Healing Beyond The Body: Medicine and the Infinite Reach of the Mind

Valutazione media 3,83
( su 23 valutazioni fornite da GoodReads )
 
9780749929947: Healing Beyond The Body: Medicine and the Infinite Reach of the Mind

If modern medicine is truly to be a healing art, says Dr. Larry Dossey, it must embrace three ideas it has too long ignored. It must address not only our bodies, but our minds and spirits as well; it must deal not only with the mechanism of illness, but with its meaning; and it must recognize that our power to heal and be healed extends beyond our physical bodies. Bestselling author Dossey is one of the most influential spokespersons for the role of consciousness and spirituality in medicine. In these writings, he explores the relationship - often documented in extensive research - between science and 'unscientific' topics such as prayer, love, laughter, work, war, creativity, dreams and immortality. Does the mind produce consciousness - or transmit it? Why has job stress become a worldwide epidemic? Could war be a biological condition? Why is fishing good for your health? How can science study the effects of prayer? Dossey tackles all these questions and more. Some essays are funny, some sober, some inspirational. Each in its own way challenges us to examine ourselves and our health in a new and different light.

Le informazioni nella sezione "Riassunto" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

Recensione:

HEALING BEYOND THE BODY offers a rare opportunity to look at human nature through the eyes of a physician and see the shape of the Divine. This brilliant collection of medical essays is a great contribution to the literature of medicine and of consciousness, placing Dossey in the tradition of Richard Selzer, Lewis Thomas, and Oliver Sacks ( Rachel Naomi Remen, M.D., author of KITCHEN TABLE WISDOM and MY GRANDFATHER'S BLESSINGS)

Descrizione del libro:

A collection of intelligent essays covering all possible fields of mind, body and spirit healing in orthodox medical practice and complimentary medicine.

Le informazioni nella sezione "Su questo libro" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

I migliori risultati di ricerca su AbeBooks

1.

Larry Dossey
Editore: Piatkus Books
ISBN 10: 0749929944 ISBN 13: 9780749929947
Nuovi Paperback Quantità: 1
Da
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Piatkus Books. Paperback. Condizione libro: New. book. Codice libro della libreria 0749929944

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 23,91
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi