The Avignon Quintet: Monsieur, Livia, Constance, Sebastian and Quinx

Valutazione media 4,08
( su 273 valutazioni fornite da GoodReads )
9780571163090: The Avignon Quintet: Monsieur, Livia, Constance, Sebastian and Quinx

This is the one-volume edition of five novels in a kaleidoscopic sequence first published between 1974 and 1985. The Avignon Quintet is an achievement comparable to Durrell's masterpiece The Alexandria Quartet, with which it has subtle affiliations. Avignon and the ancient kingdom of Provence take the place of Alexandria and the eastern Mediterranean, although significant episodes in the five books are set in the Egyptian desert, Venice, Paris, Vienna and Geneva. In one of the books, Constance, there is a memorable picture of life in southern France under the Nazi occupation.

Durrell's prime themes of 'fiction' and 'reality' are shuffled and intercut with those of human identity and sexuality, Freud, the cult of the Gnostics, the heresy of the Templars and their missing treasure, and other bizarre and extraordinary matters - all rendered with great ingenuity and ribald humour by a supreme descriptive writer and novelist.

Le informazioni nella sezione "Riassunto" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

About the Author:

Lawrence Durrell was born in 1912 in India. He attended the Jesuit College at Darjeeling and St Edmund's School, Canterbury. His first literary work, The Black Book, appeared in Paris in 1938. His first collection of poems, A Private Country, was published in 1943, followed by the three Island books: Prospero's Cell, Reflections on a Marine Venus, about Rhodes, and Bitter Lemons, his account of life in Cyprus. Durrell's wartime sojourn in Egypt led to his masterpiece, The Alexandria Quartet, which he completed in southern France where he settled permanently in 1957. Between the Quartet and The Avignon Quintet he wrote the two-decker Tunc and Nunquam. His oeuvre includes plays, a book of criticism, translations, travel writing, and humorous stories about the diplomatic corps. Caesar's Vast Ghost, his reflections on the history and culture of Provence, including a late flowering of poems, appeared a few days before his death in Sommières in 1990.

Le informazioni nella sezione "Su questo libro" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

I migliori risultati di ricerca su AbeBooks


Durrell, Lawrence
Editore: Faber & Faber (1992)
ISBN 10: 0571163092 ISBN 13: 9780571163090
Nuovi Paperback Quantità: 1
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria

Descrizione libro Faber & Faber, 1992. Paperback. Condizione libro: New. book. Codice libro della libreria 0571163092

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 95,36
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi