The Book of Unholy Mischief

Valutazione media 3,66
( su 2.150 valutazioni fornite da GoodReads )
 
9780552775212: The Book of Unholy Mischief

It is 1498, and the whole of Venice is abuzz. Hidden somewhere in the labyrinthine city is an ancient book, rumoured to contain thorny heresies and secrets of immeasurable power.

Luciano, a penniless orphan, has been plucked from the street and taken on as apprentice to the chef at the doge's palace. While learning the alchemy of cooking, he quickly finds himself entangled in the search for the ancient tome, even suspecting the chef, his maestro, may be concealing valuable information.

But lurking in the wings are some of the most powerful, dangerous men in Venice, and Luciano's secret will lead him through a perilous maze to the centre of an intrigue that will test his deepest desires and loyalties.

Le informazioni nella sezione "Riassunto" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

Book Description:

"Rumour, court machinations and a rattling good plot" ( Fanny Blake, Woman & Home)

"'Unashamedly fun and will appeal to fans of Kate Mosse and Dan Brown... full of twisting passageways, wall tapestries complete with spy holes, and all manner of skulduggery... The plot crackles along, piling up the murders and conspiracies among the culinary metaphors. A very promising new author'" ( New Books Magazine)

"It is a clutching story, with love interests and court shenanigans, odd fellows and weird sisters, lurking in wait for their stage entrance, scenes of comic hilarity around the dinner table, and a high spirited tribute to the fruits of knowledge...In her own neat piece of alchemy, Newmark takes the heft of a potato and turns it into an ode for paying attention" ( Kirkus Reviews, US)

Book Description:

A beautifully written, fiendishly well-plotted commercial debut, set in 15th Century Venice, perfect for fans of Kate Mosse and Joanne Harris.

Le informazioni nella sezione "Su questo libro" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

I migliori risultati di ricerca su AbeBooks

1.

Newmark, Elle
Editore: Black Swan (2009)
ISBN 10: 0552775215 ISBN 13: 9780552775212
Nuovi Paperback Quantità: 1
Da
Zarak Books
(Norwich, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Black Swan, 2009. Paperback. Condizione libro: New. 12mo - over 6¾" - 7¾" tall. Brand new copy. Codice libro della libreria 033123

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 5,48
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 7,67
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

2.

Newmark, Elle
Editore: Black Swan (2009)
ISBN 10: 0552775215 ISBN 13: 9780552775212
Nuovi Paperback Quantità: 1
Da
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Black Swan, 2009. Paperback. Condizione libro: New. book. Codice libro della libreria 0552775215

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 19,72
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi