The Prehistory of the Mind: The Cognitive Origins of Art, Religion and Science

Valutazione media 3,96
( su 283 valutazioni fornite da Goodreads )
 
9780500050811: The Prehistory of the Mind: The Cognitive Origins of Art, Religion and Science

"A truly pioneering work, perhaps the first by a practicing archaeologist to review coherently the evolution of human cognitive abilities." ―Colin Renfrew, author of Before Civilization and Archaeology and Language

Here is an exhilarating intellectual performance, in the tradition of Roger Penrose's The Emperor's New Mind and Steven Pinker's The Language Instinct. On the way to showing how the world of our ancient ancestors shaped our modern modular mind, Steven Mithen shares one provocative insight after another as he answers a series of fascinating questions:
  • Were our brains hard-wired in the Pleistocene Era by the needs of hunter-gatherers?
  •  When did religious beliefs first emerge?
  • Why were the first paintings made by humankind so technically accomplished and expressive?
  • What can the sexual habits of chimpanzees tell us about the prehistory of the modern mind?
This is the first archaeological account to support the new modular concept of the mind. The concept, promulgated by cognitive and evolutionary psychologists, views the mind as a collection of specialized intelligences or "cognitive domains," somewhat like a Swiss army knife with its specialized blades and tools. Arguing that only archaeology can answer many of the key questions raised by the new concept, Mithen delineates a three-phase sequence for the mind's evolution over six million years―from early Homo in Africa to the ice-age Neanderthals to our modern modular minds. The Prehistory of the Mind is an intriguing and challenging explanation of what it means to be human, a bold new theory about the origins and nature of the mind.
70 illustrations

Le informazioni nella sezione "Riassunto" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

Review:

Try an experiment: take a passenger along on a brief car trip--a jaunt to the supermarket, say. Have a nice conversation while you're driving, and take a scenic route. Now, the next day, try to reconstruct the details of both the conversation and the trip. Chances are, unless something unusual happened along the way, that your memory of both will be indistinct, for we tend to forget the mundane--an example of what the cognitive scientist Daniel Dennett calls "rolling consciousness with swift memory loss."

Steven Mithen, an archaeologist with an interest in psychology, believes that just such a consciousness obtained among early humans when they went foraging for food or made tools. The evolution of higher, more memory-laden consciousness, he continues, occurred only as a result of a cognitive trick that doubtless involved some trial and error. The trick, simply put, was to guess what the social behavior of some member of one's social group might be in a given circumstance--to step outside one's own mind, in other words, and enter another's. This guesswork underlies the famed cave paintings of Altamira, an attempt to predict the behavior of migratory animals. It underlies as well another experiment: the development of agriculture, with the requisite predicting of how plants and animals might behave under a wide range of conditions.

Mithen's reconstruction of the ancestral human mind, laid out in a clear and accessible narrative, is a fine intellectual adventure. --Gregory McNamee

About the Author:

Steven Mithen is a Professor of Archaeology at the University of Reading. His other books include The Singing Neanderthals and Thoughtful Foragers: A Study of Prehistoric Decision Making.

Le informazioni nella sezione "Su questo libro" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

I migliori risultati di ricerca su AbeBooks

1.

Mithen, Steven
Editore: Thames & Hudson (1996)
ISBN 10: 0500050813 ISBN 13: 9780500050811
Nuovi Rilegato Quantità: 1
Da
pickabook
(san francisco, CA, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Thames & Hudson, 1996. Hardcover. Condizione libro: New. Codice libro della libreria mon0000131334

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 28,42
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,42
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

2.

Steven Mithen
ISBN 10: 0500050813 ISBN 13: 9780500050811
Nuovi Quantità: 1
Da
vladimir belskiy
(alexandria, VA, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Nov 17, 1996. Condizione libro: New. Codice libro della libreria 3T-084V-AU5W

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 28,72
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,42
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

3.

Steven Mithen
Editore: Thames & Hudson (1996)
ISBN 10: 0500050813 ISBN 13: 9780500050811
Nuovi Rilegato Quantità: 1
Da
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Thames & Hudson, 1996. Hardcover. Condizione libro: New. Codice libro della libreria DADAX0500050813

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 37,40
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,42
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

4.

Steven Mithen
Editore: Thames & Hudson (1996)
ISBN 10: 0500050813 ISBN 13: 9780500050811
Nuovi Rilegato Quantità: 1
Da
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Thames & Hudson, 1996. Hardcover. Condizione libro: New. book. Codice libro della libreria 0500050813

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 42,73
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

5.

Mithen, Steven
Editore: Thames & Hudson (1996)
ISBN 10: 0500050813 ISBN 13: 9780500050811
Nuovi Rilegato Quantità: 2
Da
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Thames & Hudson, 1996. Hardcover. Condizione libro: New. Codice libro della libreria P110500050813

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 42,13
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 2,56
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

6.

Steven Mithen
ISBN 10: 0500050813 ISBN 13: 9780500050811
Nuovi Rilegato Quantità: 1
Da
AMAZINGBOOKDEALS
(IRVING, TX, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Hardcover. Condizione libro: BRAND NEW. BRAND NEW. Fast Shipping. Prompt Customer Service. Satisfaction guaranteed. Codice libro della libreria 0500050813BNA

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 43,82
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,42
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

7.

Steven Mithen
ISBN 10: 0500050813 ISBN 13: 9780500050811
Nuovi Quantità: 1
Da
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Condizione libro: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Codice libro della libreria 97805000508111.0

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 61,94
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,42
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

8.

Mithen, Steven
Editore: Thames & Hudson
ISBN 10: 0500050813 ISBN 13: 9780500050811
Nuovi Rilegato Quantità: 1
Da
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Thames & Hudson. Hardcover. Condizione libro: New. 0500050813 New Condition. Codice libro della libreria NEW6.0258513

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 61,81
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 4,28
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

9.

Mithen, Steven
Editore: Thames & Hudson, United Kingdom (1996)
ISBN 10: 0500050813 ISBN 13: 9780500050811
Nuovi Rilegato Prima edizione Quantità: 1
Da
PORT HOLE BOOKS and PUBLISHING
(Florence, OR, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Thames & Hudson, United Kingdom, 1996. Hardcover. Condizione libro: New. Condizione sovraccoperta: New. 1st Edition. New first edition collectible hardcover in new dust jacket. Looks and feel untouched and unread, but Note that previous owner was a collector who carefully reinforced the dust jacket with what appears to be archival tape along the inside edges. Codice libro della libreria 045148

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 66,19
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,86
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi