Organizing America: Wealth, Power, and the Origins of Corporate Capitalism

Valutazione media 4,13
( su 23 valutazioni fornite da Goodreads )
 
9780691089546: Organizing America: Wealth, Power, and the Origins of Corporate Capitalism


American society today is shaped not nearly as much by vast open spaces as it is by vast, bureaucratic organizations. Over half the working population toils away at enterprises with 500 or more employees--up from zero percent in 1800. Is this institutional immensity the logical outcome of technological forces in an all-efficient market, as some have argued? In this book, the first organizational history of nineteenth-century America, Yale sociologist Charles Perrow says no. He shows that there was nothing inevitable about the surge in corporate size and power by century's end. Critics railed against the nationalizing of the economy, against corporations' monopoly powers, political subversion, environmental destruction, and "wage slavery." How did a nation committed to individual freedom, family firms, public goods, and decentralized power become transformed in one century?


Bountiful resources, a mass market, and the industrial revolution gave entrepreneurs broad scope. In Europe, the state and the church kept private organizations small and required consideration of the public good. In America, the courts and business-steeped legislators removed regulatory constraints over the century, centralizing industry and privatizing the railroads. Despite resistance, the corporate form became the model for the next century. Bureaucratic structure spread to government and the nonprofits. Writing in the tradition of Max Weber, Perrow concludes that the driving force of our history is not technology, politics, or culture, but large, bureaucratic organizations.


Perrow, the author of award-winning books on organizations, employs his witty, trenchant, and graceful style here to maximum effect. Colorful vignettes abound: today's headlines echo past battles for unchecked organizational freedom; socially responsible alternatives that were tried are explored along with the historical contingencies that sent us down one road rather than another. No other book takes the role of organizations in America's development as seriously. The resultant insights presage a new historical genre.


Le informazioni nella sezione "Riassunto" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

From the Publisher:

Winner of 2003 Max Weber Award

From the Back Cover:


"Organizing America is a magisterial work: a compelling analysis showing why those who study states and economies should take organizations seriously and those studying organizations should ponder how organizations have concentrated wealth and power. Perrow takes the study of organizations back to Weber's original vision, problematizing the question of why and how Western society has been transformed from community and individual to hierarchy and bureaucracy."--William G. Roy, University of California, Los Angeles


"This book represents a long-awaited, sweeping statement by one of the leading organizational theorists of our time. Given the power, force, and even audacity of the author's arguments, it is certain to be much discussed and hotly debated."--Mark S. Mizruchi, University of Michigan


"Charles Perrow sets his sights on those who contend that American firms became behemoths because big firms are more efficient than small ones. Organizing America offers a compelling alternative account, in which managers and owners created huge corporations in the process of striving for power rather than efficiency."--Frank Dobbin, Princeton University


Le informazioni nella sezione "Su questo libro" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

I migliori risultati di ricerca su AbeBooks

1.

Perrow, Charles
Editore: Princeton University -, -
ISBN 10: 069108954X ISBN 13: 9780691089546
Nuovi Quantità: 1
Da
Super Books Dealz
(Hammonds Plains, NS, Canada)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Princeton University -, -. Condizione libro: NEW. -- (illustratore). Original Books from across the World in Brand New Condition --------- It can be shipped from U.S, Canada, Germany & India/Overseas centre subject to availability.____9780691089546. book. Codice libro della libreria RM-BS-3427n

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 42,91
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,43
Da: Canada a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

2.

Charles Perrow
Editore: Princeton University Press (2002)
ISBN 10: 069108954X ISBN 13: 9780691089546
Nuovi Rilegato Quantità: 1
Da
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Princeton University Press, 2002. Hardcover. Condizione libro: New. book. Codice libro della libreria 069108954X

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 46,84
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

3.

Perrow, Charles
ISBN 10: 069108954X ISBN 13: 9780691089546
Nuovi Quantità: 1
Da
BooksTree
(Halifax, NS, Canada)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Condizione libro: New. Condizione sovraccoperta: New. Brand new, Perfect condition, Satisfaction Guaranteed, 24x7 Customer Service-1304457671. book. Codice libro della libreria newabe-4209

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 46,44
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,43
Da: Canada a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

4.

Charles Perrow
Editore: Princeton University Press (2002)
ISBN 10: 069108954X ISBN 13: 9780691089546
Nuovi Rilegato Quantità: 1
Da
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Princeton University Press, 2002. Hardcover. Condizione libro: New. Codice libro della libreria DADAX069108954X

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 54,05
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,43
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

5.

Perrow, Charles
Editore: Princeton University Press
ISBN 10: 069108954X ISBN 13: 9780691089546
Nuovi Quantità: 1
Da
Ohmsoft LLC
(Lake Forest, IL, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Princeton University Press. Condizione libro: Brand New. Ships from USA. FREE domestic shipping. Codice libro della libreria 069108954X

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 71,55
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

6.

Charles Perrow
Editore: Princeton University Press (2002)
ISBN 10: 069108954X ISBN 13: 9780691089546
Nuovi Rilegato Quantità: 1
Da
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Princeton University Press, 2002. Hardcover. Condizione libro: Brand New. first edition edition. 272 pages. 9.50x6.50x1.00 inches. In Stock. Codice libro della libreria 069108954X

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 84,29
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 6,71
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

7.

Charles Perrow
ISBN 10: 069108954X ISBN 13: 9780691089546
Nuovi Quantità: 1
Da
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Condizione libro: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Codice libro della libreria 97806910895461.0

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 130,86
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,43
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi