The All of It

Valutazione media 3,65
( su 2.090 valutazioni fornite da Goodreads )
 
9780879236236: The All of It

Jeannette Haien’s award-winning first novel relates the seemingly simple tale of a parishioner confiding in her priest, but the tangled confession brings secrets to light that provoke a moral quandary for not only the clergyman, but the reader as well. Set in a small town in Ireland, Haien’s intimate novel of conversations and dilemmas—perfect for readers of Paul Harding’s Tinkers, Marilynne Robinson’s Gilead, and Flannery O’Connor’s Wise Blood—is “an elegantly written, compact and often subtle tale ofmorality and passion that gives voice to an age-old concern in a fresh way” (NewYork Times Book Review). Harper Perennial breathes new life into this 1986 classic in a new edition with an introduction by Ann Patchett.

Le informazioni nella sezione "Riassunto" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

Review:

Soaked by a miserable rain, Father Declan de Lowry swats midges and unsuccessfully casts for salmon while mulling the deathbed confession of a parishioner from the tiny Irish village of Roonatellin. The good priest is frantic to know why Kevin Dennehy refused to the end to marry Enda, who lived as his wife for decades with none suspecting their sin. When pressed, Kevin would only say, "there's some explanations that get you nowhere." That leaves it to Enda, an Irish Scheherazade, to breathlessly tell Father "the all of it," a wild, eyebrow-raising tale that meanders like sheep on the narrow roads. Her enthusiasm and Jeannette Haien's musical, evocative phrasing sweep this winning, humorous novel along.

From the Back Cover:

While fishing in an Irish salmonstream one rainy morning,Father Declan de Loughryponders the recent deathbed confessionof his parishioner Kevin Dennehy.It seems Dennehy and his wife, Enda,had been quietly living a lie for fiftyyears. Yet the gravity of their deceptiondoesn’t become clear to the good fatheruntil Enda shares the full tale of her suffering,finally confiding “the all of it.”

Jeannette Haien’s exquisite, awardwinningfirst novel is a deceptively simplestory that resonates with the powerof a modern-day myth—an unforgettablenarrative of transgression, empathy,and, ultimately, absolution.

Le informazioni nella sezione "Su questo libro" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

I migliori risultati di ricerca su AbeBooks

1.

Haien, Jeannette
Editore: David R Godine Pub (1986)
ISBN 10: 087923623X ISBN 13: 9780879236236
Nuovi Rilegato Quantità: 2
Da
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro David R Godine Pub, 1986. Hardcover. Condizione libro: New. Never used!. Codice libro della libreria P11087923623X

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 56,20
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 1,69
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi