ISBN 10: 0898869757 / ISBN 13: 9780898869750
Usato / Quantità: 0
Copie del libro da altre librerie
Mostra tutte le  copie di questo libro

Libro

Purtroppo questa copia non è più disponibile. Di seguito ti proponiamo una lista di copie simili.

Descrizione:

Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service! Summary: A celebration in word and image of the birds who return each year to the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge to nest-and how they link every point on the globe. Featuring 200 color photos from award-winning nature photographers Subhankar Banerjee, Steven Kazlowski, and Arthur Morris. Includes essays and text contributions from noted writers, biologists, and conservationists including David Allen Sibley, Debbie Miller, Kenn Kaufmann, and President Jimmy Carter. You will find life histories of individual bird species from every major group including shorebirds, songbirds, and raptors plus dramatic stories of migration and strategies for survival. Comes complete with a CD of arctic bird songs. Codice inventario libreria

Su questo libro:

Book ratings provided by GoodReads):
4 valutazione media
(6 valutazioni)

Riassunto: A celebration in word and image of the birds who return each year to the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge to nest—and how they link every point on the globe • 200 color photos from award-winning nature photographers Subhankar Banerjee, Steven Kazlowski, and Arthur Morris • Essays/text contributions by noted writers, biologists, and conservationists including David Allen Sibley, Debbie Miller, Kenn Kaufmann, and President Jimmy Carter, CD Audio by birdsong recordist, Martyn Stewart • Life histories of individual bird species from every major group including shorebirds, songbirds, and raptors plus dramatic stories of migration and strategies for survival A Buff-breasted sandpiper running along a barrier beach in the Carolinas is only mid-way in an annual journey of incredible magnitude—one that takes it from its nesting ground in the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge to its winter quarters on the pampas of South America. The Yellow wagtail begins life in a willow thicket in the Arctic but winters in Indonesia, where its return each year signals rice farmers to begin their spring planting. The ecosystems of the world are linked by birds, and nowhere is that more apparent than the Arctic Refuge, where more than 180 species converge from six continents and all fifty states to nest and rear their young. The unique habitats of the Arctic Refuge and the intense Arctic summer produce a rich diet that makes the incredible migrations worthwhile.

Essays include DAVID ALLEN SIBLEY on the grand dance of avian migration and the sense of time and place on the earth that it provides; DEBBIE MILLER tells of how the incredible journey of songbirds from the Arctic Refuge and back connects the world’s habitats—and its people—together; biologist MARK WILSON shares his story of discovery canoeing down the Refuge’s Canning River; STANLEY E. SENNER, Vice President of Audubon Alaska, explains the ecological importance of the region and how oil development has impacted the North Slope; and ROBERT THOMPSON, an Inupiat wildlife guide, reveals the relationship between birds and native culture.

Three photographers contributed to this project: SUBHANKAR BANERJEE, author of Arctic National Wildlife Refuge: Seasons of Life and Land, has had his images featured in major museums such as the Smithsonian Institute of Natural History and in magazines such as Vanity Fair; nature photographer STEVEN KAZLOWSKI was a finalist for Wildlife magazine’s 2004 Wildlife Photographer of the Year award. Among his previous books are Alaska Wildlife Impressions and Bears of the North; ARTHUR MORRIS specializes in bird photography and has had more than 11,000 of his photos published in magazine such as American Bird, Audobon, National Geographic, Outdoor Photographer and many more.

Arctic Wings is produced jointly by The Mountaineers Books and Manomet Center for Conservation Science. It is published in the tradition of Seasons of Life and Land—a book (photography by Subhankar Banerjee) that has won critical acclaim and has helped inform the debate over opening the Arctic Refuge to oil drilling.

Le informazioni nella sezione "Su questo libro" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

Dati bibliografici

Condizione libro: New

I migliori risultati di ricerca su AbeBooks

1.

Editore: Mountaineers Books (2006)
ISBN 10: 0898869757 ISBN 13: 9780898869750
Usato Quantità: 1
Da
Better World Books
(Mishawaka, IN, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Mountaineers Books, 2006. Condizione libro: Fair. Stated First Edition. N/A. Shows definite wear, and perhaps considerable marking on inside. Codice libro della libreria GRP89097806

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra usato
EUR 10,39
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

2.

