Morgan, C.E All the Living

ISBN 13: 9780007312849

All the Living

Valutazione media 3,62
( su 1.585 valutazioni fornite da Goodreads )
 
9780007312849: All the Living
Vedi tutte le copie di questo ISBN:
 
 

A first novel by the most significant new American writer to have emerged in years.

Aloma is a young woman who has put aside her life – as well as her dreams of becoming a pianist – to move in with her lover, Orren. His family has recently been killed in an accident. Stricken with grief and overwhelmingly burdened by the shape that his life has taken, Orren is desperate to keep the tobacco farm running. There is a drought, and he needs it to rain.

As he toils with the land, Aloma finds that Orren has become more remote than she could ever have imagined, and that silence has taken hold of their relationship. When she begins to play the piano for the local church, she meets the local preacher, and feels a dangerous attraction for him.

As events unfold over this single summer, C.E. Morgan takes us on a journey which describes the journey of our own lives. This novel is about every single relationship between a man and a woman – past, present and future – and about the distance between the lives we lead and the lives we imagine for ourselves.

Le informazioni nella sezione "Riassunto" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

Recensione:

'A distinctive and wonderful book, which lingers and deepens in your mind' Hilary Mantel

'Steeped in dust, sweat, tension and desire, “All the Living” feels like a classic - the finest first novel I've read in years' Tash Aw

‘This striking novel is rich in future promise.’ Sunday Times

‘[A] lyrical tale of grief and gruelling love on a tobacco farm ... [Morgan’s] pacing is shrewd. By the time the harvest is done, two lonely people are fused, if not consoled.’ New Yorker

‘As I read the opening pages of “All the Living” I was suddenly no longer in my study but gazing out at the leafy tobacco plants of a small Kentucky farm where a young couple are struggling to make their living, and their lives. In seemingly effortless prose, C.E. Morgan captures both the complexity and the simplicity of Orren’s relentlessly hard work and Aloma’s dangerous drift towards another man. A wonderful debut.’ Margot Livesey

‘[An] elegant debut novel...reminiscent of Flannery O’Connor and Carson McCullers. Morgan dutifully shows how ambivalence, duty and deceit might play out in a claustrophobic agrarian world.’ TLS

‘A perceptive portrayal of love and the burden of loss in the American South.’ Waterstone’s Books Quarterly

‘Sweetly haunting.’ The List

L'autore:

C.E. Morgan is a graduate of Berea College in Kentucky and of Harvard Divinity School. ‘All the Living’ is her first novel.

Le informazioni nella sezione "Su questo libro" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

Altre edizioni note dello stesso titolo

9780312429324: All the Living

Edizione in evidenza

ISBN 10: 0312429320 ISBN 13: 9780312429324
Casa editrice: Picador, 2010
Brossura

9780374103620: All the Living: A Novel

Farrar..., 2009
Rilegato

9780307397331: All the Living

Random..., 2009
Rilegato

9781616641054: All the Living a Novel

Farar,..., 2009
Brossura

9780007305957: All the Living

Fourth..., 2009
Rilegato

I migliori risultati di ricerca su AbeBooks

Foto dell'editore

1.

C.E Morgan
Editore: HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2010)
ISBN 10: 0007312849 ISBN 13: 9780007312849
Nuovo Paperback Quantità: 10
Da
The Book Depository
(London, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria

Descrizione libro HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2010. Paperback. Condizione: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. A first novel by the most significant new American writer to have emerged in years. Aloma is a young woman who has put aside her life - as well as her dreams of becoming a pianist - to move in with her lover, Orren. His family has recently been killed in an accident. Stricken with grief and overwhelmingly burdened by the shape that his life has taken, Orren is desperate to keep the tobacco farm running. There is a drought, and he needs it to rain. As he toils with the land, Aloma finds that Orren has become more remote than she could ever have imagined, and that silence has taken hold of their relationship. When she begins to play the piano for the local church, she meets the local preacher, and feels a dangerous attraction for him. As events unfold over this single summer, C.E. Morgan takes us on a journey which describes the journey of our own lives. This novel is about every single relationship between a man and a woman - past, present and future - and about the distance between the lives we lead and the lives we imagine for ourselves. Codice articolo AA89780007312849

Informazioni sul venditore | Contattare il venditore

Compra nuovo
EUR 8,11
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi
Foto dell'editore

2.

Morgan, C E
Editore: Fourth Estate (2010)
ISBN 10: 0007312849 ISBN 13: 9780007312849
Nuovo Paperback Quantità: 5
Da
GreatBookPrices
(Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria

Descrizione libro Fourth Estate, 2010. Paperback. Condizione: New. Codice articolo 7630567-n

Informazioni sul venditore | Contattare il venditore

Compra nuovo
EUR 7,41
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 2,19
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi
Foto dell'editore

3.

C. E. Morgan
Editore: HarperCollins Publishers 2010-03-04, London (2010)
ISBN 10: 0007312849 ISBN 13: 9780007312849
Nuovo paperback Quantità: 10
Da
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria

Descrizione libro HarperCollins Publishers 2010-03-04, London, 2010. paperback. Condizione: New. Language: ENG. Codice articolo 9780007312849

Informazioni sul venditore | Contattare il venditore

Compra nuovo
EUR 8,32
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 4,33
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi
Foto dell'editore

4.

Morgan, C E
Editore: Fourth Estate Paperbacks (2010)
ISBN 10: 0007312849 ISBN 13: 9780007312849
Nuovo Paperback Quantità: 2
Da
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria

Descrizione libro Fourth Estate Paperbacks, 2010. Paperback. Condizione: Brand New. 224 pages. In Stock. Codice articolo __0007312849

Informazioni sul venditore | Contattare il venditore

Compra nuovo
EUR 7,89
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 11,56
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi
Foto dell'editore

5.

C. E. Morgan
Editore: Fourth Estate 2010-03-04 (2010)
ISBN 10: 0007312849 ISBN 13: 9780007312849
Nuovo Paperback Quantità: > 20
Da
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria

Descrizione libro Fourth Estate 2010-03-04, 2010. Paperback. Condizione: New. Codice articolo 6666-HCL-9780007312849

Informazioni sul venditore | Contattare il venditore

Compra nuovo
EUR 6,36
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 17,32
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi
Foto dell'editore

6.

Morgan, C E
Editore: HarperCollins Publishers (2010)
ISBN 10: 0007312849 ISBN 13: 9780007312849
Nuovo PAP Quantità: 15
Da
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria

Descrizione libro HarperCollins Publishers, 2010. PAP. Condizione: New. New Book. Shipped from UK. Established seller since 2000. Codice articolo FC-9780007312849

Informazioni sul venditore | Contattare il venditore

Compra nuovo
EUR 7,26
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 28,89
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi
Immagini fornite dal venditore

7.

C. E. Morgan
Editore: Harpercollins UK Mrz 2010 (2010)
ISBN 10: 0007312849 ISBN 13: 9780007312849
Nuovo Taschenbuch Quantità: 1
Da
AHA-BUCH GmbH
(Einbeck, Germania)
Valutazione libreria

Descrizione libro Harpercollins UK Mrz 2010, 2010. Taschenbuch. Condizione: Neu. Neuware - Debut novel, for fans of Jane Smiley and Annie Proulx. Aloma is a young woman who gives up everything to look after her lover when his entire family is killed in an accident. But they find themselves growing apart. Englisch. Codice articolo 9780007312849

Informazioni sul venditore | Contattare il venditore

Compra nuovo
EUR 10,95
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 34,50
Da: Germania a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi