Articoli correlati a Where the Crawdads Sing: Delia Owens

Where the Crawdads Sing: Delia Owens - Rilegato

 
9781472154644: Where the Crawdads Sing: Delia Owens
Vedi tutte le copie di questo ISBN:
 
 

#1 New York Times Bestseller

A Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick

"I can't even express how much I love this book! I didn't want this story to end!" Reese Witherspoon

"Painfully beautiful." The New York Times Book Review

For years, rumors of the "Marsh Girl" have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life - until the unthinkable happens.

Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Celeste Ng, Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder. Owens reminds us that we are forever shaped by the children we once were, and that we are all subject to the beautiful and violent secrets that nature keeps.

Le informazioni nella sezione "Riassunto" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

Recensione:
A painfully beautiful first novel that is at once a murder mystery, a coming-of-age narrative and a celebration of nature . . . Owens here surveys the desolate marshlands of the North Carolina coast through the eyes of an abandoned child. And in her isolation that child makes us open our own eyes to the secret wonders-and dangers-of her private world (New York Times Book Review)

Part murder-mystery, part coming-of-age novel, its evocation of the marshland and its inhabitants is as unforgettable as Kya herself. A story of loneliness, survival and love that's as engrossing as it is moving (Daily Mail)

For a debut the prose is impressively accomplished . . . A Hollywood film seems inevitable. Yet it will be hard to match on screen the delicacy of Owens's exploration of the natural world. Kya and her magical little world are a rare achievement (The Times)

Kya is a compelling character, Owen's descriptive prose is lushly impressive, and the twist in the narrative's tail is neat (Sunday Times Culture)

Owens combines high tension with precise detail about how people dress, sound, live and eat - the case studies in her book are both human and natural . . . Surprise bestsellers are often works that chime with the times. Though set in the 1950s and 60s, Where the Crawdads Sing is, in its treatment of racial and social division and the fragile complexities of nature, obviously relevant to contemporary politics and ecology. But these themes will reach a huge audience though the writer's old-fashioned talents for compelling character, plotting and landscape description (the Guardian)

For sheer escapism pick up Where The Crawdads Sing . . . there is writing that takes your breath away (The Times (separate review))

An Amazon Best Book of August 2018: This novel has a mystery at its core, but it can be read on a variety of levels. There is great nature writing; there is coming of age; and there is literature. Crawdads is a story lovingly told-one that takes its time in developing its characters and setting, and in developing the story. You'll want to relax and take your time as well, and when you're done you will want to talk about it with another reader. (Chris Schluep, Amazon Book Review)

Unsettling and tinged with sadness, yet astonishingly fresh, powerful and mesmerising - with a surprising ending that will haunt you. I couldn't put it down (The Lady)

The strength of the story comes from the sympathetic portrait of its heroine who cannot fail to captivate, right up until the surprising end (UK Press Association and Independent I)

Steeped in the rhythms and shadows of the coastal marshes of North Carolina's Outer Banks, this fierce and hauntingly beautiful novel centers on...Kya's heartbreaking story of learning to trust human connections, intertwine[d] with a gripping murder mystery, revealing savage truths. An astonishing debut. (People)
Descrizione del libro:
Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Celeste Ng, Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder.

Le informazioni nella sezione "Su questo libro" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

  • EditoreCorsair
  • Data di pubblicazione2019
  • ISBN 10 1472154649
  • ISBN 13 9781472154644
  • RilegaturaCopertina rigida
  • Numero edizione1
  • Numero di pagine384
  • Valutazione libreria

Altre edizioni note dello stesso titolo

9780735219090: Where the Crawdads Sing

Edizione in evidenza

ISBN 10:  0735219095 ISBN 13:  9780735219090
Casa editrice: G.P. Putnam's Sons, 2018
Rilegato

  • 9781472154668: Where the Crawdads Sing: Delia Owens

    Corsair, 2019
    Brossura

  • 9781984827616: Where the Crawdads Sing

    Random..., 2018
    Brossura

  • 9780735219106: Where the Crawdads Sing: Reese's Book Club (A Novel)

    Pengui..., 2021
    Brossura

  • 9780593187982: Where the Crawdads Sing Deluxe Edition

    G.P. P..., 2019
    Rilegato

I migliori risultati di ricerca su AbeBooks

Foto dell'editore

Delia Owens
Editore: Corsair (2019)
ISBN 10: 1472154649 ISBN 13: 9781472154644
Nuovo Rilegato Quantità: 1
Da:
Big Bill's Books
(Wimberley, TX, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria

Descrizione libro Hardcover. Condizione: new. Brand New Copy. Codice articolo BBB_new1472154649

Informazioni sul venditore | Contatta il venditore

Compra nuovo
EUR 18,99
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 2,79
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi
Foto dell'editore

Delia Owens
Editore: Corsair (2019)
ISBN 10: 1472154649 ISBN 13: 9781472154644
Nuovo Rilegato Quantità: 1
Da:
GoldenDragon
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria

Descrizione libro Hardcover. Condizione: new. Buy for Great customer experience. Codice articolo GoldenDragon1472154649

Informazioni sul venditore | Contatta il venditore

Compra nuovo
EUR 22,73
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,02
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi
Foto dell'editore

Delia Owens
Editore: Corsair (2019)
ISBN 10: 1472154649 ISBN 13: 9781472154644
Nuovo Rilegato Quantità: 1
Da:
Wizard Books
(Long Beach, CA, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria

Descrizione libro Hardcover. Condizione: new. New. Codice articolo Wizard1472154649

Informazioni sul venditore | Contatta il venditore

Compra nuovo
EUR 25,73
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,26
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi
Foto dell'editore

Delia Owens
Editore: Corsair (2019)
ISBN 10: 1472154649 ISBN 13: 9781472154644
Nuovo Rilegato Quantità: 1
Da:
GoldBooks
(Denver, CO, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria

Descrizione libro Hardcover. Condizione: new. New Copy. Customer Service Guaranteed. Codice articolo think1472154649

Informazioni sul venditore | Contatta il venditore

Compra nuovo
EUR 25,63
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,95
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi
Foto dell'editore

Delia Owens
Editore: Corsair (2019)
ISBN 10: 1472154649 ISBN 13: 9781472154644
Nuovo Rilegato Quantità: 1
Da:
Front Cover Books
(Denver, CO, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria

Descrizione libro Condizione: new. Codice articolo FrontCover1472154649

Informazioni sul venditore | Contatta il venditore

Compra nuovo
EUR 27,59
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 4,00
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi
Foto dell'editore

Delia Owens
Editore: Corsair (2019)
ISBN 10: 1472154649 ISBN 13: 9781472154644
Nuovo Rilegato Quantità: 1
Da:
GoldenWavesOfBooks
(Fayetteville, TX, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria

Descrizione libro Hardcover. Condizione: new. New. Fast Shipping and good customer service. Codice articolo Holz_New_1472154649

Informazioni sul venditore | Contatta il venditore

Compra nuovo
EUR 30,67
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,72
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi