Across the Red River: Rwanda, Burundi and the Heart of Darkness

Jennings, Christian

Editore: Weidenfeld & Nicolson, 2000
ISBN 10: 0575062525 / ISBN 13: 9780575062528
Usato / Quantità: 0
Copie del libro da altre librerie
Mostra tutte le  copie di questo libro

Libro

Purtroppo questa copia non è più disponibile. Di seguito ti proponiamo una lista di copie simili.

Descrizione:

Gently used. Expect delivery in 20 days. Codice inventario libreria

Su questo libro:

Book ratings provided by Goodreads):
3,92 valutazione media
(38 valutazioni)

Riassunto: 'When seven Burundian paratroopers booted down the door of my hotel room and arrested me, I was wearing nothing but a towelling dressing-gown. With angry movements of their Kalashnikovs, they gestured to me to get dressed. What, I wondered in that long, slow-motion second before the fear kicked in, do you wear to your own execution? Would the Gap jeans do one more day?' In the summer of 1994, Christian Jennings arrived in Rwanda with an almost impossible mission: he had five days to track down the army officers and government ministers responsible for the slaughter of 850,000 people and persuade them to participate in a TV documentary about their crimes. He had fifteen thousand dollars taped to his thigh, a satellite phone, thirty feet of rope, eighteen litres of mineral water and a good command of French. Nothing in his past - which included service in the French Foreign Legion and a spell in publishing - prepared him for the three and a half years that followed. Across the Red River is an epic account of the terror and beauty of Central Africa, both moving and harrowing in its detail, and frequently appallingly funny.

From the Publisher: In the summer of 1994, Christian Jennings arrived in Rwanda with an almost impossible mission: he had five days to track down the army officers and government officials responsible for the slaughter of 850,000 people and persuade them to participate in a television documentary about their crimes. Nothing in his past prepared him for the three and a half years that followed. A devastating examination of politics and genocide.

Le informazioni nella sezione "Su questo libro" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

Dati bibliografici

Titolo: Across the Red River: Rwanda, Burundi and ...
Casa editrice: Weidenfeld & Nicolson
Data di pubblicazione: 2000
Condizione libro: very good

I migliori risultati di ricerca su AbeBooks

1.

Jennings, Christian
Editore: Gollancz, London (2000)
ISBN 10: 0575062525 ISBN 13: 9780575062528
Usato Rilegato Prima edizione Quantità: 1
Da
ENBURY BOOKS
(Tunbridge Wells, KENT, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Gollancz, London, 2000. Hardcover. Condizione libro: Very Good. Condizione sovraccoperta: Very Good. 1st Edition. A very good hardcover book in a like dust jacket. Codice libro della libreria 012602

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra usato
EUR 8,44
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 10,98
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

2.

C. Jennings
ISBN 10: 0575062525 ISBN 13: 9780575062528
Usato Quantità: 1
Da
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Condizione libro: Very Good. Book Condition: Very Good. Codice libro della libreria 97805750625283.0

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra usato
EUR 11,09
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,42
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

3.

Jennings, Christian
Editore: Victor Gollancz, London (2000)
ISBN 10: 0575062525 ISBN 13: 9780575062528
Usato Rilegato Prima edizione Quantità: 1
Da
Pambili Books
(Malahide, Irlanda)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Victor Gollancz, London, 2000. Hardcover. Condizione libro: As New. Condizione sovraccoperta: Fine. 1st Edition. Rwanda, Burundi and the Heart of Darkness. In the summer of 1994, Christian Jennings arrived in Rwanda with an almost impossible mission: he had five days to track down the army officers and government ministers responsible for the slaughter of 850,000 people and persuade them to participate in a TV documentary about their crimes. He had fifteen thousand dollars taped to his thigh, a sattelite phone, thirty feet of rope, eighteen litres of mineral water and a good command of French. Nothing in his past - which included service in the French Foreign Legion and a spell in publishing - prepared him for the three and a half years that followed. Across the Red River is an epic account of the terror and beauty of Central Africa, both moving and harrowing in its detail, and frequently appallingly funny. None. Codice libro della libreria BK65

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra usato
EUR 15,00
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 14,51
Da: Irlanda a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

4.

Jennings, Christian
Editore: Gollancz 2000 (2000)
ISBN 10: 0575062525 ISBN 13: 9780575062528
Usato Quantità: 1
Da
Dial-A-Book
(NARRABEEN, NSW, Australia)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Gollancz 2000, 2000. 8vo hardcover 350pp, b/w illus. good, wear to bottom edge / good d/w with wear to bottom edge. Christian Jennings is not a man to rest on his laurels. Not content with the rigours of the French Foreign Legion (documented in his first book, A Mouthful of Rocks, he flew to Rwanda in August 1994 with a rucksack of provisions, The Day of the Jackal, and a self-confessed ignorance of the country beyond the knowledge that 850,000 people had just been slaughtered in brutal acts of genocide. Also, he had a television producer on her way who wanted to find the people responsible within the five-day span of her trip. Apart from the miraculous completion of that programme, the other thing to emerge from this immersion into the landscape of Joseph Conrad's Heart of Darkness, was a fascination with Central Africa that saw Jennings return again and again. He was to report for Sunday Telegraph and Reuters in Rwanda, its sibling-in-horror Burundi, and the former Zaire with fearful bravery, but in the impressive Across the Red River he navigates the territory between reportage and memoir. Cleverly matching his learning curve to the reader's, he moves from his virtual ignorance of Rwanda and its mesh of tragedy to a deeper understanding of the weave and durability of that net, achieved with a flowing and refreshing candour. If there are two lines of war journalism, with writers such as Michael Ignatieff providing a more intellectual overview from the hills, Christian Jennings is on the frontline with souls such as Maggie O'Kane, Eve-Ann Prentice and Anthony Loyd. As with the latter's My War Gone By, I Miss It So, Jennings is able to unbridle his sense of self to stirring effect and show the mundane tedium as well as the brutal tension of reporting from, and surviving in, war. Occasionally angry, more often darkly funny, his book proves an unsettling yet riveting critique of the unimaginable effects of genocide, those who feed off its corpse and the few, like Jennings, who live to open our eyes. --David Vincent nn Book Descriptionn A devastating account of the Central African nightmare, in the tradition of Anyone Here Been Raped and Speaks English and We Wish to Inform You that Tomorrow We Will Be Killed with Our Families. Codice libro della libreria 28052

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra usato
EUR 9,39
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 17,12
Da: Australia a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

5.

Christian Jennings
Editore: Weidenfeld & Nicolson
ISBN 10: 0575062525 ISBN 13: 9780575062528
Usato Rilegato Quantità: 1
Da
Free Shipping Books
(Toledo, OH, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Weidenfeld & Nicolson. Hardcover. Condizione libro: VERY GOOD. little to no wear, pages are clean. The cover and binding are crisp with next no creases. Codice libro della libreria 2752001703

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra usato
EUR 176,34
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

6.

Christian Jennings
Editore: Victor Gollancz (1996)
ISBN 10: 0575062525 ISBN 13: 9780575062528
Nuovi Rilegato Quantità: 1
Da
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Victor Gollancz, 1996. Hardcover. Condizione libro: New. Codice libro della libreria DADAX0575062525

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 565,03
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,42
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi