: U.S.A. a: Italia
Destinazione, tempi e costi

3.

Jenny Lawson
Editore: Putnam Adult (2012)
ISBN 10: 0399159010 ISBN 13: 9780399159015
Nuovi Rilegato Prima edizione Quantità: 1
Da
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Putnam Adult, 2012. Hardcover. Condizione libro: New. book. Codice libro della libreria M0399159010

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 20,60
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 10,03
Da: U.S.A. a: Italia
Destinazione, tempi e costi

4.

Jenny Lawson
ISBN 10: 0399159010 ISBN 13: 9780399159015
Nuovi Quantità: 1
Da
LVeritas
(Newton, MA, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Condizione libro: New. Gift Quality Book in Excellent Condition. Codice libro della libreria 36SDH6000JDK

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 15,76
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 16,72
Da: U.S.A. a: Italia
Destinazione, tempi e costi

5.

Lawson, Jenny
Editore: Putnam Adult 2012-04-17 (2012)
ISBN 10: 0399159010 ISBN 13: 9780399159015
Nuovi Rilegato Prima edizione Quantità: 1
Da
M and N Media
(Acworth, GA, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Putnam Adult 2012-04-17, 2012. Hardcover. Condizione libro: New. First Edition. 0399159010 We guarantee all of our items - customer service and satisfaction are our top priorities. Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Codice libro della libreria TM-0399159010

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 28,38
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 20,86
Da: U.S.A. a: Italia
Destinazione, tempi e costi

6.

Lawson, Jenny
Editore: Putnam Adult (2012)
ISBN 10: 0399159010 ISBN 13: 9780399159015
Nuovi Rilegato Quantità: 2
Da
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Putnam Adult, 2012. Hardcover. Condizione libro: New. Never used!. Codice libro della libreria P110399159010

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 33,09
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 16,72
Da: U.S.A. a: Italia
Destinazione, tempi e costi

7.

Jenny Lawson
Editore: Amy Einhorn Books/Putnam (2012)
ISBN 10: 0399159010 ISBN 13: 9780399159015
Nuovi Rilegato Quantità: 1
Da
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Amy Einhorn Books/Putnam, 2012. Hardcover. Condizione libro: New. Codice libro della libreria DADAX0399159010

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 42,45
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 13,38
Da: U.S.A. a: Italia
Destinazione, tempi e costi