ISBN 10: 1416587683 / ISBN 13: 9781416587682
Usato / Quantità: 0
Copie del libro da altre librerie
Mostra tutte le  copie di questo libro


Purtroppo questa copia non è più disponibile. Di seguito ti proponiamo una lista di copie simili.


Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service! Summary: Romantic TimesThe undercurrent of romance will draw readers in. Codice inventario libreria

Su questo libro:

Book ratings provided by GoodReads):
3,44 valutazione media
(152 valutazioni)

Riassunto: In the tradition of Kristin Hannah and Luanne Rice, Susan Wilson creates a poignant, absorbing novel of first love lost and found again, of family and friendship, and of secrets and ghosts laid to rest. After nearly twenty years, Kiley Harris has returned to the small New England town of Hawke's Cove. As a child, Kiley eagerly anticipated every summer spent at the old family beach house, where she'd be reunited with her two best friends, Grainger Egan and Mack MacKenzie. For years, they were an unshakable trio: sailing and swimming every day, playing cards on the porch at night, and sharing their dreams. But everything changed the summer after their high school graduations, when the boys' friendship turned to rivalry over Kiley -- with tragic results. For nearly two decades, Kiley has been in self-imposed exile from the place she loved so much. But now her parents have asked her to ready the old beach house for sale, to finance her son Will's college education. Losing the family house will mean losing Hawke's Cove forever -- so Kiley brings Will along to give him this connection to the past he's long wished for. Yet she also fears that in Hawke's Cove, Will inevitably will meet Grainger -- who might, unknowingly, be Will's father. And Kiley doesn't know if this is disastrous timing...or the gift of a second chance. Rich in the complexities of love, insightful in the mysteries of the heart, and generous in the forgiveness of human frailties, Summer Harbor is a moving exploration of the pains of the past, uncertainties of the present, and hopes for the future.

L'autore: From the time I was a little girl, the word "writer" held a special significance to me. I loved the word. I loved the idea of making up stories. When I was about twelve, I bought a used Olivetti manual typewriter from a little hole in the wall office machine place in Middletown, CT called Peter's Typewriters. It weighed about twenty pounds and was probably thirty years old. I pounded out the worst kind of adolescent drivel, imposing my imaginary self on television heroes of the time: Bonanza, Man from U.N.C.L.E. and Star Trek.

Those are my earliest memories of my secret life of writing. For reasons I cannot really fathom, I never pursued writing as a vocation. Although I majored in English, I didn't focus on writing and it wasn't really until I was first married that I hauled out my old Olivetti and began to thump away at my first novel. This was, as I recall, an amorphous thinly plotted excercise in putting sentences together and has mercifully disappeared in some move or another. I didn't try anything more adventurous than some short stories and a lot of newsletters for various things I belonged to until we moved to Martha's Vineyard and I bought my first computer. My little "Collegiate 2" IBM computer was about as advanced as the Olivetti was in its heyday but it got me writing again and this time with some inner determination that I was going to succeed at this avocation. I tapped out two novels on this machine with its fussy little printer. Like the first one, these were wonderful absorbing exercises in learning how to write.

What happened then is the stuff of day time soap opera. Writing is a highly personal activity and for all of my life I'd kept it secret from everyone but my husband, who, at the time, called what I did nights after the kids went to bed, my "typing." Until, quite by accident, I discovered that here on the Vineyard nearly everyone has some avocation in the arts. Much to my delight, I discovered a fellow closet-writer in the mom of my kids' best friends. For the very first time in my life I could share the struggle with another person. I know now that writers' groups are a dime a dozen and I highly recommend the experience, but with my friend Carole, a serendipitious introduction to a "real writer", Holly Nadler, resulted in my association with my agent. Holly read a bit of my "novel" and liked what she read, suggested I might use her name and write to her former agent. I did and the rest, as they say, is history.

Not that it was an overnight success. The novel I'd shown Holly never even got sent to Andrea. But a third, shorter, more evolved work was what eventually grew into Beauty with the guidance of Andrea and her associates at the Jane Rotrosen Agency.

The moral of the story: keep at it. Keep writing the bad novels to learn how to write the good ones. And, yes, it does help to know someone. Andrea might have liked my work, but the path was oiled by the introduction Holly Nadler provided.

Hawke's Cove is my second published novel, although there is a "second" second novel in a drawer, keeping good company with the other "first" novels.

Le informazioni nella sezione "Su questo libro" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

Dati bibliografici

Titolo: $listing_disp.getBaseListing().getTitle()

Condizione libro: New

I migliori risultati di ricerca su AbeBooks


Wilson, Susan
Editore: Atria (2007)
ISBN 10: 1416587683 ISBN 13: 9781416587682
Usato Paperback Quantità: 2
Books Express
(Portsmouth, NH, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria

Descrizione libro Atria, 2007. Paperback. Condizione libro: Used: Good. We ship International with Tracking Number! May not contain Access Codes or Supplements. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service! j. Codice libro della libreria 1416587683D

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra usato
EUR 543,55
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 4,57
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi