Foto dell'editore

The Vatican Princess: A Novel of Lucrezia Borgia

C. W. Gortner

Editore: Ballantine Books, 2016
ISBN 10: 0345533976 / ISBN 13: 9780345533975
Usato / Hardcover / Quantità: 1
Da Book Deals (Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)
Copie del libro da altre librerie
Mostra tutte le  copie di questo libro
Aggiungere al carrello
Prezzo: EUR 32,54
Convertire valuta
Spedizione: EUR 0,00
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

Lista dei preferiti


Dati bibliografici

Titolo: The Vatican Princess: A Novel of Lucrezia ...

Casa editrice: Ballantine Books

Data di pubblicazione: 2016

Legatura: Hardcover

Condizione libro: Used


This Book is in Good Condition. Clean Copy With Light Amount of Wear. 100% Guaranteed. Codice inventario libreria ABE_book_usedgood_0345533976

Su questo libro:

Book ratings provided by GoodReads):
3,83 valutazione media
(1.132 valutazioni)

Riassunto: For fans of Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir, bestselling author C. W. Gortner effortlessly weaves history and drama in this captivating novel about one of the world?s most notorious families. Glamorous and predatory, the Borgias fascinated and terrorized fifteenth-century Renaissance Italy, and Lucrezia Borgia, beloved daughter of the pope, was at the center of the dynasty?s ambitions. Slandered as a heartless seductress who lured men to their doom, was she in fact the villainess of legend, or was she trapped in a familial web, forced to choose between loyalty and survival?
With the ascension of the Spaniard Rodrigo Borgia as Pope Alexander VI, a new era has dawned in Rome. Benefitting from their father?s elevation are the new pope?s illegitimate children?his rival sons, Cesare and Juan, and beautiful young daughter Lucrezia?each of whom assumes an exalted position in the papal court. Privileged and adored, Lucrezia yearns to escape her childhood and play a part in her family?s fortunes. But Rome is seductive and dangerous: Alliances shift at a moment?s notice as Italy?s ruling dynasties strive to keep rivals at bay. As Lucrezia?s father faces challenges from all sides, the threat of a French invasion forces him to marry her off to a powerful adversary. But when she discovers the brutal truth behind her alliance, Lucrezia is plunged into a perilous gambit that will require all her wits, cunning, and guile. Escaping her marriage offers the chance of happiness with a passionate prince of Naples, yet as scandalous accusations of murder and incest build against her, menacing those she loves, Lucrezia must risk everything to overcome the lethal fate imposed upon her by her Borgia blood.
Beautifully wrought, rich with fascinating historical detail, The Vatican Princess is the first novel to describe Lucrezia?s coming-of-age in her own voice. What results is a dramatic, vivid tale set in an era of savagery and unparalleled splendor, where enemies and allies can be one and the same, and where loyalty to family can ultimately be a curse.

Advance praise for The Vatican Princess
?Elegantly written and deeply researched, with a pacy style and a fine eye for contemporary detail . . . The world of Renaissance Italy is vividly brought to life?I?m captivated by this knowledgeable author?s take on the controversial Borgias.? ?Alison Weir, New York Times bestselling author of Katherine of Aragon, The True Queen
?A spiderweb of Renaissance intrigue with a cast of legendary characters, The Vatican Princess tells Lucrezia Borgia?s story in her own words. Impressive research, a lush background, and deft characterization of these turbulent times make for a fascinating read.? ?Margaret George, New York Times bestselling author of Elizabeth I
?C. W. Gortner?s The Vatican Princess is a tale of passion, political intrigue, and poisonous power. Assiduously researched and expertly crafted, this novel takes readers inside the treacherous world of the Borgias?one of history?s most dysfunctional ruling families?and brings to life the sympathetic and freshly imagined character of their leading lady, Lucrezia. This unholy plunge into Rome?s darkest dynasty is wholly engrossing.? ?Allison Pataki, New York Times bestselling author of Sisi

L'autore: C. W. Gortner holds an MFA in writing, with an emphasis on historical studies, from the New College of California and has taught university courses on women of power in the Renaissance. He is the internationally acclaimed author of The Vatican Princess, Mademoiselle Chanel, The Queen?s Vow, The Confessions of Catherine de Medici, and The Last Queen, among other books. Gortner divides his time between Northern California and Antigua, Guatemala. To find out more about his work and to schedule a book group chat with him, please visit his website.

Le informazioni nella sezione "Su questo libro" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

Info su libreria e pagamento

Metodi di pagamento

La libreria accetta i seguenti metodi di pagamento:

  • American Express
  • Carte Bleue
  • Mastercard
  • Visa

[Cercare nel catalogo della libreria]

[Tutti i libri della libreria]

[Fare una domanda alla libreria]

Libreria: Book Deals
Indirizzo: Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.

Libreria AbeBooks dal: 7 maggio 2014
Valutazione libreria: 4 stelle

Condizioni di vendita:

We guarantee the condition of every book as it's described on the AbeBooks web
sites. If you're dissatisfied with your purchase (Incorrect Book/Not as
Described/Damaged) or if the order hasn't arrived, you're eligible for a refund
within 30 days of the estimated delivery date. If you've changed your mind
about a book that you've ordered, please use the Ask bookseller a question link
to contact us and we'll respond within 2 business days.

Condizioni di spedizione:

Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required.