The Promise of the Foreign: Nationalism and the Technics of Translation in the Spanish Philippines

Rafael, Vicente L.

Editore: Duke University Press Books, 2005
ISBN 10: 0822336510 / ISBN 13: 9780822336518
Usato / Quantità: 0
Copie del libro da altre librerie
Mostra tutte le  copie di questo libro

Libro

Purtroppo questa copia non è più disponibile. Di seguito ti proponiamo una lista di copie simili.

Descrizione:

Gently used. Expect delivery in 2-3 weeks. Codice inventario libreria

Su questo libro:

Book ratings provided by Goodreads):
3,75 valutazione media
(16 valutazioni)

Riassunto: In The Promise of the Foreign, Vicente L. Rafael argues that translation was key to the emergence of Filipino nationalism in the nineteenth century. Acts of translation entailed technics from which issued the promise of nationhood. Such a promise consisted of revising the heterogeneous and violent origins of the nation by mediating one’s encounter with things foreign while preserving their strangeness. Rafael examines the workings of the foreign in the Filipinos’ fascination with Castilian, the language of the Spanish colonizers. In Castilian, Filipino nationalists saw the possibility of arriving at a lingua franca with which to overcome linguistic, regional, and class differences. Yet they were also keenly aware of the social limits and political hazards of this linguistic fantasy.

Through close readings of nationalist newspapers and novels, the vernacular theater, and accounts of the 1896 anticolonial revolution, Rafael traces the deep ambivalence with which elite nationalists and lower-class Filipinos alike regarded Castilian. The widespread belief in the potency of Castilian meant that colonial subjects came in contact with a recurring foreignness within their own language and society. Rafael shows how they sought to tap into this uncanny power, seeing in it both the promise of nationhood and a menace to its realization. Tracing the genesis of this promise and the ramifications of its betrayal, Rafael sheds light on the paradox of nationhood arising from the possibilities and risks of translation. By repeatedly opening borders to the arrival of something other and new, translation compels the nation to host foreign presences to which it invariably finds itself held hostage. While this condition is perhaps common to other nations, Rafael shows how its unfolding in the Philippine colony would come to be claimed by Filipinos, as would the names of the dead and their ghostly emanations.

From the Publisher: "In the tradition of James Siegel and Benedict Anderson, Vincente L. Rafael has given us a daring book about the ambivalent origins of the nation in the Philippines. It will be loved and emulated by students of nationalism, Southeast Asia, and comparative literary studies everywhere. There is good reason for this, for it is a beautiful book, a book of readings for lovers of literature, a book about literature for the media age. Mostly, however, it is a book about the foreignness in us all: an unassailable refutation of nationalist ideologies of purity."— [RR; PP] Rosalind C. Morris, author of In the Place of Origins: Modernity and Its Mediums in Northern Thailand

Le informazioni nella sezione "Su questo libro" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

Dati bibliografici

Titolo: The Promise of the Foreign: Nationalism and ...
Casa editrice: Duke University Press Books
Data di pubblicazione: 2005
Condizione libro: very good

I migliori risultati di ricerca su AbeBooks

1.

Vicente L.Rafael
Editore: Duke University Press
ISBN 10: 0822336510 ISBN 13: 9780822336518
Nuovi Quantità: > 20
Da
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Duke University Press. Condizione libro: New. Brand New. Codice libro della libreria 0822336510

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 58,88
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,01
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

2.

Rafael, Vicente L
Editore: Duke Univ
ISBN 10: 0822336510 ISBN 13: 9780822336518
Nuovi Rilegato Quantità: 1
Da
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Duke Univ. Condizione libro: BRAND NEW. BRAND NEW Hardcover A Brand New Quality Book from a Full-Time Veteran Owned Bookshop in business since 1992!. Codice libro della libreria 2592862

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 80,48
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

3.

Rafael, Vicente L.
Editore: Duke University Press Books
ISBN 10: 0822336510 ISBN 13: 9780822336518
Usato Rilegato Quantità: > 20
Da
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Duke University Press Books. Hardcover. Condizione libro: Fine. 0822336510 Crisp, clean, unread hardcover with light shelfwear, missing dust jacket and a publisher's mark to one edge - Nice!. Codice libro della libreria Z0822336510Z1

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra usato
EUR 103,18
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

4.

Rafael, Vicente L.
Editore: Duke University Press Books
ISBN 10: 0822336510 ISBN 13: 9780822336518
Usato Rilegato Quantità: > 20
Da
Midtown Scholar Bookstore
(Harrisburg, PA, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Duke University Press Books. Hardcover. Condizione libro: Fine. 0822336510 Crisp, clean, unread hardcover with light shelfwear, missing dust jacket and a publisher's mark to one edge - Nice!. Codice libro della libreria Z0822336510Z1

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra usato
EUR 99,85
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,44
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

5.

Vicente L. Rafael
Editore: Duke University Press Books (2005)
ISBN 10: 0822336510 ISBN 13: 9780822336518
Usato Rilegato Quantità: 1
Da
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Duke University Press Books, 2005. Hardcover. Condizione libro: Used: Good. Codice libro della libreria SONG0822336510

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra usato
EUR 112,95
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,43
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

6.

Vicente L. Rafael
Editore: Duke University Press Books (2005)
ISBN 10: 0822336510 ISBN 13: 9780822336518
Nuovi Rilegato Quantità: 1
Da
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Duke University Press Books, 2005. Hardcover. Condizione libro: New. Codice libro della libreria DADAX0822336510

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 164,88
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,43
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

7.

Vicente L.Rafael
Editore: Duke University Press (2006)
ISBN 10: 0822336510 ISBN 13: 9780822336518
Nuovi Rilegato Quantità: 1
Da
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Duke University Press, 2006. Hardcover. Condizione libro: Brand New. 231 pages. 9.25x6.00x0.75 inches. In Stock. Codice libro della libreria __0822336510

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 167,86
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 6,72
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

8.

Rafael, Vicente L.
Editore: Duke University Press Books (2005)
ISBN 10: 0822336510 ISBN 13: 9780822336518
Nuovi Rilegato Quantità: 2
Da
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Duke University Press Books, 2005. Hardcover. Condizione libro: New. Codice libro della libreria P110822336510

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 192,78
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 2,57
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

9.

Vicente L. Rafael
Editore: Duke University Press Books (2005)
ISBN 10: 0822336510 ISBN 13: 9780822336518
Usato Rilegato Quantità: 1
Da
Books Express
(Portsmouth, NH, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Duke University Press Books, 2005. Hardcover. Condizione libro: Good. Ships with Tracking Number! INTERNATIONAL WORLDWIDE Shipping available. May not contain Access Codes or Supplements. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service!. Codice libro della libreria 0822336510

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra usato
EUR 276,99
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

10.

Vincente L. Rafael
Editore: Duke University Press
ISBN 10: 0822336510 ISBN 13: 9780822336518
Nuovi Rilegato Quantità: 1
Da
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Duke University Press. Hardback. Condizione libro: new. BRAND NEW, The Promise of the Foreign: Nationalism and the Technics of Translation in the Spanish Philippines, Vincente L. Rafael, In The Promise of the Foreign, Vicente L. Rafael argues that translation was key to the emergence of Filipino nationalism in the nineteenth century. Acts of translation entailed technics from which issued the promise of nationhood. Such a promise consisted of revising the heterogeneous and violent origins of the nation by mediating one's encounter with things foreign while preserving their strangeness. Rafael examines the Filipinos' fascination with Castilian, the language of the Spanish colonizers. In Castilian, Filipino nationalists saw the possibility of arriving at a lingua franca with which to overcome linguistic, regional, and class differences. Yet they were also keenly aware of the social limits and political hazards of this linguistic fantasy. Through close readings of nationalist newspapers and novels, the vernacular theatre, and accounts of the 1896 anti-colonial revolution, Rafael traces the deep ambivalence with which elite nationalists and lower class Filipinos alike regarded Castilian. The widespread belief in the potency of Castilian meant that colonial subjects came in contact with a recurring foreignness within their own language and society. Rafael shows how they sought to tap into this uncanny power, seeing in it both the promise of nationhood and a menace to its realization. Tracing the genesis of this promise and the ramifications of its betrayal, Rafael sheds light on the paradox of nationhood arising from the possibilities and risks of translation. By repeatedly opening its borders to the arrival of something other and new, translation compels the nation to host foreign presences to which it invariably finds itself held hostage. While this condition is perhaps common to other nations, Rafael shows how its unfolding in the Philippine colony would come to be claimed by Filipinos, as would the names of the dead and their ghostly emanations. Vincente L. Rafael is Professor of History at the University of Washington. He is the author of White Love and Other Events in Filipino History and Contracting Colonialism: Translation and Christian Conversion in Tagalog Society under Early Spanish Rule, both also published by Duke University Press. Codice libro della libreria B9780822336518

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 276,68
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 7,78
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi