The Cold Commands

Valutazione media 3,93
( su 5.819 valutazioni fornite da GoodReads )
 
9780345493064: The Cold Commands

With The Steel Remains, award-winning science fiction writer Richard K. Morgan turned his talents to sword and sorcery. The result: a genre-busting masterwork hailed as a milestone in contemporary epic fantasy. Now Morgan continues the riveting saga of Ringil Eskiath—Gil, for short—a peerless warrior whose love for other men has made him an outcast and pariah. 

Only a select few have earned the right to call Gil friend. One is Egar, the Dragonbane, a fierce Majak fighter who comes to respect a heart as savage and loyal as his own. Another is Archeth, the last remaining daughter of an otherworldly race called the Kiriath, who once used their advanced technology to save the world from the dark magic of the Aldrain—only to depart for reasons as mysterious as their arrival. Yet even Egar and Archeth have learned to fear the doom that clings to their friend like a grim shadow . . . or the curse of a bitter god.

Now one of the Kiriath’s uncanny machine intelligences has fallen from orbit—with a message that humanity faces a grave new danger (or, rather, an ancient one): a creature called the Illwrack Changeling, a boy raised to manhood in the ghostly between-world realm of the Grey Places, home to the Aldrain. A human raised as one of them—and, some say, the lover of one of their greatest warriors—until, in a time lost to legend, he was vanquished. Wrapped in sorcerous slumber, hidden away on an island that drifts between this world and the Grey Places, the Illwrack Changeling is stirring. And when he wakes, the Aldrain will rally to him and return in force—this time without the Kiriath to stop them.

An expedition is outfitted for the long and arduous sea journey to find the lost island of the Illwrack Changeling. Aboard are Gil, Egar, and Archeth: each fleeing from ghosts of the past, each seeking redemption in whatever lies ahead. But redemption doesn’t come cheap these days. Nor, for that matter, does survival. Not even for Ringil Eskiath. Or anyone—god or mortal—who would seek to use him as a pawn.

Le informazioni nella sezione "Riassunto" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

Recensione:

Praise for The Cold Commands:
"
Morgan brings a fresh approach to epic fantasy, giving his world a hard edge and blending in such sf elements as machine intelligences and extraterrestrial races...Morgan’s protagonists, with their tough outward demeanor and lofty ethics, lend depth and seriousness of purpose to high fantasy and should appeal to fans of George R.R. Martin’s “Song of Ice and Fire” series." --Library Journal


Praise for Richard K. Morgan’s The Steel Remains,

Book One of A Land Fit for Heroes
 
“Bold, brutal, and making no compromises—Morgan doesn’t so much twist the clichés of fantasy as take an axe to them.”—Joe Abercrombie
 
“The award-winning author of Altered Carbon and Market Forces brings the same iconoclastic approach to his fantasy debut as he did to his sf technothrillers. . . . Morgan’s storytelling talent and his atmospheric, hard-hitting prose make this a strong addition to mature fantasy collections.”— Library Journal
 
“Spellbinding . . . There’s so much to like about the adventure.”— The Star-Ledger
 
“Morgan has taken traditional sword and sorcery tropes and given them a hard, contemporary kick. The antithesis of the cosy fairytale, this one is for big boys.”— The Times (London)
 
“A powerful turn-everything-up-to-eleven reading experience . . . Morgan is a gifted writer, and his gifts are lavishly on display here.”—Adam Roberts, author of Yellow Blue Tibia
 
“It compels you to read on with its gritty, visceral writing and intelligent plot. It’s tense and fascinatingly peopled, and given that the follow-ups will doubtless be tremendous you’re encouraged to jump on from the start. Just, ahem, steel yourself.” —SFX

L'autore:

Richard K. Morgan is the acclaimed author of The Steel Remains, Thirteen, which won the Arthur C. Clarke Award, Woken Furies, Market Forces, Broken Angels, and Altered Carbon, a New York Times Notable Book that also won the Philip K. Dick Award. Morgan sold the movie rights for Altered Carbon to Joel Silver and Warner Bros. His third book, Market Forces, has also been sold to Warner Bros. and won the John W. Campbell Award. He lives in Scotland.

Le informazioni nella sezione "Su questo libro" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

I migliori risultati di ricerca su AbeBooks

1.

Richard K. Morgan
ISBN 10: 0345493060 ISBN 13: 9780345493064
Nuovi Quantità: 1
Da
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Condizione libro: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Codice libro della libreria 97803454930641.0

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 10,06
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,67
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

2.

Morgan, Richard K.
Editore: Westminster, Maryland, U.S.A.: Del Rey (2011)
ISBN 10: 0345493060 ISBN 13: 9780345493064
Nuovi Rilegato Prima edizione Quantità: 1
Da
R & B Diversions LLC
(Stratford, WI, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Westminster, Maryland, U.S.A.: Del Rey, 2011. Hardcover. Condizione libro: New. Condizione sovraccoperta: New. 1st Edition. 1st printing hardcover in mylar protected dustjacket. first US edition. new & unused; no marks, not remaindered, not exlib, not bookclub, dj price intact, first edition stated with number line down to 1. fiction hardcover. Codice libro della libreria 840

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 15,17
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,68
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

3.

Richard K. Morgan
Editore: Del Rey (2011)
ISBN 10: 0345493060 ISBN 13: 9780345493064
Nuovi Rilegato Prima edizione Quantità: 1
Da
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Del Rey, 2011. Hardcover. Condizione libro: New. First Edition. Codice libro della libreria DADAX0345493060

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 15,35
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,67
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

4.

Richard K. Morgan
Editore: Del Rey (2011)
ISBN 10: 0345493060 ISBN 13: 9780345493064
Nuovi Rilegato Quantità: 1
Da
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Del Rey, 2011. Hardcover. Condizione libro: New. book. Codice libro della libreria 0345493060

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 23,29
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

5.

Morgan, Richard K.
Editore: Del Rey 2011-10-11 (2011)
ISBN 10: 0345493060 ISBN 13: 9780345493064
Nuovi Rilegato Quantità: 1
Da
M and N Media
(Acworth, GA, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Del Rey 2011-10-11, 2011. Hardcover. Condizione libro: New. First American Editi. 0345493060 We guarantee all of our items - customer service and satisfaction are our top priorities. Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Codice libro della libreria TM-0345493060

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 22,27
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,67
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

6.

Morgan, Richard K.
Editore: Del Rey (2011)
ISBN 10: 0345493060 ISBN 13: 9780345493064
Nuovi Rilegato Quantità: 3
Da
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Del Rey, 2011. Hardcover. Condizione libro: New. Codice libro della libreria P110345493060

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 30,26
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 2,75
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

7.

Richard K. Morgan
ISBN 10: 0345493060 ISBN 13: 9780345493064
Nuovi Rilegato Quantità: 1
Da
READERS PRIDE
(FREMONT, CA, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Hardcover. Condizione libro: BRAND NEW. NEW Book in Mint Condition -- Great DEAL !! Fast Shipping -- Friendly Customer Service -- Buy with Confidence!. Codice libro della libreria RP0345493060BN

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 52,68
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,64
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi