Foto dell'editore


Murkoff, Bruce

Editore: Alfred a Knopf Inc, Westminister, Maryland, U.S.A., 2004
ISBN 10: 1400040388 / ISBN 13: 9781400040384
Usato / Hardcover / Quantità: 1
Da Rod's Books & Relics (sand springs, OK, U.S.A.)
Copie del libro da altre librerie
Mostra tutte le  copie di questo libro
Aggiungere al carrello
Prezzo: EUR 33,12
Convertire valuta
Spedizione: EUR 0,92
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

Lista dei preferiti


Dati bibliografici

Titolo: Waterborne

Casa editrice: Alfred a Knopf Inc, Westminister, Maryland, U.S.A.

Data di pubblicazione: 2004

Legatura: Hardcover

Condizione libro: Fine

Condizione sovraccoperta: Fine

autografato: Signed by Author(s)

Edizione: First Edition


Fine, unread copy, with DJ in mylar protector. SIGNED by author. Codice inventario libreria 002979

Su questo libro:

Book ratings provided by GoodReads):
3,65 valutazione media
(93 valutazioni)

Riassunto: A panorama of human desire and enterprise, Bruce Murkoff?s first novel is exceptional for its ambition, its grasp of history and, above all, its stunning array of characters. 

Waterborne is set in the Great Depression, and culminates at the Boulder Dam: the greatest engineering project of its time, and a beacon of hope capable of altering the course of society. The nation, crippled by poverty and despair, clearly needs a transformation, and the same is true of the people. Filius Poe grew up with everything, then lost nearly all of it. Lew Beck felt deprived of everything, and now means to have his revenge. Lena McCardell, who thought she had exactly what she wanted, discovers almost overnight that only by taking her son and joining the multitude already on the road will she have the chance of a fresh start and a brighter future.

From various directions and distances, these three are inevitably drawn to this vast construction site in the Nevada desert, along with the stories of their families, their friends and their fellow travelers?the novel itself developing the force of a mighty river, then channeling and harnessing its prodigious energy. With generous understanding and absolute authority, Bruce Murkoff captures the conflicting imperatives of these vivid lives as well as the heart and breadth of the country through which they move, and whose destiny they help shape.

Recensione: "'An engrossing story-Even more lyrical and evocative than Cold Mountain' Washington Post "

"'Novels with something fresh to say about the American Dream are few. Waterborne is a worthy addition to their number-A glorious achievement' Literary Review "

"'Has its roots in the tradition of Dreiser, Steinbeck and Hemingway-Admirable' Guardian "

"'Lavishly detailed-Murkoff is a talented stylist' Scotland on Sunday "

"'Murkoff has a formidable talent, and his cadenced, masculine style trails behind it echoes of Hemingway, Cormac McCarthy and Charles Frazier' San Francisco Chronicle "

Le informazioni nella sezione "Su questo libro" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

Info su libreria e pagamento

Metodi di pagamento

La libreria accetta i seguenti metodi di pagamento:

  • American Express
  • Assegno
  • Carte Bleue
  • Contanti
  • Mastercard
  • Vaglia
  • Visa

[Cercare nel catalogo della libreria]

[Tutti i libri della libreria]

[Fare una domanda alla libreria]

Libreria: Rod's Books & Relics
Indirizzo: sand springs, OK, U.S.A.

Libreria AbeBooks dal: 6 dicembre 2001
Valutazione libreria: 4 stelle

Condizioni di vendita:

I try to keep shipping very minimal- free for bookrate, and $6 for Priority. Delivery confirmation is free for books shipped priority, but insurance is extra. I can ship small to medium books internationally for around 12.00 global priority, or e-mail for airmail post. Full refund within one week if not stated quality. I accept checks, money orders, Pay with credit card through ABE, or call me at store with credit card info.

Condizioni di spedizione:

Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required.

Descrizione libreria: I have a small open shop in Sand Springs, just 10 minutes West of Tulsa. I am open Tue-Fri. I carry a small but eclectic selection of medium to finer quality books. Opened shop in 1996.