Literatur Alexander Waugh God

ISBN 13: 9780747266501

God

Valutazione media 3,62
( su 39 valutazioni fornite da Goodreads )
 
9780747266501: God

Where does God come from? Has he always existed? What kind of food does he eat? The answers to all these questions, small and large, are in the Bible, or have been written about by those who know him best - saints, popes and visionaries. In this fascinating account of God's life, Alexander Waugh, author of TIME, tackles the biggest subject of them all in his uniquely refreshing and enthusiastic style. So many stories about God have been forgotten, or edged out of the familiar tales that we have lost our understanding of him and how he has been viewed by mankind throughout the ages. Now we can once again find out more about who it is that we pray to.

Le informazioni nella sezione "Riassunto" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

From the Back Cover:

British praise for God

"Deeply felt and genuine . . .Waugh's biography is a search for love---and strangely, the god he leaves us with, however impossible, remains attractive." ---Jeanette Winterson, The Times

"Immensely entertaining, and a sovereign remedy against the absurdities and dangers of religious belief . . . clever and perceptive." ---Literary Review

"Waugh has produced a monumental jeu d'ésprit, a testimony to human ingenuity and imagination, a cornucopia of bizarre musings on a perennial theme." ---Financial Times

"Peculiar and delightful . . . I loved it." ---Mail on Sunday

"A tremendously funny book with a serious purpose." ---Scotland on Sunday

"Ten out of ten for the title. And ten out of ten for the idea, the approach, the style, the writing---above all the writing---and the sublime audacity of it all." ---Michael Brown, Yorkshire Post

"Waugh's scholarship is extremely impressive." ---New Humanist

"I feel enriched---though not in a manner that would please the parish priest---for having accompanied Waugh on his irreverent quest." ---Belfast Telegraph

"An exhilarating train ride. As an atheist I was much heartened by this book." ---The Spectator

"If God has a sense of humor then I suspect that Waugh's reward will be in heaven." ---Rabbi Charles Middleburgh, Jewish Review

"We desperately need to be challenged to think clearly about the ways we believe in God and this book certainly does that." ---Rev. Harvey Richardson, Methodist Recorder

"Alexander Waugh deserves an accolade." ---Oxford Times

"This book makes mincemeat of theism . . . it should be compulsory reading for all schools and colleges." ---A. C. Grayling, Literary Review

"[Waugh's] sardonic, urbane tone is in the tradition of Gibbon or Hume... very funny... wherever you stand - or think you do - on the God question, this is a good read." --The Independent

About the Author:

Alexander Waugh is the grandson of Evelyn Waugh and son of columnist Auberon Waugh and novelist Teresa Waugh. He was chief Opera Critic at both the Mail on Sunday and the London Evening Standard, and is also a publisher (Travelman Publishing), cartoonist and award-winning composer.

Le informazioni nella sezione "Su questo libro" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

I migliori risultati di ricerca su AbeBooks

1.

Waugh, Alexander
Editore: Headline Book Publishing (2003)
ISBN 10: 0747266506 ISBN 13: 9780747266501
Nuovi Paperback Quantità: 2
Da
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Headline Book Publishing, 2003. Paperback. Condizione libro: New. Codice libro della libreria P110747266506

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 38,66
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 2,56
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

2.

Waugh, Alexander
Editore: Headline Book Publishing
ISBN 10: 0747266506 ISBN 13: 9780747266501
Nuovi PAPERBACK Quantità: 1
Da
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Headline Book Publishing. PAPERBACK. Condizione libro: New. 0747266506 New Condition. Codice libro della libreria NEW6.0384426

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 52,90
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 4,27
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

3.

Alexander Waugh
Editore: Headline Book Publishing (2003)
ISBN 10: 0747266506 ISBN 13: 9780747266501
Nuovi Paperback Quantità: 1
Da
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Headline Book Publishing, 2003. Paperback. Condizione libro: New. book. Codice libro della libreria 0747266506

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 57,33
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

4.

Alexander Waugh
Editore: Headline Book Publishing (2003)
ISBN 10: 0747266506 ISBN 13: 9780747266501
Nuovi Paperback Quantità: 1
Da
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Headline Book Publishing, 2003. Paperback. Condizione libro: New. book. Codice libro della libreria 747266506

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 147,10
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi