Arctic Summer

Valutazione media 3,72
( su 717 valutazioni fornite da Goodreads )
 
9780857897190: Arctic Summer

"Beautifully written and utterly compelling.... A vivid, moving account of [E.M. Forster] that makes you want to read all his books again."--The Times

     This masterpiece novel about E.M. Forster, his life, struggles with homosexuality, and the writing of his universally loved novel A Passage to India will call to mind the international success of Colm Toibin's The Master. For readers of Toibin, Ian McEwan, and J.M. Coetzee.
     In 1912, the SS Birmingham approaches India. On board is Morgan Forster, novelist and man of letters, who is embarking on a journey of discovery. As Morgan stands on deck, the promise of a strange new future begins to take shape before his eyes. The seeds of a story start to gather at the corner of his mind: a sense of impending menace, lust in close confines, under a hot, empty sky. It will be another twelve years, and a second, and much longer time spent in India, before A Passage to India, E.M. Forster's most beloved work of literature, is completed. During these years, Morgan will come to a recognition of his homosexuality and of the infinite subtleties and complexities of human nature. Arctic Summer is a literary masterpiece, an intimate portrait of the man who became one of Britain's finest novelists, his struggle to find a way of living and being, and a stunningly vivid evocation of the mysterious alchemy of the creative process.

Le informazioni nella sezione "Riassunto" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

About the Author:

DAMON GALGUT is an award-winning novelist and short story writer. His most recent novels include In a Strange Room, The Impostor, a regional finalist for the Commonwealth Writers' Prize for Best Book, and The Good Doctor, winner of a regional Commonwealth Writers' Prize for Best Book and a finalist for the Man Booker Prize and the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award. Galgut lives in Cape Town, South Africa.

Review:

   · "[Arctic Summer is] a judicious, well-proportioned look at the personal life of E.M. Forster [and] a solid contribution to a literary niche.... This is a dignified and absorbing novel."--New York Times 

   · "Arctic Summer is a deeply Fosterian novel on multiple levels... Galgut is bringing together the threads of empire, love and novel-writing in a new way."--Globe and Mail 

   · "A bold, imaginative exploration of the novelist's inner life."--The Observer

Le informazioni nella sezione "Su questo libro" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

I migliori risultati di ricerca su AbeBooks

1.

Galgut, Damon
Editore: Atlantic Books (2014)
ISBN 10: 0857897195 ISBN 13: 9780857897190
Nuovi Brossura Quantità: 10
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Atlantic Books, 2014. Condizione libro: New. 2014. Export & Airside ed. Paperback. . . . . . Codice libro della libreria V9780857897190

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 17,12
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
Da: Irlanda a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

2.

Galgut, Damon
Editore: Atlantic Books
ISBN 10: 0857897195 ISBN 13: 9780857897190
Nuovi Brossura Quantità: 10
Da
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Atlantic Books. Condizione libro: New. 2014. Export & Airside ed. Paperback. . . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Codice libro della libreria V9780857897190

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 17,69
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

3.

Damon Galgut
Editore: ATLANTIC BOOKS, United Kingdom (2014)
ISBN 10: 0857897195 ISBN 13: 9780857897190
Nuovi Paperback Quantità: 1
Da
Book Depository hard to find
(London, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro ATLANTIC BOOKS, United Kingdom, 2014. Paperback. Condizione libro: New. Export/Airside. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. In 1912, the SS Birmingham approaches India. On board is Morgan Forster, novelist and man of letters, who is embarking on a journey of discovery. As Morgan stands on deck, the promise of a strange new future begins to take shape before his eyes. The seeds of a story start to gather at the corner of his mind: a sense of impending menace, lust in close confines, under a hot, empty sky. It will be another twelve years, and a second time spent in India, before A Passage to India, E. M. Forster s great work of literature, is published. During these years, Morgan will come to a profound understanding of himself as a man, and of the infinite subtleties and complexity of human nature, bringing these great insights to bear in his remarkable novel.At once a fictional exploration of the life and times of one of Britain s finest novelists, his struggle to find a way of living and being, and a stunningly vivid evocation of the mysterious alchemy of the creative process, Arctic Summer is a literary masterpiece, by one of the finest writers of his generation. Codice libro della libreria LVN9780857897190

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 18,10
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

4.

Galgut, Damon; Galgut, Damon
Editore: Atlantic (2014)
ISBN 10: 0857897195 ISBN 13: 9780857897190
Nuovi Paperback Quantità: 1
Da
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Atlantic, 2014. Paperback. Condizione libro: Brand New. In Stock. Codice libro della libreria __0857897195

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 37,90
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 6,54
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi