Making Meaning: Inference and Rhetoric in the Interpretation of Cinema (Harvard Film Studies)

Valutazione media 4,09
( su 81 valutazioni fornite da Goodreads )
 
9780674543362: Making Meaning: Inference and Rhetoric in the Interpretation of Cinema (Harvard Film Studies)

David Bordwell's new book is at once a history of film criticism, an analysis of how critics interpret film, and a proposal for an alternative program for film studies. It is an anatomy of film criticism meant to reset the agenda for film scholarship. As such Making Meaning should be a landmark book, a focus for debate from which future film study will evolve.

Bordwell systematically maps different strategies for interpreting films and making meaning, illustrating his points with a vast array of examples from Western film criticism. Following an introductory chapter that sets out the terms and scope of the argument, Bordwell goes on to show how critical institutions constrain and contain the very practices they promote, and how the interpretation of texts has become a central preoccupation of the humanities. He gives lucid accounts of the development of film criticism in France, Britain, and the United States since World War II; analyzes this development through two important types of criticism, thematic-explicatory and symptomatic; and shows that both types, usually seen as antithetical, in fact have much in common. These diverse and even warring schools of criticism share conventional, rhetorical, and problem-solving techniques--a point that has broad-ranging implications for the way critics practice their art. The book concludes with a survey of the alternatives to criticism based on interpretation and, finally, with the proposal that a historical poetics of cinema offers the most fruitful framework for film analysis.

Le informazioni nella sezione "Riassunto" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

Review:

Few books of film criticism are as daring and controversial as Making Meaning. In the tradition of Terry Eagleton's Literary Theory: An Introduction and Fredric Jameson's The Political Unconscious, David Bordwell looks back at the work done in his field, summarizes its strengths, criticizes its weaknesses, and proposes a new point of departure. The result is an arresting overview of contemporary film theory that also exposes its shortcomings. Bordwell concludes that most film criticism and theory is tied to the idea of making meaning, unpacking the overt or hidden messages that lie within the movie. Prophesying that a new era of analysis is before us, Bordwell calls for film scholarship that will both complement and transcend mere interpretation.

From the Back Cover:

This book is at once a history of film criticism, and analysis of how critics interpret films, and suggestion for some alternative research programs. I want to describe how an institution constructs and constrains what is thought and said by its members, and how the members solve routine problems by producing acceptable discourse.

Le informazioni nella sezione "Su questo libro" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

I migliori risultati di ricerca su AbeBooks

1.

David Bordwell
Editore: Harvard University Press (1991)
ISBN 10: 067454336X ISBN 13: 9780674543362
Nuovi Paperback Quantità: 1
Da
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Harvard University Press, 1991. Paperback. Condizione libro: New. book. Codice libro della libreria 067454336X

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 25,25
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

2.

David Bordwell
Editore: Harvard University Press (1991)
ISBN 10: 067454336X ISBN 13: 9780674543362
Nuovi Quantità: > 20
Print on Demand
Da
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Harvard University Press, 1991. PAP. Condizione libro: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. THIS BOOK IS PRINTED ON DEMAND. Established seller since 2000. Codice libro della libreria IQ-9780674543362

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 32,57
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,43
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

3.

Bordwell, David
Editore: Cumbreland, Rhode Island, U.S.A.: Harvard Univ Pr (1991)
ISBN 10: 067454336X ISBN 13: 9780674543362
Nuovi Soft cover Quantità: 1
Da
Mima Mia Books
(Boston, MA, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Cumbreland, Rhode Island, U.S.A.: Harvard Univ Pr, 1991. Soft cover. Condizione libro: New. 1357 Language: eng Language: eng Language: eng Language: eng Language: eng Language: eng. Codice libro della libreria 4A32

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 33,61
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,44
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

4.

Bordwell, David
Editore: Harvard Univ Press
ISBN 10: 067454336X ISBN 13: 9780674543362
Nuovi Brossura Quantità: 1
Da
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Harvard Univ Press. Condizione libro: BRAND NEW. BRAND NEW Softcover A Brand New Quality Book from a Full-Time Bookshop in business since 1992!. Codice libro della libreria 2361561

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 37,10
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

5.

David Bordwell
Editore: Harvard University Press (1991)
ISBN 10: 067454336X ISBN 13: 9780674543362
Nuovi Paperback Quantità: 1
Da
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Harvard University Press, 1991. Paperback. Condizione libro: New. 1st Harvard Univ Press Ppbk Ed/. Codice libro della libreria DADAX067454336X

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 37,25
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,43
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

6.

Bordwell, David
Editore: Harvard University Press
ISBN 10: 067454336X ISBN 13: 9780674543362
Nuovi Quantità: 1
Da
Ohmsoft LLC
(Lake Forest, IL, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Harvard University Press. Condizione libro: Brand New. Ships from USA. FREE domestic shipping. Codice libro della libreria 067454336X

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 40,92
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

7.

Bordwell, David
Editore: Harvard University Press (2017)
ISBN 10: 067454336X ISBN 13: 9780674543362
Nuovi Paperback Quantità: 3
Print on Demand
Da
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Harvard University Press, 2017. Paperback. Condizione libro: New. This item is printed on demand. Codice libro della libreria P11067454336X

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 38,40
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 2,57
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

8.

David Bordwell
Editore: Harvard University Press
ISBN 10: 067454336X ISBN 13: 9780674543362
Nuovi Quantità: > 20
Da
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Harvard University Press. Condizione libro: New. Brand New. Codice libro della libreria 067454336X

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 38,47
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,01
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

9.

Bordwell, David
Editore: Harvard University Press (1991)
ISBN 10: 067454336X ISBN 13: 9780674543362
Nuovi Paperback Quantità: 10
Da
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Harvard University Press, 1991. Paperback. Condizione libro: New. Codice libro della libreria INGM9780674543362

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 38,74
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,43
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

10.

David Bordwell
Editore: Harvard University Press (1991)
ISBN 10: 067454336X ISBN 13: 9780674543362
Nuovi Quantità: > 20
Print on Demand
Da
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, Regno Unito)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Harvard University Press, 1991. PAP. Condizione libro: New. New Book. Delivered from our UK warehouse in 3 to 5 business days. THIS BOOK IS PRINTED ON DEMAND. Established seller since 2000. Codice libro della libreria IQ-9780674543362

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 33,51
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 10,07
Da: Regno Unito a: U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

Vedi altre copie di questo libro

Vedi tutti i risultati per questo libro