ISBN 10: 1400165717 / ISBN 13: 9781400165711
Usato / Quantità: 0
Copie del libro da altre librerie
Mostra tutte le  copie di questo libro

Libro

Purtroppo questa copia non è più disponibile. Di seguito ti proponiamo una lista di copie simili.

Descrizione:

Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service!. Codice inventario libreria

Su questo libro:

Book ratings provided by GoodReads):
3,94 valutazione media
(1.933 valutazioni)

Riassunto: The whale is the largest, loudest, oldest animal ever to have existed. It is improbable, amazing, and?as anyone who has seen an underwater documentary or visited the display at the American Museum of Natural History can attest?a powerful source of wonder and delight to millions. The Whale is an extraordinary journey into the world of this fascinating and mysterious animal.

Acclaimed writer Philip Hoare visits the historic whale-hunting towns of New Bedford and Nantucket, wanders the streets of London and Liverpool in search of Melville's whaling inspiration, and swims with sperm whales in the middle of the Atlantic. Through the course of his journey he explores the troubled history of man and whale; traces the whale's cultural history from Jonah to Moby-Dick, Pinocchio to Free Willy; and seeks to discover why these strange and beautiful animals continue to exert such a powerful grip on our imagination.

A blend of the travel and nature writing in the tradition of Jonathan Raban and John McPhee, The Whale is a gripping voyage into the heart of Hoare's obsession?and ours.

Recensione: Amazon Best Books of the Month, February 2010: After reading Moby Dick, author Philip Hoare was so captivated by the subject that he spent years trying to fathom the planet?s most enormous and enigmatic of creatures. Hoare's admitted mania for whales led him to write Leviathan, or the Whale?which was awarded the 2009 Samuel Johnson Prize, Britain?s most prestigious award for nonfiction. The book has finally migrated to this side of the Atlantic under a new title, The Whale. Hoare is not a scientist, but rather a biographer whose subjects have tended toward highbrow figures like Noel Coward and Oscar Wilde. In approaching cetaceans, the author?s non-scientific background works to great advantage. Similar to Melville, Hoare has captured a wide range of historical and scientific facts about whales, but has chosen to present them through an extremely powerful instrument--the literary imagination. The result is a deeply moving and thought-provoking biography of the planet?s toughest, yet most vulnerable of prehistoric survivors. The Whale takes us well beyond the limits of what we can see, hear or otherwise objectively "know" about whales, and offers a much more vivid sense of their true magnitude. --Lauren Nemroff

Le informazioni nella sezione "Su questo libro" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

Dati bibliografici

Condizione libro: New

I migliori risultati di ricerca su AbeBooks

1.

Hoare, Philip
Editore: Tantor Audio
ISBN 10: 1400165717 ISBN 13: 9781400165711
Usato Quantità: > 20
Da
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Tantor Audio. MP3 CD. Condizione libro: Fine. 1400165717 *LIKE NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Codice libro della libreria SWATI21FI330608

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra usato
EUR 16,28
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,65
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

2.

Hoare, Philip
Editore: Tantor Audio
ISBN 10: 1400165717 ISBN 13: 9781400165711
Nuovi Quantità: > 20
Da
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Tantor Audio. MP3 CD. Condizione libro: New. 1400165717 *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Codice libro della libreria SWATI210979073

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 25,71
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,65
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

3.

Hoare, Philip
Editore: Tantor Media Inc (2010)
ISBN 10: 1400165717 ISBN 13: 9781400165711
Nuovi Quantità: 1
Da
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Tantor Media Inc, 2010. Compact Disc. Condizione libro: Brand New. mp3 una edition. 7.50x5.25x0.75 inches. In Stock. Codice libro della libreria zk1400165717

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 59,41
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 7,05
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

4.

Philip Hoare
Editore: Tantor Audio (2010)
ISBN 10: 1400165717 ISBN 13: 9781400165711
Usato Quantità: 1
Da
Books Express
(Portsmouth, NH, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Tantor Audio, 2010. MP3 CD. Condizione libro: Good. MP3 - Unabridged CD. Ships with Tracking Number! INTERNATIONAL WORLDWIDE Shipping available. May not contain Access Codes or Supplements. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service!. Codice libro della libreria 1400165717

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra usato
EUR 117,10
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi