Hall ltd leek (1 risultati)
Altre immaginiEditore: Brough Nicholson & Hall., Leek, Staffordshire.
- Brossura
- Manoscritto/carta da collezione
Da: Colophon Books (UK), Leek, STAFF, Regno UnitoColophon Books (UK)
Contatta il venditoreVenditore con 5 stelleCondizione: Usato - Quasi ottimo
EUR 301,24
EUR 30,71 spedizioneSpedito da Regno Unito a U.S.A.Quantità: 1 disponibili
Aggiungi al carrelloSoft cover. Condizione: Near Fine. Unique. A UNIQUE collection of woven jacquard silk clothing labels all "Advertising" items mostly small sizes for hems and collars or similar. These labels are a "sample" book for a travelling or company salesman. woven in colours, some illustrated all variant designs of lettering, the album co…vers are worn and appear to be late 1950's-early 60's some labels look earlier. The labels are mostly mint or near. NOTE:The firm were manufacturers of "sewing silks, braids, bindings, trimmings etc", and were prize winners at the Great Exhibition in 1851, and several later European exhibitions. This etching of their premises in the late 1800s was used on their business card. The business was founded by John Brough, a silk manufacturer in about 1812, it became J. and J. Brough, Nicholson & Co. in 1863. Soon after a warehouse was built on Cross Street c1865, close to Hope Mill on Fountain Street. In less than ten years this mill had been acquired and extended to twice its original size. The partnership was employing 630 workers in 1891, the firm became Brough, Nicholson & Hall in 1891. The firm was basically closed in Leek and the premises were mostly demolished in 1968. The company made the Stevengraph silks and Sir Arthur Nicholson built the largest "War Memorial" in England in 1925 (90ft) all of Portland stone, in memory of his son Basil Lee and other soldiers of Leek.