Editore: Mountaineers Books (2006)
ISBN 10: 0898869757 ISBN 13: 9780898869750
Usato Quantità: 1
Da
Better World Books
(Mishawaka, IN, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Mountaineers Books, 2006. Condizione libro: Good. Stated First Edition. N/A. Former Library book. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Codice libro della libreria GRP8983786

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra usato
EUR 10,39
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

3.

ISBN 10: 0898869757 ISBN 13: 9780898869750
Usato Quantità: 1
Da
Goodwill Industries of Central Indiana
(Indianapolis, IN, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Condizione libro: Good. This is a hard cover book. The dust jacket shows normal wear and tear. The cover has visible markings and wear. The pages have normal wear. We ship Monday-Saturday and respond to inquries within 24 hours. Codice libro della libreria 3O6C9D004KDH

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra usato
EUR 8,63
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 2,76
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

4.

Editor-Stephen C. Brown; Editor-Jimmy Carter
Editore: Mountaineers Books (2006)
ISBN 10: 0898869757 ISBN 13: 9780898869750
Usato Rilegato Quantità: 1
Da
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Mountaineers Books, 2006. Hardcover. Condizione libro: Used: Good. Codice libro della libreria SONG0898869757

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra usato
EUR 10,43
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,67
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

5.

Editore: Mountaineers Books (2006)
ISBN 10: 0898869757 ISBN 13: 9780898869750
Usato Rilegato Quantità: 1
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Mountaineers Books, 2006. Hardcover. Condizione libro: Good. U.S.A. DOMESTIC SHIPPING ONLY. This is a former library book with library stickers and stamps. Codice libro della libreria mon0001477402

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra usato
EUR 14,22
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,22
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

6.

Stephen Brown
Editore: MOUNTAINEERS BOOKS (2006)
ISBN 10: 0898869757 ISBN 13: 9780898869750
Usato Rilegato Quantità: 1
Da
Powell's Books
(Portland, OR, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro MOUNTAINEERS BOOKS, 2006. Hardcover. Condizione libro: Good. HARDCOVER Legendary independent bookstore online since 1994. Reliable customer service and no-hassle return policy. Science and Mathematics>Ornithology>General Ornithology and Birding. Book: USED, Good. Bookseller Inventory # 01978089886975005. Codice libro della libreria 01978089886975005

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra usato
EUR 15,65
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 4,13
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

7.

ISBN 10: 0898869757 ISBN 13: 9780898869750
Usato Quantità: 1
Da
medimops
(Berlin, Germania)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Condizione libro: good. 1565 Gramm. Codice libro della libreria M00898869757-G

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra usato
EUR 24,79
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 8,00
Da: Germania a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

8.

Editore: Mountaineers Books (2006)
ISBN 10: 0898869757 ISBN 13: 9780898869750
Usato Rilegato Quantità: 1
Da
Booked Again
(Summit, NJ, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Mountaineers Books, 2006. Hardcover. Condizione libro: Good. Good condition, some are ex-library and can have markings. Codice libro della libreria GD-250-75-1485801

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra usato
EUR 32,75
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 9,20
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

9.

Editore: Mountaineers Books (2006)
ISBN 10: 0898869757 ISBN 13: 9780898869750
Usato Rilegato Quantità: 1
Da
Booked Again
(Summit, NJ, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Mountaineers Books, 2006. Hardcover. Condizione libro: Very Good. Very good. Codice libro della libreria HH-250-75-1485801

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra usato
EUR 33,52
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 9,20
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

10.

Stephen Brown, Ph.D.;editor
Editore: Mountaineer Books, Seattle, WA (2006)
ISBN 10: 0898869757 ISBN 13: 9780898869750
Usato Rilegato Prima edizione copia autogr. Quantità: 1
Da
Availing Books
(Gilford, NH, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Mountaineer Books, Seattle, WA, 2006. Hardcover. Condizione libro: As New. Condizione sovraccoperta: Very Good. Mark Wilson, plus 11 others (illustratore). 1st Edition. This 11-1/4" tall brown cloth (with copper titles) stated first edition HC w/DJ is as new, zero defects. Inscribed by Mark Wilson (award winning photographer) on title page. Includes an unopened CD on rear pastedown. DJ is VG+, having a 1/2" closed tear on the upper rear corner; very light other edgewear, no other issues and not price clipped. 192 pages. Not ex-lib. Inscribed by Illustrator(s). Codice libro della libreria 15492

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra usato
EUR 44,56
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 2,76
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

Vedi altre 5 copie di questo libro

Vedi tutti i risultati per questo libro