Barker, Susan The Incarnations

ISBN 13: 9780857522573

The Incarnations

Valutazione media 3,77
( su 3.393 valutazioni fornite da GoodReads )
 
9780857522573: The Incarnations

'A thrilling journey through a thousand years of obsession and betrayal, this is the most extraordinary work of imagination you'll read all year' ADAM JOHNSON, Winner of the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction 2013

'An extraordinary novel. Erudite, intriguing and compulsively readable, Susan Barker, a born story-teller, has written one of the most remarkable novels of recent years' JOHN BOYNE

'A brilliant, mind-expanding, and wildly original novel' CHRIS CLEAVE

'What a ferociously talented writer Susan Barker is. The Incarnations is a hallucinatory ride. Highly recommend' ANNA HOPE, author of Wake

Beijing, 2008, the Olympics are coming, but as taxi driver Wang circles the city’s congested streets, he feels barely alive. His daily grind is suddenly interrupted when he finds a letter in the sunshade of his cab. Someone is watching him. Someone who claims to be his soulmate and to have known him for over a thousand years.

Other letters follow, taking Wang back in time: to a spirit-bride in the Tang Dynasty; to young slaves during the Mongol invasion; to concubines plotting to kill the emperor; to a kidnapping in the Opium War; and to Red Guards during the Cultural revolution.

And with each letter, Wang feels the watcher in the shadows growing closer …

Sweeping between China past and present, THE INCARNATIONS illuminates the cyclical nature of history, and shows how man is condemned to repeat the same mistakes over and over again.

Le informazioni nella sezione "Riassunto" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

Recensione:

"Reads as China's Midnight's Children. Utterly remarkable" ( The Independent)

"An extraordinary novel. Erudite, intriguing and compulsively readable, THE INCARNATIONS takes the reader on an intimate and mesmerizing journey through Chinese history. Susan Barker, a born story-teller, has written one of the most remarkable novels of recent years." (JOHN BOYNE)

"A thrilling journey through a thousand years of obsession and betrayal and a vivid tapestry of the individual's struggle against the tyranny of history, this is the most extraordinary work of imagination you'll read all year" (ADAM JOHNSON, WINNER OF THE PULITZER PRIZE FOR FICTION 2013)

"A brilliant, mind-expanding and wildly original novel" (CHRIS CLEAVE)

"What a ferociously talented writer Susan Barker is. The Incarnations is a hallucinatory ride. Highly recommend" (ANNA HOPE, Author of WAKE)

"Remarkable - ambitious in scope, painstakingly researched and most importantly, a gripping read." ( Publishing Perspectives)

"Letters from someone who claims to have known him for 1,000 years unsettle a cabbie." ( The Observer)

"A MUST-READ - July picks" ( Marie-Claire Magazine)

"Ambitious in scope, scholarly in depth, and absolutely rivetting ...Sure to make an impact and she deserves all the praise - and most likely prize(s) - that will follow." ( South China Post)

"Light and often witty ...There is tragedy, though perhaps not where the reader expects it, but there is also hope." ( www.thatsmags.com China)

"Invigorating. To recreate convincingly a single historical period is an achievement. To recreate six is to approach virtuosity ... Deft, smart, various and warm: a very good book indeed." ( Sunday Business Post, Ireland)

"Multi-layered and masterful. Suspend your disbelief, flow along with this wonderful book." ( Guardian)

"Not since Jung Chang's WILD SWANS has there been such a visceral re-telling of the old days." ( Open Magazine, India)

"Barker resembles David Mitchell in the ability to weave together past and present in a convincing, and ultimately intriguing, manner" ( Sydney Morning Herald)

"China reels with tension" ( LA Review)

"

This is a beautifully structured novel, and the interspersed letters describing previous lives are engrossing and sharp. These past lives are too real to feel like mere metaphor. Cruelty, betrayal and slavery reoccur over the centuries, and are echoed in Wang’s modern life.

The prose is light and often witty, and the characterization is one of the book’s most impressive aspects… This is an extremely satisfying and intelligent book

" ( That’s Shanghai)

"A wonderful piece of historical/fantasy/suspense fiction unlike anything else I've read... Constantly unpredictable and surprising" ( Goodreads)

"Barker is a phenomenal storyteller. She time-travels seamlessly from the Tang Dynasty in AD 632 to contemporary Beijing and each snippet of each incarnation, rich in convincing detail, is utterly mesmerising" ( Goodreads)

"Barker has created a set of characters who jump off the page and Wang's heartrending story is sensitively told" ( madabouthebooks.co.uk)

"Seamlessly weaving Chinese folklore, history, and literary classics, The Incarnations is a taut and gripping novel that sheds light on the cyclical nature of history and it hints that the past is never truly settled." ( Fantastic Fiction)

Descrizione del libro:

LONGLISTED FOR THE FOLIO PRIZE 2015: A literary novel of betrayal and intrigue in China lived again and again by one soul across a thousand years - for fans of THE NARROW ROAD TO THE DEEP NORTH and LIFE AFTER LIFE.

Le informazioni nella sezione "Su questo libro" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

I migliori risultati di ricerca su AbeBooks

1.

Barker, Susan
Editore: Doubleday (2014)
ISBN 10: 0857522574 ISBN 13: 9780857522573
Nuovi Rilegato Quantità: 1
Da
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Doubleday, 2014. Hardcover. Condizione libro: New. book. Codice libro della libreria 857522574

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 70,59
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi