Frank Gehry: The Houses

Valutazione media 3,25
( su 8 valutazioni fornite da Goodreads )
 
9780847830602: Frank Gehry: The Houses

One of the great architects of our time, Frank Gehry has revolutionized the use of materials in design and redefined how architects use computers as a design tool to advance form-making as we know it. He has achieved worldwide fame for such large-scale public projects as the Guggenheim Museum in Bilbao, Spain, and the Walt Disney Concert Hall in Los Angeles, California, but it was in private houses that Gehry first explored and interrogated the principles of modern architecture. In these houses—most notably his own, in Santa Monica, California—Gehry distorted, expanded, and collapsed the modernist box, exploring everyday materials (corrugated metal, unfinished plywood, and chain link), experimenting with color, and challenging accepted notions about geometry and structure. In houses such as the Schnabel House in Brentwood, California, and the Winton Guest House in Wayzata, Minnesota, he experimented with collage and assemblage. More recently, Gehry’s work has taken on sculptural forms, aided by new structural and geometric potentials of digital design, as in the near-legendary Lewis House in Lyndhurst, Ohio. Color photographs, sketches, and plans create an illuminating visual record of some of the most groundbreaking, seminal projects of Gehry’s oeuvre.

Le informazioni nella sezione "Riassunto" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

About the Author:

Frank Gehry has received widespread recognition for his work, including the Pritzker Prize, and many awards from the American Institute of Architects. Mildred Friedman is the editor of Rizzoli’s The Architecture of Frank Gehry (1986) and Gehry Talks: Architecture + Process (1999). Sylvia Lavin is professor of architectural history and theory at UCLA, where she was chairperson from 1996 to 2006.

Review:

The first book of the seminal residential works of Frank Gehry, from his earliest architectural ideas to today.

"Fans of Frank Gehry, FAIA—as well as anyone who primarily thinks of him as an institutional architect—will savor this unorthodox new book... By including homeowners' and collaborators' voices, Friedman provides a rich and candid look inside 23 of the starchitect's startlingly original midcareer houses." ~Residential Architect Online

Le informazioni nella sezione "Su questo libro" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

I migliori risultati di ricerca su AbeBooks

1.

Mildred Friedman
ISBN 10: 0847830608 ISBN 13: 9780847830602
Nuovi Quantità: 1
Da
L Books
(EPINAY SUR ORGE, Francia)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro see description. Condizione libro: New. Satisfaction Guaranteed. If you are not satisfied with your purchase, you can return it for a replacement or refund. Codice libro della libreria AEM2-350

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 107,69
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 9,01
Da: Francia a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

2.

Friedman, Mildred
Editore: Rizzoli (2009)
ISBN 10: 0847830608 ISBN 13: 9780847830602
Nuovi Rilegato Quantità: 2
Da
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Rizzoli, 2009. Hardcover. Condizione libro: New. Never used!. Codice libro della libreria P110847830608

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 156,37
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 1,68
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

3.

Mildred Friedman, Sylvia Lavin (Introduction)
Editore: Rizzoli (2009)
ISBN 10: 0847830608 ISBN 13: 9780847830602
Nuovi Rilegato Quantità: 1
Da
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Rizzoli, 2009. Hardcover. Condizione libro: New. Codice libro della libreria DADAX0847830608

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 219,29
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 7,57
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi