Lyndsay Faye Gods of Gotham

ISBN 13: 9780755386741

Gods of Gotham

Valutazione media 3,87
( su 11.528 valutazioni fornite da Goodreads )
 
9780755386741: Gods of Gotham
Vedi tutte le copie di questo ISBN:
 
 

'Spectacular' Gillian Flynn. GODS OF GOTHAM is the fantastic first novel in Lyndsay Faye's Edgar Award-nominated series, for fans of Andrew Taylor and Antonia Hodgson's The Devil in the Marshalsea. August 1845 in New York; enter the dark, unforgiving city underworld of the legendary Five Points... After a fire decimates a swathe of lower Manhattan, and following years of passionate political dispute, New York City at long last forms an official Police Department. That same summer, the great potato famine hits Ireland. These events will change the city of New York for ever.Timothy Wilde hadn't wanted to be a copper star. On the night of August 21st, on his way home from the Tombs defeated and disgusted, he is plotting his resignation, when a young girl who has escaped from a nearby brothel, crashes into him; she wears only a nightdress and is covered from head to toe in blood. Searching out the truth in the child's wild stories, Timothy soon finds himself on the trail of a brutal killer, seemingly hell bent on fanning the flames of anti-Irish immigrant sentiment and threatening chaos in a city already in the midst of social upheaval. But his fight for justice could cost him the woman he loves, his brother and ultimately his life...

Le informazioni nella sezione "Riassunto" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

Recensione:

'The Gods of Gotham' is a wonderful book. Lyndsay Faye's command of historical detail is remarkable and her knowledge of human character even more so. I bought into this world in the opening pages and never once had the desire to leave. It's a great read!' (Michael Connelly)

The launch of a brilliant new mystery series, set in 1845 New York City: Irish Potato Famine, the birth of the police force, brothels and bedlam (Gillian Flynn, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Gone Girl)

[An] excellent historical about NYC in the 1840s and the establishment of the NYPD (Lee Child)

'Lyndsay Faye's exquisite new novel, The Gods of Gotham, plunges us into the teeming, sordid streets of Old New York...a raucous underworld of criminals and chiselers, the infamous Five Points, where thieves speak their own argot... In this vivid and impeccably crafted adventure, newly minted 'copper star' Timothy Wilde is the only man who can solve a series of gruesome murders. Faye's prose crackles with historical authenticity so cunningly rendered that readers will lose themselves from the very first turn of the page' (Katherine Howe, New York Times Bestselling author of THE PHYSICK BOOK OF DELIVERANCE DANE)

'Lyndsay Faye is a superstar caliber writer. She confidently and exquisitely recreates the past while her characters live on with you in the present, the elusive gold standard for a historical novel. The Gods of Gotham is a gift to the genre that readers will surely reslish while we wait for Faye's next one' (Matthew Pearl)

'Penetrating psychological study, flawless social history, beautifully crafted thriller... The Gods of Gotham is all these things, and a crackling great yarn to boot. Old New York has never been so blazingly alive. Lyndsay Faye is a writer to watch - and keep watching...' (Louis Bayard, author of SCHOOL OF NIGHT)

'Reading The Gods of Gotham is like being magically transported to another time. You'll be overwhelmed with the sights, sounds, smells and chaos of New York in the 1840s while never losing sight of the fact that this is a first-rate crime novel for any era. I can't wait to see what Lyndsay Faye will conjure next' (Otto Penzler, THE MYSTERIOUS BOOKSHOP)

'Intriguingly complex yet deliciously smooth, The Gods of Gotham is, in a word, stunning. The vivid characters and deft use of the historical setting read like the work of an established writer at the top of her (or indeed, his) career - that Faye is a newcomer is cause for an exuberance of fireworks, at the mere thought of so many superb novels yet to come' (Laurie R. King, New York Times bestselling author of THE GOD OF THE HIVE and THE BEEKEEPER'S APPRENTICE)

'The Gods of Gotham blew me away. Unflinching and bold, creative and dazzling cinematic, nineteenth century New York is still alive' (Laura Caldwell, author of LONG WAY HOME)

Descrizione del libro:

'This is a series for the ages, it's so spectacular. Really, really just amazing' Gillian Flynn: THE GODS OF GOTHAM, nominated for Edgar Best Novel, conjures mid-ninteenth century New York's gritty, notorious Five Points.

Le informazioni nella sezione "Su questo libro" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

Altre edizioni note dello stesso titolo

9780425261255: The Gods of Gotham

Edizione in evidenza

ISBN 10:  0425261255 ISBN 13:  9780425261255
Casa editrice: Putnam Pub Group, 2013
Brossura

9780399158377: The Gods of Gotham

Putnam..., 2012
Rilegato

9781410448859: The Gods of Gotham

Thornd..., 2012
Rilegato

9780425257722: Gods of Gotham

Pengui..., 2012
Brossura

9780755386765: The Gods of Gotham

Headli..., 2012
Brossura

I migliori risultati di ricerca su AbeBooks

1.

Lyndsay Faye
Editore: Headline (2012)
ISBN 10: 0755386744 ISBN 13: 9780755386741
Nuovo Rilegato Quantità: 1
Da
Zarak Books
(Norwich, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Headline, 2012. Hard Cover. Condizione: New. Condizione sovraccoperta: New. Brand new copy. Dispatched within 24 hours of receiving the order. Codice articolo 043624

Informazioni sul venditore | Contattare il venditore

Compra nuovo
EUR 12,31
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 8,23
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

2.

Lyndsay Faye
Editore: Headline (2012)
ISBN 10: 0755386744 ISBN 13: 9780755386741
Nuovo Rilegato Quantità: 1
Da
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Headline, 2012. Hardcover. Condizione: Brand New. 9.49x6.38x1.46 inches. In Stock. Codice articolo __0755386744

Informazioni sul venditore | Contattare il venditore

Compra nuovo
EUR 26,80
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 8,53
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

3.

Faye, Lyndsay
Editore: Headline Publishing Group (2012)
ISBN 10: 0755386744 ISBN 13: 9780755386741
Nuovo Rilegato Quantità: 3
Da
Learnearly Books
(Doncaster, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Headline Publishing Group, 2012. Hardcover. Condizione: New. Rapidly dispatched worldwide from our clean, automated UK warehouse within 1-2 working days. Codice articolo mon0000016746

Informazioni sul venditore | Contattare il venditore

Compra nuovo
EUR 50,81
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 10,23
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

4.

Lyndsay Faye
Editore: Headline Publishing Group, United Kingdom (2012)
ISBN 10: 0755386744 ISBN 13: 9780755386741
Nuovo Rilegato Quantità: 1
Da
The Book Depository
(London, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Headline Publishing Group, United Kingdom, 2012. Hardback. Condizione: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Spectacular Gillian Flynn. GODS OF GOTHAM is the fantastic first novel in Lyndsay Faye s Edgar Award-nominated series, for fans of Andrew Taylor and Antonia Hodgson s The Devil in the Marshalsea. August 1845 in New York; enter the dark, unforgiving city underworld of the legendary Five Points. After a fire decimates a swathe of lower Manhattan, and following years of passionate political dispute, New York City at long last forms an official Police Department. That same summer, the great potato famine hits Ireland. These events will change the city of New York for ever.Timothy Wilde hadn t wanted to be a copper star. On the night of August 21st, on his way home from the Tombs defeated and disgusted, he is plotting his resignation, when a young girl who has escaped from a nearby brothel, crashes into him; she wears only a nightdress and is covered from head to toe in blood. Searching out the truth in the child s wild stories, Timothy soon finds himself on the trail of a brutal killer, seemingly hell bent on fanning the flames of anti-Irish immigrant sentiment and threatening chaos in a city already in the midst of social upheaval. But his fight for justice could cost him the woman he loves, his brother and ultimately his life. Codice articolo CBL9780755386741

Informazioni sul venditore | Contattare il venditore

Compra nuovo
EUR 86,70
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

5.

Lyndsay Faye
Editore: Headline Publishing Group, United Kingdom (2012)
ISBN 10: 0755386744 ISBN 13: 9780755386741
Nuovo Rilegato Quantità: 1
Da
Book Depository International
(London, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Headline Publishing Group, United Kingdom, 2012. Hardback. Condizione: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Spectacular Gillian Flynn. GODS OF GOTHAM is the fantastic first novel in Lyndsay Faye s Edgar Award-nominated series, for fans of Andrew Taylor and Antonia Hodgson s The Devil in the Marshalsea. August 1845 in New York; enter the dark, unforgiving city underworld of the legendary Five Points. After a fire decimates a swathe of lower Manhattan, and following years of passionate political dispute, New York City at long last forms an official Police Department. That same summer, the great potato famine hits Ireland. These events will change the city of New York for ever.Timothy Wilde hadn t wanted to be a copper star. On the night of August 21st, on his way home from the Tombs defeated and disgusted, he is plotting his resignation, when a young girl who has escaped from a nearby brothel, crashes into him; she wears only a nightdress and is covered from head to toe in blood. Searching out the truth in the child s wild stories, Timothy soon finds himself on the trail of a brutal killer, seemingly hell bent on fanning the flames of anti-Irish immigrant sentiment and threatening chaos in a city already in the midst of social upheaval. But his fight for justice could cost him the woman he loves, his brother and ultimately his life. Codice articolo CBL9780755386741

Informazioni sul venditore | Contattare il venditore

Compra nuovo
EUR 86,71
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

6.

Lyndsay Faye
Editore: Headline Review
ISBN 10: 0755386744 ISBN 13: 9780755386741
Nuovo Rilegato Quantità: 10
Da
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Headline Review. Hardcover. Condizione: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. Codice articolo B9780755386741

Informazioni sul venditore | Contattare il venditore

Compra nuovo
EUR 89,89
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 7,90
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi