Puccini's Turandot: The End of the Great Tradition

Valutazione media 3,8
( su 5 valutazioni fornite da GoodReads )
 
9780691027128: Puccini's Turandot: The End of the Great Tradition

Unfinished at Puccini's death in 1924, "Turandot" was not only his most ambitious work, but it became the last Italian opera to enter the international repertory. In this colorful study two renowned music scholars demonstrate that despite the modern climate in which the work was written, it was a fitting finale for the centuries-old Great Tradition of Italian opera.

Le informazioni nella sezione "Riassunto" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

I migliori risultati di ricerca su AbeBooks

1.

Ashbrook, William; Powers, Harold
Editore: Princeton University Press (1991)
ISBN 10: 0691027129 ISBN 13: 9780691027128
Nuovi Paperback Quantità: 1
Da
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Princeton University Press, 1991. Paperback. Condizione libro: New. book. Codice libro della libreria 0691027129

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 28,00
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

2.

William Ashbrook, Harold Powers
Editore: Princeton University Press (1991)
ISBN 10: 0691027129 ISBN 13: 9780691027128
Nuovi Paperback Prima edizione Quantità: 1
Da
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Princeton University Press, 1991. Paperback. Condizione libro: New. First Edition. Codice libro della libreria DADAX0691027129

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 28,02
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,69
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

3.

William Ashbrook, Harold Powers
Editore: Princeton University Press, United States (1991)
ISBN 10: 0691027129 ISBN 13: 9780691027128
Nuovi Paperback Quantità: 1
Da
The Book Depository
(London, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Princeton University Press, United States, 1991. Paperback. Condizione libro: New. New.. 226 x 157 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Unfinished at Puccini s death in 1924, Turandot was not only his most ambitious work, but it became the last Italian opera to enter the international repertory. In this colorful study two renowned music scholars demonstrate that this work, despite the modern climate in which it was written, was a fitting finale for the centuries-old Great Tradition of Italian opera. Here they provide concrete instances of how a listener might encounter the dramatic and musical structures of Turandot in light of the Italian melodramma, and firmly establish Puccini s last work within the tradition of Rossini, Bellini, Donizetti, and Verdi. In a summary of the sounds, sights, and symbolism of Turandot, the authors touch on earlier treatments of the subject, outline the conception, birth, and reception of the work, and analyze its coordinated dramatic and musical design. Showing how the evolution of the libretto documents Puccini s reversion to large musical forms typical of the Great Tradition in the late nineteenth century, they give particular attention to his use of contrasting Romantic, modernist, and two kinds of orientalist coloration in the general musical structure. They suggest that Puccini s inability to complete the opera resulted mainly from inadequate dramatic buildup for Turandot s last-minute change of heart combined with an overly successful treatment of the secondary character. Codice libro della libreria AAH9780691027128

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 43,02
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

4.

William Ashbrook, Harold Powers
Editore: Princeton University Press, United States (1991)
ISBN 10: 0691027129 ISBN 13: 9780691027128
Nuovi Paperback Quantità: 1
Da
The Book Depository US
(London, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Princeton University Press, United States, 1991. Paperback. Condizione libro: New. New.. 226 x 157 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Unfinished at Puccini s death in 1924, Turandot was not only his most ambitious work, but it became the last Italian opera to enter the international repertory. In this colorful study two renowned music scholars demonstrate that this work, despite the modern climate in which it was written, was a fitting finale for the centuries-old Great Tradition of Italian opera. Here they provide concrete instances of how a listener might encounter the dramatic and musical structures of Turandot in light of the Italian melodramma, and firmly establish Puccini s last work within the tradition of Rossini, Bellini, Donizetti, and Verdi. In a summary of the sounds, sights, and symbolism of Turandot, the authors touch on earlier treatments of the subject, outline the conception, birth, and reception of the work, and analyze its coordinated dramatic and musical design. Showing how the evolution of the libretto documents Puccini s reversion to large musical forms typical of the Great Tradition in the late nineteenth century, they give particular attention to his use of contrasting Romantic, modernist, and two kinds of orientalist coloration in the general musical structure. They suggest that Puccini s inability to complete the opera resulted mainly from inadequate dramatic buildup for Turandot s last-minute change of heart combined with an overly successful treatment of the secondary character. Codice libro della libreria AAH9780691027128

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 43,53
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

5.

William Ashbrook
Editore: Princeton University Press (1992)
ISBN 10: 0691027129 ISBN 13: 9780691027128
Nuovi Quantità: 2
Da
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Princeton University Press, 1992. PAP. Condizione libro: New. New Book. Shipped from UK in 4 to 14 days. Established seller since 2000. Codice libro della libreria WP-9780691027128

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 33,96
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 10,33
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

6.

William Ashbrook
Editore: Princeton University Press (1992)
ISBN 10: 0691027129 ISBN 13: 9780691027128
Nuovi Quantità: > 20
Print on Demand
Da
PBShop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Princeton University Press, 1992. PAP. Condizione libro: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. THIS BOOK IS PRINTED ON DEMAND. Established seller since 2000. Codice libro della libreria I2-9780691027128

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 47,92
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,69
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

7.

William Ashbrook
Editore: Princeton University Press (1992)
ISBN 10: 0691027129 ISBN 13: 9780691027128
Nuovi Quantità: > 20
Print on Demand
Da
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Princeton University Press, 1992. PAP. Condizione libro: New. New Book. Delivered from our UK warehouse in 3 to 5 business days. THIS BOOK IS PRINTED ON DEMAND. Established seller since 2000. Codice libro della libreria I2-9780691027128

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 47,23
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 10,33
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

8.

ASHBROOK
ISBN 10: 0691027129 ISBN 13: 9780691027128
Nuovi Paperback Quantità: 1
Da
Herb Tandree Philosophy Books
(Stroud, GLOS, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro 1992. Paperback. Condizione libro: NEW. 9780691027128 This listing is a new book, a title currently in-print which we order directly and immediately from the publisher. Codice libro della libreria HTANDREE01227796

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 53,16
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 9,19
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

9.

Ashbrook, William
Editore: Princeton University Press (2017)
ISBN 10: 0691027129 ISBN 13: 9780691027128
Nuovi Paperback Quantità: 20
Print on Demand
Da
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Princeton University Press, 2017. Paperback. Condizione libro: New. This item is printed on demand. Codice libro della libreria 0691027129

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 60,10
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 2,76
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

10.

Harold Powers
Editore: Princeton University Press
ISBN 10: 0691027129 ISBN 13: 9780691027128
Nuovi Paperback Quantità: 20
Da
BuySomeBooks
(Las Vegas, NV, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Princeton University Press. Paperback. Condizione libro: New. Paperback. 193 pages. Dimensions: 8.9in. x 6.2in. x 0.7in.Unfinished at Puccinis death in 1924, Turandot was not only his most ambitious work, but it became the last Italian opera to enter the international repertory. In this colorful study two renowned music scholars demonstrate that this work, despite the modern climate in which it was written, was a fitting finale for the centuries-old Great Tradition of Italian opera. Here they provide concrete instances of how a listener might encounter the dramatic and musical structures of Turandot in light of the Italian melodramma, and firmly establish Puccinis last work within the tradition of Rossini, Bellini, Donizetti, and Verdi. In a summary of the sounds, sights, and symbolism of Turandot, the authors touch on earlier treatments of the subject, outline the conception, birth, and reception of the work, and analyze its coordinated dramatic and musical design. Showing how the evolution of the libretto documents Puccinis reversion to large musical forms typical of the Great Tradition in the late nineteenth century, they give particular attention to his use of contrasting Romantic, modernist, and two kinds of orientalist coloration in the general musical structure. They suggest that Puccinis inability to complete the opera resulted mainly from inadequate dramatic buildup for Turandots last-minute change of heart combined with an overly successful treatment of the secondary character. This item ships from multiple locations. Your book may arrive from Roseburg,OR, La Vergne,TN. Paperback. Codice libro della libreria 9780691027128

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 61,86
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,65
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

Vedi altre copie di questo libro

Vedi tutti i risultati per questo libro