The Emperor's Handbook: A New Translation of the Meditations

Valutazione media 4,19
( su 50.991 valutazioni fornite da GoodReads )
 
9780743233835: The Emperor's Handbook: A New Translation of the Meditations

In the tradition of "The Art of Living" and Marcus Aurelius' "Meditations"--a practical book of timeless advice from one of the most powerful individuals in history--available for the first time in a highly accessible translation, including several unique features for contemporary readers and users of daily wisdom guides. Essayist Matthew Arnold described the man who wrote these words as "the most beautiful figure in history." Possibly so, but he was certainly more than that. Marcus Aurelius ruled the Roman Empire at its height, yet he remained untainted by the incalculable wealth and absolute power that had corrupted many of his predecessors. Marcus knew the secret of how to live the good life amid trying and often catastrophic circumstances, of how to find happiness and peace when surrounded by misery and turmoil, and of how to choose the harder right over the easier wrong without apparent regard for self-interest. The historian Michael Grant praises Marcus's book as "the best ever written by a major ruler," and Josiah Bunting, superintendent of the Virginia Military Institute, calls it "the essential book on character, leadership, duty." Never intended for publication, the Meditations contains the practical and inspiring wisdom by which this remarkable emperor lived the life not of a saintly recluse, but of a general, administrator, legislator, spouse, parent, and judge besieged on all sides. "The Emperor's Handbook" offers a vivid and fresh translation of this important piece of ancient literature. It brings Marcus's words to life and shows his wisdom to be as relevant today as it was in the second century. This book belongs on the desk and in the briefcase of every business executive, political leader, and military officer. It speaks to the soul of anyone who has ever exercised authority or faced adversity or believed in a better day.

Le informazioni nella sezione "Riassunto" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

I migliori risultati di ricerca su AbeBooks

1.

Aurelius
Editore: SIMON SCHUSTER, United States (2002)
ISBN 10: 0743233832 ISBN 13: 9780743233835
Nuovi Quantità: 1
Da
The Book Depository
(London, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro SIMON SCHUSTER, United States, 2002. Other book format. Condizione libro: New. 216 x 145 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. In the tradition of The Art of Living and Marcus Aurelius Meditations--a practical book of timeless advice from one of the most powerful individuals in history--available for the first time in a highly accessible translation, including several unique features for contemporary readers and users of daily wisdom guides. Essayist Matthew Arnold described the man who wrote these words as the most beautiful figure in history. Possibly so, but he was certainly more than that. Marcus Aurelius ruled the Roman Empire at its height, yet he remained untainted by the incalculable wealth and absolute power that had corrupted many of his predecessors. Marcus knew the secret of how to live the good life amid trying and often catastrophic circumstances, of how to find happiness and peace when surrounded by misery and turmoil, and of how to choose the harder right over the easier wrong without apparent regard for self-interest. The historian Michael Grant praises Marcus s book as the best ever written by a major ruler, and Josiah Bunting, superintendent of the Virginia Military Institute, calls it the essential book on character, leadership, duty. Never intended for publication, the Meditations contains the practical and inspiring wisdom by which this remarkable emperor lived the life not of a saintly recluse, but of a general, administrator, legislator, spouse, parent, and judge besieged on all sides. The Emperor s Handbook offers a vivid and fresh translation of this important piece of ancient literature. It brings Marcus s words to life and shows his wisdom to be as relevant today as it was in the second century. This book belongs on the desk and in the briefcase of every business executive, political leader, and military officer. It speaks to the soul of anyone who has ever exercised authority or faced adversity or believed in a better day. Codice libro della libreria ABZ9780743233835

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 15,56
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

2.

Aurelius
Editore: SIMON SCHUSTER, United States (2002)
ISBN 10: 0743233832 ISBN 13: 9780743233835
Nuovi Quantità: 1
Da
The Book Depository US
(London, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro SIMON SCHUSTER, United States, 2002. Other book format. Condizione libro: New. 216 x 145 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. In the tradition of The Art of Living and Marcus Aurelius Meditations--a practical book of timeless advice from one of the most powerful individuals in history--available for the first time in a highly accessible translation, including several unique features for contemporary readers and users of daily wisdom guides. Essayist Matthew Arnold described the man who wrote these words as the most beautiful figure in history. Possibly so, but he was certainly more than that. Marcus Aurelius ruled the Roman Empire at its height, yet he remained untainted by the incalculable wealth and absolute power that had corrupted many of his predecessors. Marcus knew the secret of how to live the good life amid trying and often catastrophic circumstances, of how to find happiness and peace when surrounded by misery and turmoil, and of how to choose the harder right over the easier wrong without apparent regard for self-interest. The historian Michael Grant praises Marcus s book as the best ever written by a major ruler, and Josiah Bunting, superintendent of the Virginia Military Institute, calls it the essential book on character, leadership, duty. Never intended for publication, the Meditations contains the practical and inspiring wisdom by which this remarkable emperor lived the life not of a saintly recluse, but of a general, administrator, legislator, spouse, parent, and judge besieged on all sides. The Emperor s Handbook offers a vivid and fresh translation of this important piece of ancient literature. It brings Marcus s words to life and shows his wisdom to be as relevant today as it was in the second century. This book belongs on the desk and in the briefcase of every business executive, political leader, and military officer. It speaks to the soul of anyone who has ever exercised authority or faced adversity or believed in a better day. Codice libro della libreria ABZ9780743233835

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 15,61
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

3.

AURELIUS
Editore: Simon and Schuster (2002)
ISBN 10: 0743233832 ISBN 13: 9780743233835
Nuovi Quantità: 2
Da
PBShop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Simon and Schuster, 2002. PAP. Condizione libro: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Codice libro della libreria IB-9780743233835

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 12,21
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,69
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

4.

Aurelius, Marcus
Editore: Scribner
ISBN 10: 0743233832 ISBN 13: 9780743233835
Nuovi Rilegato Quantità: 8
Da
GIANTBOOKSALE
(HAUPPAUGE, NY, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Scribner. Hardcover. Condizione libro: New. 0743233832 Great book !! Established seller with great ratings! A+ Customer Service! Orders ship from the USA!. Codice libro della libreria Z0743233832ZN

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 12,77
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,23
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

5.

Aurelius, Marcus
ISBN 10: 0743233832 ISBN 13: 9780743233835
Nuovi Rilegato Quantità: 13
Da
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Hardcover. Condizione libro: New. Codice libro della libreria 856715

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 12,68
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,69
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

6.

Aurelius, Marcus
Editore: Scribner
ISBN 10: 0743233832 ISBN 13: 9780743233835
Nuovi Rilegato Quantità: 11
Da
Movie Mars
(Indian Trail, NC, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Scribner. Hardcover. Condizione libro: New. 0743233832 Brand New Book. Ships from the United States. 30 Day Satisfaction Guarantee!. Codice libro della libreria 4200780

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 13,12
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,69
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

7.

Aurelius, Marcus
Editore: Scribner
ISBN 10: 0743233832 ISBN 13: 9780743233835
Nuovi Rilegato Quantità: > 20
Da
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Scribner. Hardcover. Condizione libro: New. 0743233832 *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Codice libro della libreria NATARAJB1FI768232

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 13,39
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,69
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

8.

Aurelius, Marcus
Editore: Scribner (2002)
ISBN 10: 0743233832 ISBN 13: 9780743233835
Nuovi Rilegato Quantità: 17
Da
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Scribner, 2002. Hardcover. Condizione libro: New. Codice libro della libreria 0743233832

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 15,05
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 2,77
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

9.

Marcus Aurelius
Editore: Scribner (2002)
ISBN 10: 0743233832 ISBN 13: 9780743233835
Nuovi Rilegato Quantità: 1
Da
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Scribner, 2002. Hardcover. Condizione libro: New. book. Codice libro della libreria 0743233832

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 18,52
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

10.

Marcus Aurelius, Emperor of Rome; Hicks, David V.
ISBN 10: 0743233832 ISBN 13: 9780743233835
Nuovi Quantità: 8
Da
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Condizione libro: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Codice libro della libreria 97807432338350000000

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 18,61
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

Vedi altre copie di questo libro

Vedi tutti i risultati per questo libro