ISBN 10: 0880016868 / ISBN 13: 9780880016865
Usato / Quantità: 0
Copie del libro da altre librerie
Mostra tutte le  copie di questo libro

Libro

Purtroppo questa copia non è più disponibile. Di seguito ti proponiamo una lista di copie simili.

Descrizione:

Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service! Summary: Ghalib is an astonishing poet from India, perhaps the most important poet since Kabir. In "The Lightning Should Have Fallen on Ghalib: Selected Poems of Ghalib," poet Robert Bly and Urdu scholar Sunil Dutta collaborate to bring the delicacy and intensity of Ghalib's poetry to readers of English. This collection of thirty ghazals by Ghalib also serves as an introduction to the ghazal, the elegant and amazing poetic form revered for centuries in the Muslim world.Ghalib was unorthodox in many ways: he was a Muslim, but he drank and was fond of gambling. He had a difficult life, full of rejections and excesses; much of his life was spent in Delhi during the British conquest of India. Ghalib's poems often mingle humor and anguish. In "The Clay Cup," he says: "I know that Heaven doesn't exist, but the ideaIs one of Ghalib's favorite fantasies."His form and detail are exquisite. Many emotions flood into one poem--he complains, he pokes fun at intellectuals, he grieves over desires--and it is up to the reader to find the thread that holds the couplets together. Ghalib ends "The Road with Thorns" with a charming boast: "The lightning that fell on Moses should have fallen on Ghalib.You know we always adjust the amount of the wine to the quality of the drinker"His work lies in the tradition of Hafiz and Rumi; and yet he manages to join that fervor with a contemporary style. More than one hundred years after Ghalib's death, his ghazals remain indisputably modern, intense, and as fresh as ever. Codice inventario libreria

Su questo libro:

Book ratings provided by Goodreads):
4,31 valutazione media
(94 valutazioni)

Riassunto:

Ghalib is an astonishing poet from India, perhaps the most important poet since Kabir. In The Lightning Should Have Fallen on Ghalib: Selected Poems of Ghalib, poet Robert Bly and Urdu scholar Sunil Dutta collaborate to bring the delicacy and intensity of Ghalib's poetry to readers of English. This collection of thirty ghazals by Ghalib also serves as an introduction to the ghazal, the elegant and amazing poetic form revered for centuries in the Muslim world.

Ghalib was unorthodox in many ways: he was a Muslim, but he drank and was fond of gambling. He had a difficult life, full of rejections and excesses; much of his life was spent in Delhi during the British conquest of India. Ghalib's poems often mingle humor and anguish. In "The Clay Cup," he says:

I know that Heaven doesn't exist, but the idea
Is one of Ghalib's favorite fantasies.

His form and detail are exquisite. Many emotions flood into one poem--he complains, he pokes fun at intellectuals, he grieves over desires--and it is up to the reader to find the thread that holds the couplets together. Ghalib ends "The Road with Thorns" with a charming boast:

The lightning that fell on Moses should have
fallen on Ghalib.
You know we always adjust the amount of the wine
to the quality of the drinker

His work lies in the tradition of Hafiz and Rumi; and yet he manages to join that fervor with a contemporary style. More than one hundred years after Ghalib's death, his ghazals remain indisputably modern, intense, and as fresh as ever.

L'autore:

Robert Bly is the author, editor, and translator of numerous works of poetry and prose. His books include his most recent Eating the Honey ofWords: New and Selected Poems, Morning Poems, The SoulIs Here for Its Own Joy: Sacred Poems from Many Cultures,published by The Ecco Press, and Meditations on the Insatiable Soul as well as Iron John, The Sibling Society, and The Maiden King, which he wrote with Marion Woodman. Robert Bly lives in Minnesota.

Sunil Dutta is a biologist as well as a student of classical Indian music and literature. He is helping to preserve the ancient musical tradition called Dhrupad singing in India. He was born in Jaipur, India, and now lives in Los Angeles, California.

Le informazioni nella sezione "Su questo libro" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

Dati bibliografici

Condizione libro: New

I migliori risultati di ricerca su AbeBooks

1.

Ghalib; Bly, Robert; Dutta, Sunil
Editore: Ecco
ISBN 10: 0880016868 ISBN 13: 9780880016865
Usato Rilegato Quantità: 1
Da
glenthebookseller
(Montgomery, IL, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Ecco. Hardcover. Condizione libro: Good. 0880016868 Item in good condition. Textbooks may not include supplemental items i.e. CDs, access codes etc. Codice libro della libreria Z0880016868Z3

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra usato
EUR 10,42
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 2,69
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

2.

Ghalib, Bly, Robert, Dutta, Sunil
Editore: Ecco
ISBN 10: 0880016868 ISBN 13: 9780880016865
Usato Quantità: 1
Da
The Maryland Book Bank
(Baltimore, MD, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Ecco. Condizione libro: Good. All sales benefits The Maryland Book Bank. Codice libro della libreria 2-F-2-0885

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra usato
EUR 10,64
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,57
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

3.

Ghalib; Bly, Robert; Dutta, Sunil
Editore: Ecco (1999)
ISBN 10: 0880016868 ISBN 13: 9780880016865
Usato Rilegato Quantità: 1
Da
Crestview Books
(Westerville, OH, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Ecco, 1999. Hard Cover. Condizione libro: Good. Dust Jacket Included. Hardback and jacket. Light wear. Marking and underlining throughout. (Shelf location: C) All items carefully packed to avoid damage from moisture and rough handling. Tracking included. Codice libro della libreria 052267

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra usato
EUR 11,98
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,57
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

4.

Ghalib; Bly, Robert; Dutta, Sunil
Editore: U.S.A.: Ecco (1999)
ISBN 10: 0880016868 ISBN 13: 9780880016865
Usato Rilegato Prima edizione Quantità: 5
Da
The Andalusia Bookman
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro U.S.A.: Ecco, 1999. Hardcover. Condizione libro: Near Fine. Condizione sovraccoperta: Near Fine. 1st Edition. Very Good, or rather FINE, Clean & Tight in Very Good dust jacket. Multiple copies available. Codice libro della libreria Mum1001

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra usato
EUR 13,84
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,57
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

5.

Ghalib; Bly, Robert (trans); Dutta, Sunil (trans)
Editore: Ecco (1999)
ISBN 10: 0880016868 ISBN 13: 9780880016865
Nuovi Rilegato Prima edizione Quantità: 1
Da
Nighttown Books
(South Pasadena, CA, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Ecco, 1999. Hard Cover. Condizione libro: New. Condizione sovraccoperta: New. First Edition. Hardcover 1st Ed (stated) 1st Printing (full # line) in dust jacket BRAND NEW, no remainder mark, pristine new copy (dj in mylar protector); 8vo; 67pp. Codice libro della libreria 26207

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 23,06
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,54
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

6.

Mirza Asadullah Khan Ghalib
ISBN 10: 0880016868 ISBN 13: 9780880016865
Usato Quantità: 1
Da
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Condizione libro: Good. Book Condition: Good. Codice libro della libreria 97808800168654.0

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra usato
EUR 26,44
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,57
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

7.

Ghalib; Bly, Robert; Dutta, Sunil
Editore: Ecco (1999)
ISBN 10: 0880016868 ISBN 13: 9780880016865
Nuovi Rilegato Quantità: 1
Da
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Ecco, 1999. Hardcover. Condizione libro: New. book. Codice libro della libreria 0880016868

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 35,54
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: GRATIS
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

8.

Ghalib, Robert Bly, Sunil Dutta
Editore: Ecco (1999)
ISBN 10: 0880016868 ISBN 13: 9780880016865
Nuovi Rilegato Quantità: 1
Da
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Ecco, 1999. Hardcover. Condizione libro: New. 1. Codice libro della libreria DADAX0880016868

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra nuovo
EUR 32,03
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 3,57
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

9.

Ghalib, Bly, Robert, Dutta, Sunil
Editore: Ecco (1999)
ISBN 10: 0880016868 ISBN 13: 9780880016865
Usato Rilegato Quantità: 2
Da
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Ecco, 1999. Hardcover. Condizione libro: Very Good. Codice libro della libreria P020880016868

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra usato
EUR 43,67
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 2,68
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

10.

Ghalib, Bly, Robert, Dutta, Sunil
Editore: Ecco (1999)
ISBN 10: 0880016868 ISBN 13: 9780880016865
Usato Rilegato Quantità: 2
Da
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Valutazione libreria
[?]

Descrizione libro Ecco, 1999. Hardcover. Condizione libro: Like New. Codice libro della libreria P010880016868

Maggiori informazioni su questa libreria | Fare una domanda alla libreria

Compra usato
EUR 45,64
Convertire valuta

Aggiungere al carrello

Spese di spedizione: EUR 2,68
In U.S.A.
Destinazione, tempi e costi

Vedi altre 5 copie di questo libro

Vedi tutti i risultati per questo libro