Foto dell'editore

IN THE MIDNIGHT HOUR (SIGNED)

Spring, Michelle

43 valutazioni da GoodReads
ISBN 10: 0345437454 / ISBN 13: 9780345437457
Editore: Ballantine Publishing Group, New York, NY, U.S.A., 2001
Usato Condizione: Very Fine Hard Cover
Da Kathleen Simpson (Simi Valley, CA, U.S.A.)

Libreria AbeBooks dal 15 luglio 1998

Valutazione Libreria 5 stelle

Quantità: 1

Compra usato
Prezzo: EUR 33,61 Convertire valuta
Spedizione: EUR 0,00 In U.S.A. Destinazione, tempi e costi
Aggiungere al carrello

Riguardo questo articolo

A 290 page Laura Principal thriller. SIGNED by the author on the title page. A Crime Writers of Canada 2002 Arthur Ellis Award nominee. First edition, first printing. New and unread. Dust jacket is enclosed in a clear mylar cover. Book will be carefully packed and shipped in a box. Codice inventario libreria 13161

Fare una domanda alla libreria

Dati bibliografici

Titolo: IN THE MIDNIGHT HOUR (SIGNED)

Casa editrice: Ballantine Publishing Group, New York, NY, U.S.A.

Data di pubblicazione: 2001

Legatura: Hard Cover

Condizione libro:Very Fine

Condizione sovraccoperta: Very Fine

autografato: Signed by Author

Edizione: First Edition

Descrizione articolo

Riassunto:

Michelle Spring's acclaimed novels of psychological are invariable winners in the white-knuckle sweepstakes. Richly-drawn characters with unsavory motives. Secret sins of the past that snake their way into the unsuspecting present. Atmosphere a reader can step into and feel. Michelle Spring is a master at weaving grand themes into compelling plots. Now, in her astonishing new novel, she ices our veins with a North Sea chill.

Twelve years ago, four-year-old Timmy Cable vanished suddenly from a wild and lonely stretch of East Anglian beach. After a massive police search fails to find a body, the boy is presumed dead.

Now, on a quiet street in Cambridge, Timmy's mother, still wracked with grief, is drawn to a teenage street musician?and feels desperately certain that this tall, blond boy must be her son. Has the long nightmare of loss ended at last? If so, where has Timmy been all these years? And why, whenever the boy is questioned about his past, does he become strangely hostile?

It falls to private investigator Laura Principal to ferret out the truth. Is this young stranger with a badly bruised face truly Timmy Cable? Or is he merely a dangerous interloper, bent on taking the wealthy Cable family for a lucrative ride? And what can explain the trail of violence that begins with his arrival? and ends with murder?

As Laura Principal searches for answers, she confronts a loss that threatens to turn her own world upside down. For Laura, this is a haunting case that reaches its breathtaking climax . . . in the midnight hour.

Recensione:

In this heavily atmospheric thriller by talented writer Michelle Spring, the disappearance of the 4-year-old son of polar explorer Jack Cable is still unsolved after more than a decade. Then a teenage street musician attracts the attention of Cable's wife, Olivia. Certain that the boy is their son, the Cables enlist the services of private investigator Laura Principal. Laura's brief is to discover whether Liam is really the son whose memory is still very much alive within his family, and while her efforts to authenticate Olivia's hunch are not particularly engrossing, her concern for the Cables is deep and heartfelt enough to involve the reader in her quest.

Higher praise belongs to Spring for her gifts of description. Here she shows off her well-honed talent for narrative, character development, and skill in recreating the brooding melancholy of England in midwinter. Fans of Frances Fyfield and Barbara Vine will appreciate Spring's intelligence, craft, and psychological acuity, all on view in this compulsively readable new novel. --Jane Adams

Le informazioni nella sezione "Su questo libro" possono far riferimento a edizioni diverse di questo titolo.

Descrizione libreria

Modern Fiction and Mystery. New and used. Many signed. For further information, please contact me at 805-582-0162.

Visita la pagina della libreria

Condizioni di vendita:

Kathleen Simpson, 2992 Chippewa Avenue, Simi Valley, CA 93063. Telephone and
fax number 805-579-9656. E-mail is mkthpms@aol.com. Shipping and handling via
Media Mail. Priority mail available upon request. Shipping and handling is
quoted for heavy books and foreign orders. Full refund for books returned in
as-shipped condition within 10 days of shipping date, for any reason. Books can
be held for 10 days with E-mail or telephone request. Prices are subject to
change without notice until receipt o...

Ulteriori informazioni
Condizioni di spedizione:

Orders usually ship within 2 business days. See Terms of Sale below.

Tutti i libri della libreria

Metodi di pagamento
accettati dalla libreria

Visa Mastercard American Express Carte Bleue

PayPal