Foto dell'editore

Walking to Gatlinburg: A Novel (Signed)

Mosher, Howard Frank

430 valutazioni da GoodReads
ISBN 10: 0307450678 / ISBN 13: 9780307450678
Editore: Shaye Areheart Books 2010, 2010
Usato Hardcover
Da Harvest Book Company LLC (Fort Washington, PA, U.S.A.)

Heritage Bookseller
Libreria AbeBooks dal 1996

Valutazione Libreria 5 stelle

Quantità: 1

Offerto da altre Librerie

Mostra tutte le  copie di questo libro
Compra usato
Prezzo: EUR 37,34 Convertire valuta
Spedizione: EUR 3,52 In U.S.A. Destinazione, tempi e costi
Aggiungere al carrello

Metodi di pagamento
accettati dalla libreria

Visa Mastercard American Express Carte Bleue

Riguardo questo articolo

First Edition, 1st Printing Hardback. 332p Very good condition. Very good dust jacket. Signed by author. ISBN: 0307450678. Codice inventario libreria E978636

Fare una domanda alla libreria

Dati bibliografici

Titolo: Walking to Gatlinburg: A Novel (Signed)

Casa editrice: Shaye Areheart Books 2010

Data di pubblicazione: 2010

Legatura: Hardcover

Condizione sovraccoperta: Dust Jacket Included

autografato: Signed by Author(s)

Edizione: 1st Edition

Descrizione articolo

Riassunto:

A stunning and lyrical Civil War thriller, Walking to Gatlinburg is a spellbinding story of survival, wilderness adventure, mystery, and love in the time of war.

Morgan Kinneson is both hunter and hunted.  The sharp-shooting 17-year-old from Kingdom County, Vermont, is determined to track down his brother Pilgrim, a doctor who has gone missing from the Union Army.  But first Morgan must elude a group of murderous escaped convicts in pursuit of a mysterious stone that has fallen into his possession.

It?s 1864, and the country is in the grip of the bloodiest war in American history.  Meanwhile, the Kinneson family has been quietly conducting passengers on the Underground Railroad from Vermont to the Canadian border.  One snowy afternoon Morgan leaves an elderly fugitive named Jesse Moses in a mountainside cabin for a few hours so that he can track a moose to feed his family.  In his absence, Jesse is murdered, and thus begins Morgan?s unforgettable trek south through an apocalyptic landscape of war and mayhem.

Along the way, Morgan encounters a fantastical array of characters, including a weeping elephant, a pacifist gunsmith, a woman who lives in a tree, a blind cobbler, and a beautiful and intriguing slave girl named Slidell who is the key to unlocking the mystery of the secret stone.  At the same time, he wrestles with the choices that will ultimately define him ? how to reconcile the laws of nature with religious faith, how to temper justice with mercy.  Magical and wonderfully strange, Walking to Gatlinburg is both a thriller of the highest order and a heartbreaking odyssey into the heart of American darkness.

Recensione:

Praise for "Walking to Gatlinburg
"An Indie Next Notable Pick
"Mosher is a rare storyteller, able to both instruct and entertain, and he brings all his talents to this unforgettable and unique novel."
-"BookPage
"
"A Civil War odyssey in the tradition of Charles Frazier's "Cold Mountain" and Robert Olmstead's "Coal Black Horse," Mosher's latest, about a Vermont teenager's harrowing journey south to find his missing-in-action brother, is old-fashioned in the best sense of the word....The story of Morgan's rite-of-passage through an American arcadia despoiled by war and slavery is an engrossing tale with mass appeal.
-"Publisher's Weekly
"
"We are in the hands of a skilled storyteller, and every word matters. A captivating story, and one that cries for a sequel."
-"Kirkus," starred review
"[A] haunting and hallucinatory novel....Historical realism this isn't but it is a violent, often puzzling picaresque with an invigorating take on the Underground Railroad and an unsettling vision of an America despoiled by the War between the States."
-"Booklist"
Praise for Howard Frank Mosher
"Mosher is an old-fashioned writer, a storyteller of the first order; he has written a page-turner in the best sense of the word."
-"Boston Globe"
"A combination of Ernest Hemingway, Henry David Thoreau, and Jim Harrison."
-"Los Angeles Times"
"Mosher calls to mind the best of Mark Twain - mischievous, touching, and very funny."
-"Carl Hiaasen"
"Rollicking, boisterous, sprawling, and highly entertaining."
"-Harper's Magazine"
"Revives the tall tale with remarkable grace and intelligence ... delightful."
-"Washington Post"
"Mosher is a gifted storyteller with a solid sense of place and history."
-"Cleveland Plain Dealer"
"One of our very best writers ... Mosher offers us a landscape, both natural and human, worth knowing, worth believing in."
-"Richard Russo "

"From the Hardcover edition."

Le informazioni nella sezione "Su questo libro" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.