The Devil in the Marshalsea

Valutazione media 3,92
( su 2.104 valutazioni fornite da GoodReads )
 
9780544176676: The Devil in the Marshalsea

I migliori risultati di ricerca su AbeBooks

1.

Hodgson, Antonia
Editore: Mariner Books
ISBN 10: 0544176677 ISBN 13: 9780544176676
Nuovi PAPERBACK Quantità: 2
Da
Qwestbooks COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Mariner Books. PAPERBACK. Condizione libro: New. 0544176677. Codice libro della libreria Z0544176677ZN

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 4,01
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

2.

Hodgson, Antonia
Editore: Mariner Books 2014-06-10 (2014)
ISBN 10: 0544176677 ISBN 13: 9780544176676
Nuovi Paperback Quantità: > 20
Da
Ebooksweb COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Mariner Books 2014-06-10, 2014. Paperback. Condizione libro: New. 0544176677. Codice libro della libreria Z0544176677ZN

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 4,03
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

3.

Hodgson, Antonia
Editore: Mariner Books
ISBN 10: 0544176677 ISBN 13: 9780544176676
Nuovi PAPERBACK Quantità: 1
Da
Orion Tech
(Grand Prairie, TX, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Mariner Books. PAPERBACK. Condizione libro: New. 0544176677 . Codice libro della libreria HGT3122MHBR103116H0350P

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 4,58
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

4.

Hodgson, Antonia
ISBN 10: 0544176677 ISBN 13: 9780544176676
Nuovi Paperback Quantità: > 20
Da
Big River Books
(Powder Springs, GA, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Paperback. Condizione libro: New. Brand New! We ship daily Monday - Friday!. Codice libro della libreria 1EY85D00AWN3

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 3,23
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,23
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

5.

Hodgson, Antonia.
Editore: Mariner. 1 Paperback(s) (2014)
ISBN 10: 0544176677 ISBN 13: 9780544176676
Nuovi soft Quantità: 1
Da
Daedalus Books
(Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Mariner. 1 Paperback(s), 2014. soft. Condizione libro: New. (Winner of the 2014 CWA Historical Dagger) This first novel in a new historical crime series by Little, Brown's UK editor-in-chief Antonia Hodgson is set in early 18th-century London and follows Thomas Hawkins, a rakish scoundrel who has turned his back on his father's country parsonage, preferring instead to pursue wine, women, and cards. Faced with debtors' prison, however, Hawkins shows fortitude enough to accept his fate, and soon finds that the notorious Marshalsea Gaol is a world of its own, where those with outside support can live fairly comfortably, while those with none will starve in squalor. After the grisly murder of a fellow debtor, Captain Roberts, suspicion falls on Samuel Fleet, a man many have claimed is a devil to be shunned—and who also happens to be Hawkins's cellmate."[The author] conjures up scenes of Dickensian squalor and marries them to a crackerjack plot, in her impressive first novel. Hodgson makes the stench, as well as the despair, almost palpable, besides expertly dropping fair clues. Fans of Iain Pears and Charles Palliser will hope for a sequel."—Publishers Weekly (starred review)"As promised in the historical note that opens Hodgson's satisfyingly twisty debut thriller, readers will encounter an eye-opening look at Georgian London's debtors' prisons and some authentically colorful swearing within its pages. Tom Hawkins experiences both of these when he's thrown into the Marshalsea Gaol after too many gambling losses and a near-fatal mugging. To his surprise, the Marshalsea seems like a miniature town, complete with a tap room, coffeehouse, and barber. 'Indeed it reminded me of my old college, save for the iron spikes,' he observes. But after meeting many disreputable characters and hearing screams coming from the gaol's 'Common Side,' where those too broke to afford their upkeep are left to rot, he almost regrets not obeying his estranged father and becoming a clergyman. Complicating matters further are Samuel Fleet, Tom's fear-inducing roommate, and conspiracies surrounding a former prisoner whose ghost reportedly roams—and whose murder Tom must solve, or else. The squalid atmosphere is so well detailed that one can almost smell the corruption, and the irrepressibly roguish Tom makes a winning hero."—Booklist 384. Codice libro della libreria 60781

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 4,75
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 4,63
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

6.

Hodgson, Antonia
ISBN 10: 0544176677 ISBN 13: 9780544176676
Nuovi Quantità: > 20
Da
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Condizione libro: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Codice libro della libreria 97805441766760000000

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 10,78
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

7.

Antonia Hodgson
Editore: Houghton Muffin Hartcourt Trade
ISBN 10: 0544176677 ISBN 13: 9780544176676
Nuovi Quantità: > 20
Da
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Houghton Muffin Hartcourt Trade. Condizione libro: New. Brand New. Codice libro della libreria 0544176677

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 7,64
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,24
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

8.

Hodgson, Antonia
Editore: MARINER BOOKS (2014)
ISBN 10: 0544176677 ISBN 13: 9780544176676
Nuovi Quantità: > 20
Da
PBShop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro MARINER BOOKS, 2014. PAP. Condizione libro: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Codice libro della libreria IB-9780544176676

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 8,66
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,69
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

9.

Antonia Hodgson
Editore: Mariner Books, United States (2014)
ISBN 10: 0544176677 ISBN 13: 9780544176676
Nuovi Paperback Quantità: 1
Da
The Book Depository US
(London, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Mariner Books, United States, 2014. Paperback. Condizione libro: New. 209 x 143 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. The first thrilling historical crime novel starring Thomas Hawkins, a rakish scoundel with a heart of gold, set in the darkest debtors prison in Georgian London, where people fall dead as quickly as they fall in love and no one is as they seem. London, 1727. Tom Hawkins refuses to follow in his father s footsteps and become a country parson. His preference is for wine, women, and cards. But there s honor there too, and Tom won t pull family strings to get himself out of debt not even when faced with London s notorious debtors prison. The Marshalsea Gaol is a world of its own, with simple rules: Those with family or friends who can lend them a little money may survive in relative comfort. Those with none will starve in squalor and disease. And those who try to escape will suffer a gruesome fate at the hands of its ruthless governor and his cronies. The trouble is, Tom has never been good at following rules, even simple ones. And the recent grisly murder of a debtor, Captain Roberts, has brought further terror to the gaol. While the captain s beautiful widow cries for justice, the finger of suspicion points only one way: do the sly, enigmatic figure of Samuel Fleet. Some call Fleet a devil, a man to avoid at all costs. But Tom Hawkins is sharing his cell. Soon Tom s choice is clear: get to the truth of the murder or be the next to die. A dazzling evocation of a startlingly modern era, The Devil in the Marshalsea is a thrilling debut novel full of intrigue and suspense. Codice libro della libreria ABZ9780544176676

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 12,56
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

10.

Antonia Hodgson
Editore: Mariner Books, United States (2014)
ISBN 10: 0544176677 ISBN 13: 9780544176676
Nuovi Paperback Quantità: 10
Da
The Book Depository US
(London, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Mariner Books, United States, 2014. Paperback. Condizione libro: New. 209 x 143 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. The first thrilling historical crime novel starring Thomas Hawkins, a rakish scoundel with a heart of gold, set in the darkest debtors prison in Georgian London, where people fall dead as quickly as they fall in love and no one is as they seem. London, 1727. Tom Hawkins refuses to follow in his father s footsteps and become a country parson. His preference is for wine, women, and cards. But there s honor there too, and Tom won t pull family strings to get himself out of debt not even when faced with London s notorious debtors prison. The Marshalsea Gaol is a world of its own, with simple rules: Those with family or friends who can lend them a little money may survive in relative comfort. Those with none will starve in squalor and disease. And those who try to escape will suffer a gruesome fate at the hands of its ruthless governor and his cronies. The trouble is, Tom has never been good at following rules, even simple ones. And the recent grisly murder of a debtor, Captain Roberts, has brought further terror to the gaol. While the captain s beautiful widow cries for justice, the finger of suspicion points only one way: do the sly, enigmatic figure of Samuel Fleet. Some call Fleet a devil, a man to avoid at all costs. But Tom Hawkins is sharing his cell. Soon Tom s choice is clear: get to the truth of the murder or be the next to die. A dazzling evocation of a startlingly modern era, The Devil in the Marshalsea is a thrilling debut novel full of intrigue and suspense. Codice libro della libreria AAS9780544176676

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 12,61
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

Vedi altre copie di questo libro

Vedi tutti i risultati per questo libro